We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always excellent always dependable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wheatsheaf

The Wheatsheaf
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Steeple Morden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Always excellent always dependable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

I've visited here on many occasions. This time arriving quite late on a busy Saturday evening and without having a reservation, we were soon sat down at a table and as ever enjoyed a super meal. The sizzling dishes are a definite recommendation.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank IanonTour2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    151
    37
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Visited twice, once at lunch time and once for an early dinner

The pub itself was a welcome shelter from the red hot sun - inside is cool, modern and immaculate. There is an outdoor area but we didn't use this.

Lunctime consisted of us sampling two toasties, chips and a jacket potato. The toasties were tasty, served with just the right amount of chips for lunch. The jacket was excellent, fluffy and cooked perfectly with very generous filling

Returning for dinner a few days later we had nachos to share (a small portion was more than enough between 3 as a starter!), fajitas, a "Fat Shaun" burger and kids pizza. The kids pizza was freshly made, and whilst my son didn't enjoy the chips the pizza disappeared in no time. The fajitas were really tasty - the lady kindly placed the order with a plain rather than spicy chicken breast once I enquired about the level of heat, unusually there was even bacon in them. The only negatives on the fajitas is they were in a lot of oil - appreciate they are on the skillet but more oily than I have ever had served before, so much so I immediately moved everything off the skillet onto a side plate. Also only 2 wraps were served with the fajitas - they weren't small but normally more than that forms a portion, I am sure had I asked they would have provided more though. The burger is apparently one of the best ever, topped with onion, cheese and jalapenos. One dessert was ordered (chocolate fudge cake) which easily served 2 people

Overall highly recommended, very tasty and reasonably priced with a menu suitable for daytime or evening eating.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaroleR76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Brilliant food at cheap prices and service was incredible. Some of the best burgers I have ever eaten. Will be back if we're in the area again. Not a huge selection of veggie options but the burger my partner had was incredible.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hdbkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Disappointed:(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Have been going to the Weatsheaf for yrs and its always been 1st class but if I'm honest the food wasn't up to scratch on Saturday early evening and a lot was left, certainly not worth the £60 we paid. Do hope standards are not slipping , love this pub and will return

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IanandTerri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
134 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Wait for the next ferry and enjoy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived early for our booked return to Lymington on the ferry and rather than take up the offer of an earlier trip we decided to stay for Dinner in Yarmouth. After walking around the town we decided that the Wheatsheaf fitted our bill. This all turned out to be a good decision. The staff were friendly and the meal was tops. We all had a chicken curry and some liquid refreshment. The quantity of food was right and the flavour good. couldn't want a better end to a glorious round trip of the Island. would definitely call here again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiwiJohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheatsheaf also viewed

Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight
 

Been to The Wheatsheaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing