We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$356
US$279
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$151
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$133
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (381)
Filter reviews
381 results
Traveller rating
252
82
30
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
252
82
30
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor poolwell stocked shoptake awayon sitegreat sitetoilet blockred funnelsun holidayisle of wightvanity roomlovely parkinformation roomtable tennis roomsmall arcadeown transportrecreation areacentral heating
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 381 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We chose the Orchards on the basis of being the best rated holiday park on the Isle of Wight available on the Sun deal. We didn't upgrade as the cost was quite high. We stayed in caravan no 26.

Postives
Full central heating which we didn't expect!
A proper dining table and chairs - something that other caravans we have stayed at have not had.
Quiet park
Friendly & helpful staff (see below)
Warm (due to double glazing and full central heating)
Money off offers at some local pubs
Reception stay open until 8pm (much later than some of the big players)
Good location easy to reach all other attractions on the island.

Negatives (more minor niggles)
Oven wouldn't stay lit and gas could be heard. This was however sorted quite quickly.
Shower temperature kept alternating from cool to warm, you could hear the boiler keep restarting which would explain the problem).
No car park adjacent to the caravan - not really a major problem.

We were given good advice was given by the reception staff regarding money off for the heritage steam railway which was a bonus. In addition we obtained 5-10% off certain pubs and sites which is always useful.

We didn't use any of the other facilities so can't comment on them.

In summary a great trip, good accommodation, friendly and helpful staff, highly recommended for couples and families alike.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dishmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your detailed review. We are so pleased that you had a pleasant stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at Orchards at the end of August/early September in our touring caravan. We arrived just before the end of the school holidays and consequently it was pretty full for the first few days, then emptied out completely on the Sunday morning.

My main reservation about this site, and the main reason for only giving an "average" rating, is that the pitches are very close together and don't give any privacy. The area in which we were pitched consisted of rows of pitches back to back with only a low single rail fence to separate the rows. Your car has to be parked across the front of the pitch which means the caravan has to be positioned well back on the pitch for the car to avoid the A-frame, so the rear of our relatively small van was almost touching the fence. This meant that we were very close to the outfit behind us and we had to draw the awning curtains at that end of the van in order not to feel that we were sharing our space with our neighbours. It would be much better if the fence were replaced with a hedge or something. There was also a rather rowdy family a couple of pitches along who had two adjacent pitches and had constructed a massive BBQ area of windbreaks between the two tents where they stood or sat until the small hours drinking, shouting and cackling. Orchards rules say only one windbreak per outfit with a maximum of 6 poles. They also request quiet after 11.00 pm. It seems that, in common with other rules, these were never enforced. I felt quite sorry for the people who backed on to this family.

When we first arrived there was a notice up in the shower block apologising that someone had been defecating in the showers and the mop bucket! Whilst this obviously isn't the site's fault, it gives a less than attractive impression of some of the clientele that were staying there. I'm not sure that putting the notice up was a wise move as it drew attention to the problem, but on the other hand it was probably appropriate to offer an apology to any guests who were affected by it. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.

There are two dog exercise areas, one in the area of the static vans and the other at the bottom of the site. They are not gated so not secure if your dog is a "runaway", but they are adequate for the purpose. For some reason there is a large overgrown area next to the lower dog walk with a small fence and a sign saying "Danger, Keep Out". As this is also very close to the recreation field I can't help wondering why the owners haven't done something with it. Pity that there will always be people who don't attempt to get their dog to the exercise area and just allow or encourage it to perform on an empty pitch.

Now for the more positive points. The staff were always helpful and friendly. The shop has newspapers, you can order a paper rather than take a chance if you want to be sure of getting your favourite title, and they accept pre-payment vouchers, eg Telegraph.

The Wifi was pretty good for normal everyday use. I know some reviewers have been critical of this service but we found it reliable and relatively quick for email, browsing etc. We even managed to get an acceptable connection using Facetime. It is much better than the Caravan Club Wifi, although that isn't saying much.

The service block is excellent. Lovely, roomy showers, each cubicle having a shower and a wash basin, plenty of space to hang your clobber. Lots of sinks for washing up. Probably the best Chemical Toilet disposal points I have come across. The whole block is clean and well maintained.

The location is really good, being at the "quiet" end of the island. Lovely views across the Downs. There are footpaths running past the site so you can get out and about without using the car. However, there appears to be only one bus per day from outside the site, and there is nothing at all in Newbridge. No pub, no shop (apart from the site), no cafe or tea room. There are loads of nice walks within easy distance, and Freshwater and Yarmouth are only a short drive away. We bought some meat from a farm shop at Mottistone and can highly recommend it. Sirloin steak was lovely, as were their sausages.

Would we go to Orchards again? Probably yes because it is the best site we have identified in that part of the island. However, although it is Caravan Club affiliated I don't think it quite comes up to CC standards so we might look at the CC site at the other end of the island next time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Thank you for your review!! We are glad that you enjoyed the Facilities Centre and that the WiFi was adequate. To comment on just a few of the points that you raised. Fences are much more managable that hedges! The fences were here when we bought the park 11 years ago. There were hedges in some areas but they are high maintainance and have died off in some areas in very dry areas as it tis difficult to water them through the summer when the park is full. We would also have to trim them in the summer when they grow the most and that would be very noisy.
I have asked all of our staff from maintainance to receptionists, to managers and no one has ever heared of The Orchards rule of one windbreak per outfit with a max rule of 6 poles??
We try our best with our quiet after 11 pm rule but we don't have staff acting as policemen, standing behind tents.
The large overgrown area by the recreational field is a wildlife area for butterflies, frogs, toads etc. We have won many awards for conservation and we are very sympathetic to wildlife.
We are delighted that you think that our site is one of the best in the area. We are very different to the Caravan Club site. They do not have the facilities that we have but they do have hedges!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

The Orchards is set in the lush, rolling landscape of West Wight in Newbridge. There is a reception, shop, take away, indoor and outdoor pool, coffee shop, amusements and a pool room.
In September when we arrived the site was fairly quiet which makes a change from places like Whitecliff Bay who's rowdy wannabe Butlins style and high prices have turned us away from staying at. The Orchards has the balance just right though...
high praise must go to the staff in reception for helping us with the ferry ticket we nearly lost, and the takeaway too, not only for the excellent food but also for their food preparation too, using a thermometer to test if item are cooked though was pleasing to see and showed a duty of care too. No wonder they have an impressive 5 star hygiene award.
We have to say there was a couple of things that I have to mention. The site wifi isn't very strong (although you are told this before you purchase it) and its very restrictive - only one person can be online at any time. We had two laptops, two smartphones and two tablets, it would have been nice to use at least two together. Also, completely out of the parks control was the resurfacing of the main road through
Newbridge which led to some "creative" diversions each time we went out for the day. Perhaps we should have viewed the IOW Council website for such details in future...
Overall, we would not hesitate to recommend The Orchards to anyone as its a beautiful site, well kept and maintained with staff who are friendly, attentive and passionate about the park they run.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your thoughtful and articulate review. We are so pleased that we could be of help with the ferry ticket and that you appreciated our take-away. We know that the WiFi isn't strong, its the same all over the island but you are made aware of this. The road works were out of our control and lasted far longer than we were told they would last. We can only apologise for the disturbance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

1st class clean facilities is the major plus of this site. The 20m pool was heated and empty every morning at 8 30 as kids not allowed in until 9 30. Location is not great as there is no bus passing through the village. Good biking and walking from the site as there is a footpath at the rear of the site

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities. We are very sad that the council have decided to stop our bus. We are looking at ways of rectifying the situation presently. We will keep everyone informed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We camped with two other families over a weekend and made use of the superb facilites available. The pitch was generous and flat. The staff, especially Gemma, were efficient and very friendly. The site was spotless as were all the public areas including the pool. Would definately recommend !

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2013

We are so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you all again next year. Watch out for our 2014 prices and our loyalty offer, which you will be entitled to. Our offers will be on our website soon and also on our Facebook page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews