We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay. Pity about wifi..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent stay. Pity about wifi..”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We've been staying at the Orchards for several years now and it has always and remains excellent. Staff are excellent and the accommodation in the caravans is lovely. The site is great and the swimming pools are good.

One downside, and I know this is a small point to many, but I need to have reliable WiFi where I stay due to my work and also I prefer online news etc. The site is advertised as having WiFi which is a chargeable extra (they have a contracted service).

Unfortunately this service is very heavily restricted in number of devices that can be used (one!) and also the speed. It's made clear when you purchase your access code that the system can't cope with anything more than simple email and light browsing and this is correct. The WiFi signal is quite weak and it's almost useless for anything other than light browsing (it regularly disconnects). You can't stream anything such as YouTube/iPlayer or use any business applications you'd normally expect etc..

It would be great if these restrictions are made clear during the booking process as this is an important aspect to many, especially since the mobile signal on IOW is quite poor (no 3G Vodafone at the Orchards). I love the Orchards, but this will be a deal breaker in the coming years....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robtheplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    232
    76
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
207
81
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked this caravan holiday for myself, my wife and our four children (ages 14, 9, 5 and 3). At the same time booked for my parent in law, and uncle (all oap's) in a separate caravan.

I was unsure at how successful the holiday would be as there was no family entertainment or bar on site. We didn't need to worry as we went back to basics and played games in the evening.

The children loved the outdoor pool, it was a challenge to get them to come out, it was pleasantly warm, it was great to swim at 6.30pm at night outdoors and perfect depth for my children to play. The older generation felt the pools were a little too small and shallow for swimming. On the one occasion we tried the indoor pool it was full, and there was quite a few people waiting.

Would have liked a pub or bar onsite for adults to socialise, although understand not having is why the park is so quiet at night. We felt the pub was too far away to walk to as it was uphill and round corners and as it was dark with no street lights may be dangerous.

My parents in law wanted me to say how comfy and thick the mattresses were and they were very impressed with the caravan, and how it was equipped. The mother in law had a problem working the oven and someone came out quickly and was very polite in showing her what to do.

You do have to drive to get anywhere, but if you plan it right you can use it as an opportunity to drive round the island. There is a room at The Orchards that has loads of leaflets and maps about what there is to do on the Island which is really useful.

We really enjoyed our time at The Orchards, and felt it is how it's described on the website. The site is very clean and has friendly and polite staff.

I wanted to share that our eldest said that this holiday was 'awesome' praise indeed from a teenager.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
We are so glad that all of your family enjoyed your holiday together and that you enjoyed playing games in the evenings. Our outdoor pool is wonderful when the weather is fine and it's a real magnet for children on the park. We do have serious swimming for adults from 8.30-9.30 each morning. At this time, those who want to do lengths can swim without interruption from children playing. This is quite popular, with locals ( we have a local membership) and with holiday makers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon England
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned yesterday from an excellent week staying at The Orchards. The site was peaceful but had plenty to keep our 8 and 5 year olds entertained when we were not out and about. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The swimming pools are excellent and the large area of grass at the front of our caravan was plenty big enough for ball games and running free. We were impressed with our caravan so we have booked it again for the same week next year. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We liked the Pearmain caravan so the children could have a room each and we had an en-suite toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and have booked again for next year. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Please tell your friend about us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from Orchards holiday park and thoroughly enjoyed the week. The site was perfect for myself, husband and our 4 year old. It is set in beautiful surroundings with a perfect view to sit outside and enjoy (our son liked looking at the cows just over the fence) Orchards is a perfect base to explore the island from as everywhere is roughly 30 mins away. The site is quiet, this was one of the reasons why we chose to go there as it means it is relaxing after a full days sight seeing. The pools are great, although we found the outside pool a little cold to use. There was so much space for our son to play games on the site and he thoroughly enjoyed this. We liked that there was no scooters and bikes allowed to be ridden on site as it means children are not riding into you as you walk around the site. The takeaway is great value and cooked to order - it's only a 10 minute wait if you go around 5.30pm. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found "no bikes or scooters " a positive thing. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We first visited the Orchards back around 1986 when we took our own touring caravan and we liked it so much that we visited every year from then on for about 12 years. One year we had a break and stayed in one of the static caravans on the site which we liked very much, apart from the fact that even in high summer it was very cold in the van at night. Having said that we decided to book a static caravan again this year and brought our daughter and 3 young grandchildren with us. This time the van was double glazed and had heating so we were warm and cosy. We were sited near the north boundary with a fantastic view over to Portsmouth in a lovely quiet area. It was a shame that scooters were not permitted to be used which we did not know in advance as all 3 boys had theirs with them and could not use them. We cannot understand why they could not use them in such a quiet area, although obviously we understand that they could not be used in the car parking areas. Also, it would have been handy to have had some deck chairs and "outside" table provided for use outside the van. We did in fact see one family lift the dining table and chairs from the caravan to use outside!

The site had changed very little since our last visit 15 years ago, except that the outside pool is shallower now in the deep end (I believe it was 6 feet deep when I last used it and now it is 4 feet deep). I can understand the reasons for this but I would have liked to have used it for more serious swimming and I found this impossible as I kept scraping my feet and legs on the bottom of the pool and I am certainly not tall! In fact the pool was mainly always full of youngsters playing ball, jumping in etc and definitely having fun!

Although the shop is well stocked I felt that it was not as full as it once was fifteen plus years ago, and in those days the building immediately opposite the site was a general shop and Post Office and both were well stocked. Now, one has to go to Carisbrooke to get a better selection of food etc. We were also disappointed at the early closing hours of the shop in the evening. I am sure it used to close around 9 p.m. and felt that 7 p.m. was far too early. We arrived at the site at 3 pm the first day and had to wait for the shop to open before we could stock up. I agree with another reviewer who suggested that the shop keep the same opening hours as the Take Away. The Take Away is very good with a wide menu on offer each day.

All in all The Orchards is an excellent camp site and I will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank queenofmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 September 2013
We are so pleased that you came back to visit us and enjoyed your holiday. Regarding the outdoor pool. It was filled in approximately 8 years ago. This was mainly so that it was safer for the young children and so that they no longer have to crowd into the shallow end. They can now use all of it to play in.
We do have an adult time from 8.30 to 9.30 for serious swimming. Many of these people are elderly. Some of them are locals who have a membership. They like to swim lengths to keep fit and some come along every day to swim.
Unfortunately the shop is not used like it was. People go to the supermarket, so we had to reduce the hours for economic reasons. If the shop had the same hours as the take-away, our staff would be standing around with very little to do.
The Post Office was closed in the re-organisation of post office services 8 years ago. The Post Office decided it was untenable, so they closed it. It was very sad. We tried to take it on and incorporate it into the shop but they wouldn't let us.
We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you don't leave it another 15 years before you return! Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last week, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 7. The Orchards is a good base to explore the island, but DONT expect loads on site. There is reception, small shop, playground & 2 pools. Takeaway also serves breakfast BUT only at weekends. Wifi available but they charge for it. Perhaps if you hand over £500 for 4 nights in a caravan they should include wifi these days! The caravan was modern and clean, no complaints. Double bed was AWFUL but what more should one expect, it is a caravan after all. All in all we would return, but only to use as a base. It certainly isn't a destination venue with everything on site to amuse the kids all week. Recommend the griffin pub ningwood if you have kids, Hare and hounds ok for kids to play whilst adults eat etc but food patchy. Robin hill was ok and blackgang chine, if you do both, buy an all in ticket. Sandown is a hell hole, drunks and druggies everywhere. Seriously run down and the pier is terrible. Needles good fun for the kids with boat ride to the lighthouse. Small kids may be scared on the cable car. Steam railway good fun for an hour or two. Chessel pottery good for kids if weather bad but dont expect change out of £100 if kids use the studio and paint their own pottery. Good fun though.

Room Tip: pay extra for a newer caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Thank you for your review. It is good that you pointed out that we are not a destination venue. We do not advertise that we are. We don't have a clubhouse and we don't have children's entertainment in the evenings, or bingo or karaoke. We are lucky enough to be situated in beautiful countryside, on the edge of an AONB. We provide a "5 star" base, so that you can enjoy walking, cycling, bird-watching at Newtown Creek, golfing, enjoying the beaches or water based activities, or the many and varied attractions and festivals the Isle of Wight offers. There are many websites with lots of information about what there is to see and do, or go to our Facebook page.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We have recently returned from a four night stay in our campervan from the Orchards. The site was very clean and picturesque. The indoor and outdoor pools were the only real asset to the park. The other facilities (a table tennis table, pool room, very small arcade were only open when reception was open until 9pm if you were lucky - not good for anyone who has teenagers in tow) and a rather uninspiring recreational ground were very disappointing. The shop was open only until 7pm but seemed to close at around 6.45pm so if you have forgotten anything then you were out of luck. There is a small takeaway on site open until 8pm and has a good menu and at good prices it would have been good if the shop was open at the same time as the takeaway was at least as you do usually have to wait around 30 mins to get you food if it was busy so being able to purchase a refreshment whilst waiting would be lovely and enjoy the views! We felt the site was lacking a good place to sit and have a meal/drink or enjoy some music or kids entertainmentl. There are no pubs in safe walking distance or a local shop nearby so rather limited. Other people who stayed at the park commented that it is slowly going downhill which is a shame as it could be so much better given the space it has. Having said that it doesn't take long at all to get anywhere by car around the Island but I was hestitant to take my young children of 8 and 5 out on their bikes around the country lanes. A word of warning if you do decide to take your bikes in the hope of using them on the site you cannot and it is frowned upon, there were lots of disappointed children who had bought their bikes and then found they were not allowed to use them them and with the lanes being rather unsafe to ride along this didn't go down too well with numerous familes.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your review. We are a medium sized family site as you can see from our website and we don't have the huge range of facilities of the large holiday parks. We advertise that we are a great base for those people who enjoy the wonderful countryside that we are situated in, for example walking, cycling and also visiting the islands attractions.
How we would love to keep the shop open for longer! How we would love to supply a wider range of goods. The fact is that most people have done a shop at the supermarket on the way, or they go out and make a special journey to one. We used to keep the shop open for longer but the staff were standing around for hours with nothing to do and that doesn't make economic sense. So we keep the shop open at the times that most people want to use it.
We are glad that you like the take-away. We think that the area outside it, is a good place to sit and wait for your meal. You can purchase a drink from the take-away chill cabinet and sit and admire the views there.
It's good to point out that we don't do children's entertainment. If you want karaoke, or bingo or a clubhouse with shows then this is not the place to come. You will be disappointed. Last year we did run falconry displays, archery and alpaca walks and may do something along those lines again, but we found that people mainly liked to go out as a family and explore the island or visit the wonderful beaches. There is so much going on, on the Isle of Wight!
However, we are not going downhill by any means. In the last 5 years we have spent over £1,000,000 on The Orchards, improving standards and making it more efficient. Our new Facilities Centre was completed in 2009. Providing impressive facilities for tourers, with shower, wash basin cubicles, walkers drying room, spacious laundry and washing up area, disabled facilities and family bath and shower rooms and much more. We have bought new caravans to replace old ones in the holiday caravan area and recently we have replaced our oil fired boiler with a new biomass boiler that runs on locally sourced wood chip. So we are looking ahead and embracing new technology.
The bike subject is something that we thought long and hard about. We have been advised by health and safety not to have children riding bikes on the park. As it is very dangerous in some areas and you can't let them ride near some caravans/tents and not others. We also used to have lots of people complaining that children would get together and ride over their pitch, get caught in ropes etc.
I hope this answers some of your queries.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
11.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
307 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
The Wheatsheaf Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newport
15 reviews
11.7 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
334 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park

Property: The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Main Road | Newbridge, Yarmouth PO41 0TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchards Holiday Park is a multi award winning holiday destination. Recently winning the "Top 100 sites, Overall winner for 2015" and The AA "Campsite of the year SE, for 2015" It is located in Newbridge, 10 minutes drive from Yarmouth and the Wightlink ferry, on the west of the Isle of Wight. The Orchards Holiday Park is a quality, 5 pennant park, on the edge of an AONB so there are superb views over rolling countryside. It has 160 marked, touring pitches for tents, motor-homes and touring caravans, in 3 paddocks and 64 fully equipped, holiday caravans to rent, either 4 or 6 berth in a separate area linked with pathways and among trees and shrubs. We think that you will be impressed with our Facilities Centre which caters for all of your touring needs, including shower and washbasin cubicles, toilets, walkers drying room, laundry, accessible facilities, laundry and washing up area, baby changing room and much more. Our facilities include, indoor heated swimming pool and pool side coffee shop, outdoor heated pool and paddling pool, shop, take-away, childrens play area, dog walking area,table tennis room, pool room and WiFi at a small cost. The number 7 bus stops at the entrance to the park every hour and goes to Yarmouth one way and Newport the other, where you can link up with other buses. We also have Orchard House,a 4 bedroom spacious house on the park, (sleeps 10) with private garden and patio area and full use of all the park facilities.This is an excellent location for walking, cycling, bird watching, sight-seeing, exploring the island or going to the islands many festivals. We have special offers and discounts for early payment, over 60's and Caravan Club members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Yarmouth
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing