We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely room” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“Lovely room”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

My husband and I stayed at the George for two nights over the last weekend in June. The George is a very nice boutique hotel in the heart of Yarmouth. We were in room 12 - which is a clean, spacious, light and well decorated room with added bonus of a dressing room plus a decent sized bathroom. I believe it's a 'superior' room but I could be mistaken. We had a delicious breakfast in our room on both days - you have to ask at reception if you'd like this option as it's not well advertised. I'm afraid that there is a downside to staying here - our room looked out over the road which is a one way single side street - there is a lot of noise from around 6am which is disappointing and it's quite noisy with music and people until about 1.30am. Obviously this is not the fault of the hotel - I imagine all lodgings in Yarmouth have the same problem.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that overlook the road as it's noisy early in the morning and late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We were pleased that you enjoyed your stay in room 12, which is one of our superior rooms.

Our breakfast really is becoming a feature - we are happy to serve in the room or in Isla’s Conservatory .

We very much hope that any noise disturbance from the town will not deter you from future visits.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    102
    37
    26
    6
See reviews for
69
177
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were a group of 6 friends who had been looking forward to our lunch at the george for a few weeks. The sun shone, the food arrived, the champagne was chilled, perfect we thought as we looked out to sea. The food was excellent, the young lady who served us couldn't have been more friendly or attentive. Then we overheard the maitre d talking to some young members of staff, it is a wonder that they didn't walk out there and then. We found his manner very rude and he clearly needs to learn some man management skills. What we have remembered about the lunch is not the food, lovely waitress etc, but how the management treats its younger members of staff.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank Grace D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that the food, service & chilled champagne were all excellent.

However, we have taken all your comments onboard and are discussing with the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We recently chose the garden on the water at the George Hotel for dinner as the weather was sp warm. We are pretty fussy people, and have travelled extensively.
We never go on these websites or write reviews - but the food and staff were so excellent that we felt compelled to let them know just how good they are!
The right level of attention from all staff, as well as beautifully presented food.
We will be back!!
J&T of West Sussex

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
So pleased that your experience with us compelled you to write your first review!

We will let the team know what a good job they did.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We ate at the George twice, once with a big group including masses of kids and once on our own.The setting encompasses all that is idyllic about the isle of white , beach front, plenty to gaze at with a very stylish gloss that is more common in Devon and Cornwall than here to be honest. The service couldn't have been more accommodating, charming and informative . We had some gorgeous oak smoked, roasted local toms for nibbles and the waiter gave us the recipe upon request.Sitting at the waters edge in these surroundings with the kids crabbing on the beach watching the sun go down ..a peach!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isobelblackcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you! Great that you enjoyed the garden and our lttile beach - perfect for crabbing!

Pleased you enjoyed our food and service too.

Join us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights with friends, leaving our boat in the harbour.

The refurb has not lost any of the old charm, and the new restaurant and garden bar work very well. In particular the new menu and sensibly priced wine list worked very well. Need to book at weekends in particular.

The staff were great, friendly and helpful.

Only downside is if you are driving you need to use the public car park which is a pay and display, so need to remember to get up early!

Would recommend both the hotel and restaurant.............

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DiscerningDiner77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review. We are really pleased that you think our new restaurant, garden bar, menu and wine list are working well - and that we haven't lost any of the old charm of The George. We will pass your lovely comments on to our dedicated team.

PS. We do have a car parking option to avoid any early dashes, our Reception Desk can advise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Our last hotel after a cycle trip around the Island and talk about saving the best to last. The hotel had looked after our luggage for a couple of nights while we toured the Island and on arrival the reception staff were very friendly.
We stayed in room 28 which has sea views to the side, the marina and to the rear the estuary. The room is spotless and the bed is wonderful.
On a lovely summers evening we sat in the lovely walled garden for drinks, although they didn't sell Prosecco by the glass so we had to buy a bottle.
Evening dinner was fabulous.
The following morning without a cloud in the sky we asked if we could move outside for breakfast which was no problem. The full English was fantastic with great quality ingredients.
Would definitely return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Ginlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for your review and pleased you enjoyed cycling around the Island. There really is some incredible scenery, perfect for a cycling or walking break.

Delighted that you “saved the best for last”! The spotless room, fabulous dinner and fantastic breakfast are all ingredients for the high levels we are aiming for. We're pleased we ticked the boxes and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We enjoyed an excellent short break with friends recently. The George is a wonderful building with great character - the flowers in the stone flagged hall made for a stunning entrance. Our room was very well equipped and scrupulously clean, our bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast was delicious - tasty fresh ingredients. Our evening meal in Isla's was outstanding. Interesting and delicious combinations of ingredients, expertly prepared and served by a charming and enthusiastic team. Well done to all involved.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank EngBreakfst0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHreview, Review at The George Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Fabulous! Thank you for your review - this is exactly what we are aiming for! We will pass your comments to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#3 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
2.6 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN New Holmwood Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Property: The George Hotel
Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing