We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Victoria Marine Aquarium

Fort Victoria Marine Aquarium
Ranked #9 of 15 things to do in Yarmouth
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This aquarium features the odd sea characters that live in the local waters.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A hidden gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2013

We visited this attraction on a wet day along with everyone else, but once inside it didn't feel crowded.Amazing how they could pack so much in a small space. Very good value for money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    24
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outdated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Unfortunately like most of the attractions on the I.O.W this one is very old and dated. A few of the fish didn't look very healthy, especially the Trigger fish. The man in the shop wasn't too bothered. Another attraction that needs money spending on it and also a bit of tlc. You get the impression that nothing has been done to the place since it opened. Could so easily have been better. Don't go out of your way to see this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank po1o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Short & Sweet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Visited today with young family - friendly staff & interesting selection of sea creatures.... small intimate aquarium, well looked after. Cost around £8 for 2 adults & 2 kids to get in, we were out of there around 45min later as our kids were a bit too young to be immersed in the experience for longer.
We got a 10% voucher against the other small attractions on the same site (ie model railway etc) but I personally wouldn't fancy having to pay for each attraction separately.
Really nice fresh food in café on-site nearby - great views over the Solent. Got pretty busy at peak lunch-time.
Free large car park helped.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 30Happy_Days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fort Victoria has some great features”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

We visited the marine aquarium at fort victoria and found it a great attraction at a reasonable price

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank simon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small, but a nice morning out”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We went to Fort Victoria whilst on a family holiday to the Isle of Wight. The weather was iffy and we were staying on the west of the island. We went to the Aquarium first and it cost about £15 for us to get in (2 adults, 2 seniors and 1 child) and we spent about 30 minutes in there. The staff were very friendly and told us about the different fish. Next we went to the model railway, which cost about the same. My daughter loved the layout and the different buttons you could press. The fort is small and certainly isn't one of the big attractions, but the friendliness and enthusiasm of the staff really helped.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rams_fan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Victoria Marine Aquarium also viewed

Newport, Isle of Wight
Sandown, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to Fort Victoria Marine Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing