We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reliable, old fashioned”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 December 2010

Expensive but a very nice hotel. apparently best to book on internet, according to another guest. It was a lovely place but as has been mentioned no hospitality tray for coffee but ordered a tray of coffee and it was delivered free of charge. nice restaurant and very freindly bar person during the evening. Sadly the hot water failed and the receptionist said they were working on it. No discount was offered and I asked if this was a regular occurance she said she didnt think so. when you pay £200+ for a room you expect hot water! still I'm sure they will sort it

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fillipo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

417 - 423 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2010

Spent a night at The George Hotel. The staff were very friendly, all of them. Its so nice to have some good old fashioned service these days. Our room was lovely, clean, great facitilities & sea view, very comfortable bed, first time I've slept all night in ages.
Good food selection, some nice game & locally sourced. Not loads to do in Yarmouth but some great walks & the option of beauty salons whilst the men are pheasant shooting. So easy to pop across as a foot passenger on the ferry & not have to think about parking the car. You can watch the ferrys toing and froing from the Hotel garden, over a g&t perhaps. Will be going again asap, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheilathedoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2010

The room we stayed in was of a reasonable size with a functioning bathroom. However there was no information pack in the room so no idea of what was around the town or places to visit. No idea how to work the television with no instructions. No radio or clock in the room. There was also no complimentary shampoos or anything in the bathroom. With there being no tea or coffee making facilities in the room I was surprised to be charged for ordering it up to the room each morning. I was also surprised to be charged for the morning paper. When you are paying £255 per night it seems a bit steep to be charged for these little extras.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lockie030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

As a surprise for our anniversary my husband booked a weekend stay at The George Hotel and what a truly memorable weekend it was. The staff were courteous, going out of their way to ensure our stay was more than comfortable. The beautiful smell of fresh flowers echo's through the whole hotel and being ever the romantic, loved the display in our room. On Saturday evening (we got there too late on Friday) we ate in the restaurant where the staff again, surpassed themselves. Whilst attentive, they were not overbearing, giving us the privacy we'd hoped for. My sea bass had be caught locally that morning and was cooked to perfection whilst my husbands fillet steak (according to him) was "divine". When we finished our meal we took our coffee out to the beautiful gardens which overlook the Solent and were treated to a stunning sunset. The garden is thoughtfully laid out with couches, low slung tables and someone has even thought to place soft, sumptuous wraps on the backs of the couches for when the evening chill sets in! It's this attention to detail that made our weekend so very special. Thank you to all concerned.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shiralea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2010

Beautiful public areas, lovely room, absolutely wonderful dinner. The view from the restaurant was extra special because the Waverley paddle steamer was moored on the pier next to the hotel beach.
Breakfast was very nicely cooked, but was a bit disappointing in that there was little choice (full English, kippers or eggs and soldiers) and nothing more imaginative like eggs benedict etc, and although there were continental options listed on the menu, it didn't appear that they were available to help yourself to whilst you awaited your cooked breakfast. Mind you,having never stayed at a hotel to quite this standard, it may be that a self serve section is not the norm anyway. The tea and coffee brought to our room prior to breakfast was good, but the coffee with breakfast was very weak.
Most of the staff were very courteous, but I have a real problem with staff who greet you with 'you alright there?' instead of ' how can I help you?' There were a couple of those, and if the management read this, please let them know it is a very grating habit! Will definitely return for an overnight stay, just for the wonderful meal and surroundings.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annierose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We paid £190 a night with breakfast on the Bank holiday weekend, as we were travelling with a baby it made sense to eat in both nights as well.

So the hotel building. It's a lovely old Georgian/jacobean number, tastefully decorated, it felt like osbourne and little had been in recently! It's traditional, but not fuddy duddy. Our room was on the top floor, but not too small. Major tip here; make sure you ask for a sea facing view, as you'll then get a quiet nights sleep as we did, the other side of the hotel faces onto the small, but lively high street.

A few gripes on the room. The bed in room 24 was brutally hard, so much so that both my wife and I got back ache. Also the plastic bath mat had mould on it. The latter is just plain sloppy and no matter what price you're paying it's unacceptable.

Service in the restaurant was very helpful and efficient. However the hotel has a major issue in it's service in that they seem happy to share the inner workings of the hotel with guests. For example when paying the amount we were i.e. 5 star prices i don't want to see piles of towels left in the corridor by my room or bags of laundry in the reception area.

The front of house was also poor, it's positioned in a little cubby hole rather than in the lovely reception hall. The girl there gave a us a muted reception, there was little warmth, confidence or enthusiam. English wasn't her first language and we got the sense that she knew little or nothing about the Island or the hotel so we didn't feel able to seek advice from the hotel on where best to go for beaches etc.

The restaurant's food is very good and the room lovely. The dishes are pretty classic, but they are well done. I suspect after eating here more than two nights you'd be bored, as the menu didn't change from night to night and there was only a limited selection i.e. five starters, five mains etc.
The wine list is very good value at the lower end and good on whites. However the selection of reds was very poor with nothing worth drinking over £30. Surely if you are doing fine dining you need a decent wine list with some higher quality bottles.

One other thing we noted was excessive portion control, you got the feel the time/cost consultants had been in. Portions were small and sometimes the compostition of the dishes was a) stupid or b) penny pinching. For example two different fish mains at £20+ came with a little salad or small portion of vegetables but no carbohydrates, which means you'll be having to have a side dish if you don't want to go hungry.

Our son was with us at breakfast and was running around during the day. He is a fast moving, very loud toddler, and to be fair to the staff they were very good about it, plus they have high chairs etc. So the hotel feels pretty child friendly.

So in summary, a tasteful hotel with good food, but one which is weak on attention to detail and lacks the charm to make you want to go back. However I don't think there are that many places that are better on the island sadly.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danwestLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, the rooms were excellent down to the views and the comfort, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good.
Dont be put off by the name thinking it was just a nice pub for £120 a night as this is far from the truth It is a lovely hotel steeped in history,we would return tomorrow.
The only comment i would make is that of the pubs around of which there are a few, the bars all seem to close at 11.00 pm sharp but you can go to the hotel bar if needs.
I forgot to mention the private beach.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgecassidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
14.8 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
9.6 mi away
North House
North House
#1 of 5 in Cowes
89 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Hambrough
The Hambrough
#2 of 9 in Ventnor
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
15.3 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
6 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Quay Street, Yarmouth PO41 0PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Price Range: £124 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George Hotel is a 17th Century town house in the bustling village and Harbour of Yarmouth on the Isle of Wight. A Traditional environment of warmth and atmosphere is found in each individually designed bedroom. Meticulous attention to detail perfects a marriage of comfort and relaxation, and caters for your every need. All rooms offer: full room service, bathrobes, hairdryers, direct dial telephone, satellite TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Yarmouth
The George Hotel Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing