We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, oldy worldy guest house”
Review of Jireh House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Jireh House
Ranked #2 of 6 Yarmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good, oldy worldy guest house”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

If your after 5 star,modern accommodation go elsewhere ! If,however,you subscribe to all things from Old England then Jireh House will be just up your street. The welcome we received seemed more from an old long lost friend than a never met before guest house owner. The rooms, by virtue of the fact it's a 16th - 17th century building were obviously dated, but were immaculately clean with very comfy beds. Bed linen and towels were wonderfully crisp and freshly laundered. Tea and coffee making components were of sound quality and supplied in good measure. The en-suite facilities were adequate and the communal bathroom,which the well proportioned members of our group required, is easily accessible from most room. The breakfast was freshly prepared, sumptuously wholesome and cheerfully served. And you're surrounded by a host of good pubs and eateries. Definitely recommend and return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank len g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    20
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We booked into the family room having sailed to Yarmouth. The family room is on the top floor and is TINY - just enough room for 4 people. The adult bed is no bigger than a double - maybe a small double at that, so we were a bit cramped. However, there was a fantastic shower in the downstairs bathroom, the owner was very kind and thoughtful. The building is quaint and lovely. And, the location in Yarmouth could not be better. I look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: All rooms will be quiet. Room 5, the family room is probably better for 3 than 4 people - a squeeze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelswithHetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevensey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We took our parents here for lunch and from the outside looked very pleasant. However we were given only one single pot of tea with two water pots between two people. I had an flavoured tea and was given a single pot and water jug. Food was ok but nothing outstanding but when I paid for the bill I was told that I would incur a charge for using Visa. There were no signs in the eating area or outside stating these charges. We visit Yarmouth and Freshwater regularly but we will not visiting the Jireh House again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StoneCrossGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Due to a major screw up we were stuck on the island for a night and were lucky enough to find a room at this little gem. The entrance is stunning and the dining room/tea room is a real little wonder with many items that you can not help but start talking about them. We had room 6 and yes it was a small room but you have to remember the age of the building and the original design so that has had to be worked around. The room was clean and neat with a double and a single bed and we were told straight away that the element had gone so there was not hot water in the sink (as there was a kettle that was no problem) which they apologised for straight away. Remember this is not a hotel so no film channels ect but there was a tv if we had wanted to watch something on normal tv. The bed was comfortable with clean bedding (plus extra in a cupboard) but the real surprise was how quiet it was,even though the room had original windows (no double glazing of course) you could not hear the traffic (ok not a lot anyway) as it went past.
Breakfast was also a surprise,no 'continental' breakfast here cereal to start followed by a cooked English breakfast finished off with toast and marmalade all of a good quality and cooked to perfection. I will go back here again for a longer stay and am looking forward to it already.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azphreal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stopped by this place while waiting for our ferry back from Bestival and it was wonderfully comfortable, sat on the big sofas at the front of the restaurant. We ordered lasagne, macaroni cheese and battered cod and chips and it was wonderful. Big homely portions, hand cut chips, piping hot, loads of salad and a nice big slice of warm cake and ice cream to finish. Was like having a big warm mum hug :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollySkyeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wiltshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Having had a stressful journey before arriving on the island at Yarmouth, we decided to have an early lunch. It was before 12 noon and the restaurant wasn't busy so we thought "nice and quiet". There was no annoying background music, no live musician(s) but there was a happy member of staff who would break into song now and again when behind the counter in the preparation area which is open to the restaurant. I'm sure if lunchtime had been in full swing it wouldn't have occurred as this place is usually really busy. We just didn't appreciate it after our stressful journey.

I can't have lemon so asked if there was lemon in the salad dressing and the crab. They happily checked and assured me there was no lemon. The huge plate of crab meat and salad came with coleslaw which hadn't been checked out but which did contain lemon. They were perfectly willing to serve up a fresh salad but I just steered clear of the offending coleslaw.

It should have been an excellent rating, as we would have given in the past before the advent of tripadvisor, but not this time.

Room Tip: This is not applicable as we were dining, not staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliceingardenland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

In April 2013 placed a deposit of £70 for room 6 for mid June 2013. Mid May I called to cancel the reservation - I was advised that they would call me back which they never did - I left a further message for them that was not returned. On 25/5/13 I visited Jireh's and spoke to the lady owner who said that the deposit could not be returned unless the room is let - she took all my contact details again and explained that my deposit would be returned if the room is let. I seriously doubt their integrity especially in view that it was never stated that the deposit was not refundable. Avoid!

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LoverofQuality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
394 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
302 reviews
15.6 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
15.1 mi away
Medehamstede Hotel
Medehamstede Hotel
#30 of 52 in Shanklin
296 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bugle Coaching Inn
The Bugle Coaching Inn
#1 of 6 in Yarmouth
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jireh House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jireh House

Property: Jireh House
Address: St. James Street, Yarmouth PO41 0NU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Yarmouth
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Jireh House Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing