We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice site, good amenities, but some irritations.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I stayed the Orchards for 4 nights from 9th August 2013. I was with my wife and dog in our camper van and our 2 friends and their dog in their camper van.
My first reaction when we arrived at our camping pitch was " We are not staying here". This was because there was an extended family with 2 caravans in the pitches in front of us who were creating havoc. Their children were running through our pitch as we were setting up, their dogs were barking at us, through the fence, incidentally they were not on leads as requested in the site rules. The women were shouting to each other at full volume from their respective caravans, there were bin bags being blown from their pitches onto ours, they were using the fence as a clothes horse, it felt like we had set up camp in the middle of a sink housing estate.
The site its self is in a beautiful rural setting, the toilet amenities are the best that we have experienced while camping, although there were a few people who did not leave the facilities as they found them,e,g not mopping out the showers after they had finished, leaving the washing up sinks in a dirty condition.
There are 2 swimming pools on the site one indoor and one outdoor, but there were kids diving And bombing into the pools which is supposed to be against the site regulations and no one seemed to be challenged for breaking these rules.
There is a policy on the park that bicycles and skateboards must not be ridden on the site, but I witnessed this being flouted on several occasions.
Another gripe that I had was that the 5 mph speed limit was constantly ignored by the majority of motorists on the park, some were positively reckless in the speed that they drove around at.
Although I have had a bit of a moan about this holiday park, we did enjoy our stay. The family from hell left the day after we arrived and peace prevailed on the whole.
I would visit this park again, but not in the main season when it is full of young families. I would ask the management to be a bit more vigilant and make sure that people understand and respect the park regulations, this would make everyone's experience at the park an enjoyable one.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jimb0239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your review. All of the staff are very pleased that you liked our holiday park. However it is such a shame that other holiday makers affected the enjoyment of your stay. One of our staff was called out to talk to the family in question. He spoke to them and also asked if others around their pitch had been disturbed, they all said that they hadn't.
We are pleased that you were impressed with our Facilities Centre. It is of a very high standard and we are delighted with the feedback we have had from visitors. The Facilities Centre is cleaned regularly, by our staff, throughout the day. We ask that visitors help us to keep it clean and tidy but we are always there to do the main cleaning.
We don't have policemen on our site to constantly watch every person and every car. However, we are as vigilant as we can be and we always respond if holiday makers call us out for any reason. Thankfully these occasions are few and far between.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 375 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We've been staying at the Orchards for several years now and it has always and remains excellent. Staff are excellent and the accommodation in the caravans is lovely. The site is great and the swimming pools are good.

One downside, and I know this is a small point to many, but I need to have reliable WiFi where I stay due to my work and also I prefer online news etc. The site is advertised as having WiFi which is a chargeable extra (they have a contracted service).

Unfortunately this service is very heavily restricted in number of devices that can be used (one!) and also the speed. It's made clear when you purchase your access code that the system can't cope with anything more than simple email and light browsing and this is correct. The WiFi signal is quite weak and it's almost useless for anything other than light browsing (it regularly disconnects). You can't stream anything such as YouTube/iPlayer or use any business applications you'd normally expect etc..

It would be great if these restrictions are made clear during the booking process as this is an important aspect to many, especially since the mobile signal on IOW is quite poor (no 3G Vodafone at the Orchards). I love the Orchards, but this will be a deal breaker in the coming years....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtheplod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I booked this caravan holiday for myself, my wife and our four children (ages 14, 9, 5 and 3). At the same time booked for my parent in law, and uncle (all oap's) in a separate caravan.

I was unsure at how successful the holiday would be as there was no family entertainment or bar on site. We didn't need to worry as we went back to basics and played games in the evening.

The children loved the outdoor pool, it was a challenge to get them to come out, it was pleasantly warm, it was great to swim at 6.30pm at night outdoors and perfect depth for my children to play. The older generation felt the pools were a little too small and shallow for swimming. On the one occasion we tried the indoor pool it was full, and there was quite a few people waiting.

Would have liked a pub or bar onsite for adults to socialise, although understand not having is why the park is so quiet at night. We felt the pub was too far away to walk to as it was uphill and round corners and as it was dark with no street lights may be dangerous.

My parents in law wanted me to say how comfy and thick the mattresses were and they were very impressed with the caravan, and how it was equipped. The mother in law had a problem working the oven and someone came out quickly and was very polite in showing her what to do.

You do have to drive to get anywhere, but if you plan it right you can use it as an opportunity to drive round the island. There is a room at The Orchards that has loads of leaflets and maps about what there is to do on the Island which is really useful.

We really enjoyed our time at The Orchards, and felt it is how it's described on the website. The site is very clean and has friendly and polite staff.

I wanted to share that our eldest said that this holiday was 'awesome' praise indeed from a teenager.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteandJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We are so glad that all of your family enjoyed your holiday together and that you enjoyed playing games in the evenings. Our outdoor pool is wonderful when the weather is fine and it's a real magnet for children on the park. We do have serious swimming for adults from 8.30-9.30 each morning. At this time, those who want to do lengths can swim without interruption from children playing. This is quite popular, with locals ( we have a local membership) and with holiday makers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We returned yesterday from an excellent week staying at The Orchards. The site was peaceful but had plenty to keep our 8 and 5 year olds entertained when we were not out and about. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The swimming pools are excellent and the large area of grass at the front of our caravan was plenty big enough for ball games and running free. We were impressed with our caravan so we have booked it again for the same week next year. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: We liked the Pearmain caravan so the children could have a room each and we had an en-suite toilet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and have booked again for next year. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. Please tell your friend about us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

We have just returned from Orchards holiday park and thoroughly enjoyed the week. The site was perfect for myself, husband and our 4 year old. It is set in beautiful surroundings with a perfect view to sit outside and enjoy (our son liked looking at the cows just over the fence) Orchards is a perfect base to explore the island from as everywhere is roughly 30 mins away. The site is quiet, this was one of the reasons why we chose to go there as it means it is relaxing after a full days sight seeing. The pools are great, although we found the outside pool a little cold to use. There was so much space for our son to play games on the site and he thoroughly enjoyed this. We liked that there was no scooters and bikes allowed to be ridden on site as it means children are not riding into you as you walk around the site. The takeaway is great value and cooked to order - it's only a 10 minute wait if you go around 5.30pm. Overall, an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found "no bikes or scooters " a positive thing. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We first visited the Orchards back around 1986 when we took our own touring caravan and we liked it so much that we visited every year from then on for about 12 years. One year we had a break and stayed in one of the static caravans on the site which we liked very much, apart from the fact that even in high summer it was very cold in the van at night. Having said that we decided to book a static caravan again this year and brought our daughter and 3 young grandchildren with us. This time the van was double glazed and had heating so we were warm and cosy. We were sited near the north boundary with a fantastic view over to Portsmouth in a lovely quiet area. It was a shame that scooters were not permitted to be used which we did not know in advance as all 3 boys had theirs with them and could not use them. We cannot understand why they could not use them in such a quiet area, although obviously we understand that they could not be used in the car parking areas. Also, it would have been handy to have had some deck chairs and "outside" table provided for use outside the van. We did in fact see one family lift the dining table and chairs from the caravan to use outside!

The site had changed very little since our last visit 15 years ago, except that the outside pool is shallower now in the deep end (I believe it was 6 feet deep when I last used it and now it is 4 feet deep). I can understand the reasons for this but I would have liked to have used it for more serious swimming and I found this impossible as I kept scraping my feet and legs on the bottom of the pool and I am certainly not tall! In fact the pool was mainly always full of youngsters playing ball, jumping in etc and definitely having fun!

Although the shop is well stocked I felt that it was not as full as it once was fifteen plus years ago, and in those days the building immediately opposite the site was a general shop and Post Office and both were well stocked. Now, one has to go to Carisbrooke to get a better selection of food etc. We were also disappointed at the early closing hours of the shop in the evening. I am sure it used to close around 9 p.m. and felt that 7 p.m. was far too early. We arrived at the site at 3 pm the first day and had to wait for the shop to open before we could stock up. I agree with another reviewer who suggested that the shop keep the same opening hours as the Take Away. The Take Away is very good with a wide menu on offer each day.

All in all The Orchards is an excellent camp site and I will definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queenofmarbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

We are so pleased that you came back to visit us and enjoyed your holiday. Regarding the outdoor pool. It was filled in approximately 8 years ago. This was mainly so that it was safer for the young children and so that they no longer have to crowd into the shallow end. They can now use all of it to play in.
We do have an adult time from 8.30 to 9.30 for serious swimming. Many of these people are elderly. Some of them are locals who have a membership. They like to swim lengths to keep fit and some come along every day to swim.
Unfortunately the shop is not used like it was. People go to the supermarket, so we had to reduce the hours for economic reasons. If the shop had the same hours as the take-away, our staff would be standing around with very little to do.
The Post Office was closed in the re-organisation of post office services 8 years ago. The Post Office decided it was untenable, so they closed it. It was very sad. We tried to take it on and incorporate it into the shop but they wouldn't let us.
We are all glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you don't leave it another 15 years before you return! Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights last week, 2 adults and 2 kids aged 4 and 7. The Orchards is a good base to explore the island, but DONT expect loads on site. There is reception, small shop, playground & 2 pools. Takeaway also serves breakfast BUT only at weekends. Wifi available but they charge for it. Perhaps if you hand over £500 for 4 nights in a caravan they should include wifi these days! The caravan was modern and clean, no complaints. Double bed was AWFUL but what more should one expect, it is a caravan after all. All in all we would return, but only to use as a base. It certainly isn't a destination venue with everything on site to amuse the kids all week. Recommend the griffin pub ningwood if you have kids, Hare and hounds ok for kids to play whilst adults eat etc but food patchy. Robin hill was ok and blackgang chine, if you do both, buy an all in ticket. Sandown is a hell hole, drunks and druggies everywhere. Seriously run down and the pier is terrible. Needles good fun for the kids with boat ride to the lighthouse. Small kids may be scared on the cable car. Steam railway good fun for an hour or two. Chessel pottery good for kids if weather bad but dont expect change out of £100 if kids use the studio and paint their own pottery. Good fun though.

Room Tip: pay extra for a newer caravan
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hugecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Thank you for your review. It is good that you pointed out that we are not a destination venue. We do not advertise that we are. We don't have a clubhouse and we don't have children's entertainment in the evenings, or bingo or karaoke. We are lucky enough to be situated in beautiful countryside, on the edge of an AONB. We provide a "5 star" base, so that you can enjoy walking, cycling, bird-watching at Newtown Creek, golfing, enjoying the beaches or water based activities, or the many and varied attractions and festivals the Isle of Wight offers. There are many websites with lots of information about what there is to see and do, or go to our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
10.4 mi away
Cheverton Copse Holiday Park
14.2 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Tom's Eco Lodge
Tom's Eco Lodge
#1 of 4 in Yarmouth
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Rookley Country Park
Rookley Country Park
#2 of 2 in Rookley
791 reviews
7.8 mi away
Waverley Park
Waverley Park
#1 of 1 in East Cowes
255 reviews
3.7 mi away
Grange Farm
Grange Farm
#1 of 4 in Brighstone
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Main Road | Newbridge, Yarmouth PO41 0TS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yarmouth
Price Range: £88 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchards Holiday Park is an award winning, family owned Holiday Park. It is located in Newbridge, 10 minutes drive from Yarmouth and the Wightlink ferry, on the west of the Isle of Wight. The Orchards Holiday Park is a quality, 5 pennant park, on the edge of an AONB so there are superb views over rolling countryside from all over the park. It has 160 marked, touring pitches for tents, motor-homes and touring caravans, in 3 paddocks and 64 fully equipped, holiday caravans to rent, either 4 or 6 berth in a separate area linked with pathways and among trees and shrubs . We think that you will be impressed with our Facilities Centre which caters for all of your touring needs, including shower and washbasin cubicles, toilets, walkers drying room, laundry, accessible facilities, laundry and washing up area, baby changing room and much more. Our facilities include, indoor heated swimming pool and pool side coffee shop, outdoor heated pool and paddling pool, shop, take-away, childrens play area, dog walking area,table tennis room, pool room and WiFi at a small cost. The number 7 bus stops at the entrance to the park every hour and goes to Yarmouth one way and Newport the other, where you can link up with other buses. We also have Orchard House,a 4 bedroom spacious house on the park, (sleeps 10) with private garden and patio area and full use of all the park facilities.This is an excellent location for walking, cycling, bird watching, sight-seeing, exploring the island or going to the islands many festivals. We have special offers and discounts for early payment, over 60's and Caravan Club members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Yarmouth
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing