We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“65 or under and want to feel young?”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Yarmouth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“65 or under and want to feel young?”
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We booked the Norton Grange expecting to be surrounded by "more mature" residents and expecting nothing special food wise. We were right on the first and wrong on the second. The food throughout our stay was excellent - particularly the dishes ordered from the menu rather than from the carvery. Service was friendly and helpful at all times and the chalet rooms are well kept but be warned some are a reasonable up hill walk from the main complex which may be an issue for some.
The view from the bar across the Solent is fantastic - let the majority rush in to the dining room at 6:30 and take the opportunity to enjoy the view in peace before eating in a more relaxed dining room.
The hotel is well located for exploring the west end of the island.
The only real "Hi De Hi" moment was the evening entertainment - if it was like that in the 50's I'm glad I can't remember it!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank FormerFlyer19560415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Norton Grange. I am pleased we met with most of your expectations.

We do welcome all of our adult guests, of any age, and we spend a great deal of time planning a programme of entertainments and activities to suit everyone. If the '50's really wasn't your thing, please consider our 'Queen' tribute weekend in June, or Tribute to 'The Eagles' in the same month. We also have Jimmy James (of Jimmy James and the Vagabonds fame, the real deal!) and Rock and Roll, Carpenters tribute, 70's and Vegas weekends!

Our friendly reception team would be happy to talk you through the options on 01983 760323.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back soon,

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    245
    100
    41
    37
See reviews for
103
383
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

A Warner's holiday village - or as my grown-up children call it, "a posh Butlins!" But it is certainly not the Butlins of your nightmares; no, Warners is quiet - no kids!! - the food is excellent and plenty of choice, the entertainment, whilst not all to my taste, was also very good.
The chalets are all in good condition, some being recently re-furbished, the upgrade to 'standard plus' is worthwhile and if you can, go for the premier. They are well looked after by the house-keeping team and we found all the staff very helpful. We've stayed at other resorts/hotels in the group many times and only had one poor experience and that was taken care of with speed and care. What more could you ask for?
Not a lot to do in this part of the I of W but the complex has a pool, archery, bowls and putting etc. etc., and the whole Island is easily accessible by car or their excellent bus services. Recommended.

Room Tip: Pick a room that faces south or west: you can sit outside and enjoy the sun. Upgrade your room if po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunnerpancho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
What more could we ask for? A wonderful review, and I would like to thank you for taking the time to post it to Trip Advisor.

Our stunning location in the West Wight does boast some beautiful scenery, with seaside walks, a pretty little town within 10 minutes walk, boat trips and of course the famous 'Alum Bay' with its shops, cafes and The Needles. I hope you will return to us again in the future and discover all the treasures that the West Wight has to offer. We'd be delighted to see you,

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our first visit to a Warner, and had to say was very impressed with it, we arrived at around 7.30 on Friday, so we went straight into dinner which was very good, and then onto our chalet, which I thought was very clean with good sized bathroom, feel that they need to replace with new towels as a bit worn and could replace bath towels with bath sheets. Had a reasonable night sleep bed comfy, we woke to a glorious morning, had a good breakfast, we did the archery and rifle shooting, used the snooker table and ping pong, we had a coffee in the lounge overlooking the Solent, very relaxing, in the afternoon we played bowls, all the staff are very pleasant and helpful. In the evening we enjoyed the entertainment which was a Bee Gees evening, really good nights sleep. Had a full day on complex on Sunday, playing pitch and putt and using the pool, would be nice if they had cubicles for changing. So lots to do for different interests and really enjoyed the evening entertainment put on by the staff, very good singing and dancing was very impressed with it, thought it was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your first visit to Norton Grange. And thank you for choosing Norton Grange as your first 'Warner' destination. I am so pleased that you had such a good time with us.

In response to feedback received by our guests, we do have some brand new bath towels, and they are bigger too! I'd love you to come and see for yourself, so please call our friendly team on 01983 760323. After all, I have just given you a good excuse to take another break with us, and we would be delighted to welcome you back!

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nth london
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Went to the Motown/soul weekender and had a great time!.Clem Curtis(of the foundations) was great,still sounds as good if not better.also nya Jackson was really soulful!got everybody dancing..ignore the grumpy reviews and just go and enjoy yourself!.
PS.go for the premium chalets
Pps..food excellent
Pps..go visit Osbourne house and godshill village for its hot chocolate

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nthlondonpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your lovely review, and of course to agree with everything you said! I was here for Clem Curtis and he was indeed brilliant.

We do have another Motown and Soul weekend in September and we also have Jimmy James here in July (I would personally recommend that one, he's a great performer!). To book either break, or any other, for any of our locations, please call our friendly team on 01983 760323. We would be happy to help you decide and talk you through all of the options available.

We look forward to giving you a warm hearted welcome back,

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We went to celebrate a big number birthday! Norton Grange was just a few minutes drive from the ferry drop off point, the views over the sea are fantastic and you could easily sit having a coffee watching the world go by for hours.

The actual site is a little in need of some TLC, there are some areas that are beautiful and then others that are in desperate need of repair or replacement.

The chalets if facing the hotel are lovely those round the backs especially the last row are covered by trees next to a road so get no sun thus you are unable to use the balcony area to sit and relax or read a book it is just too dark and cold.

It has obviously had some investment in areas to make money, but others have not and it is in need of this, although it is cheaper than an historic Warner's and if you want a laid back feel with the majority of the staff being friendly then this is the one for you. Let's put it in another way for a disabled person Norton is better than Thorsby Hall if you ask for help or ways to make it easier they are happy to help.

We did have a couple of major issues that were still dealing with but that is more down to poor communication between staff that caused an issue with allergic reactions with foods, so if you have any I would advise to quadruple check as we triple checked and that was still not enough.

Just because of where it is and the views we would visit again once they have updated and sorted the poorly kept areas.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room facing the complex, not round the back as you get most of the sun that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Archie31031962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah_Warner, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. I am genuinely sorry you did not feel we catered for your needs at Norton Grange. We try our best to cater to all needs of our guests including dietary requirements.

I am pleased to hear you found some positives to your stay and I agree that my Team is the best asset to Warner and I am most proud of them.

I am aware you have been speaking to our Customer Care team and it is great to hear all your problems have now been resolved.

Kind Regards,
Matthew Weston, General Manager for Norton Grange Coastal Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a mid-week break at Norton Grange. We travelled with Cooks Coaches of Westcliff on Sea. The whole trip was a great success, the staff could not do enough for you, the food was of an excellent standard with a good choice of menu. The evening entertainment was very good, the ensemble were good with some very fine voices and dancers.
This is the first time we have stayed at a Warners resort, it will not be our last.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank steveat87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your lovely review.

It is always interesting to read the comments left by our 'first time' Warner Guests, and we are delighted that you chose Norton Grange to begin your 'journey'. With so many wonderful locations to choose from, I am confident that you will enjoy many more holidays with us in future, and I hope you will return to Norton Grange again too!

We would be delighted to assist you with any future booking, and our friendly team will guide you through all of the options available to you, ensuring you get the very best each time. Please call 01983 760323 to speak to one of our friendly team.

We look forward to giving you a warm welcome back soon,

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Guest Liaison
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Visited 7-11 April 2014. Booked 'plus' chalet and was not disappointed. Just like expensive caribbean hols we've been on, you return each day to towel sculptures on your bed!
Food is excellent, especially the meals cooked for you off the menu. Recommend the Eggs Benedict, duck in kirsch, and all the deserts!
Great entertainment, we got hooked on the quizzes, held 3 times a day, watched some great films, and the evening cabaret was first class.
However - we are in our early 50s and were the youngest there. The location, late night disco and entertainment are so well suited to younger adults, but they would defiantly be put off by the fact everyone is over 70. In addition there were coach loads of disabled OAPs, adding to the atmosphere of a nursing home. This is a real shame!

Maybe Warners could stop running 50s and 60s nights, and introduce 70s and 80s weekends, hence attracting the 30-50 age group. After all, this is where the money is!
I would not return, but only because of the age of the clientele.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqui C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT_KING_NG, Guest Liaison Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent visit to Norton Grange.

I am pleased that you were happy with your food, accommodation and entertainment programme.

We do welcome all of our adult guests, of any age, and we do spend a great deal of time organising our programme of activities and events to suit all age groups, abilities and tastes.

We offer a varied programme of themed weekends and entertainment. This year we have enjoyed the sounds of Motown and Soul (in April) and a Michael Buble tribute in May. Looking ahead, we have tributes to 'Queen', 'The Eagles', 'the Beach Boys' and even 'Take That'. I do feel that these breaks may better suit your tastes and I would love you to come back and experience something slightly different.

If you do decide to return, to any of our Hotels, we would be very happy to assist you with your booking. Please call our friendly Sales Advisors on 01983 760323.

Kind Regards,

Scott King
Guest Liaison Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
0.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
2.5 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
3.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
15.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Freshwater Bay Country House
12.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
3.9 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort

Property: Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort
Address: Halletts Shute, Yarmouth PO41 0SB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Yarmouth
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Swaying palms and landscaped gardens lend traditional Norton Grange a tropical atmosphere. While this Resort has modern facilities, there's a range of traditional seaside attractions to make each day go with a swing. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Norton Grange Coastal Hotel Isle Of Wight
Norton Grange Classic Hotel
Warner Leisure Hotels Norton Grange Coastal Resort Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing