We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Love It”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Just arrived for yet another holiday at the most beautiful holiday park in our opinion on the Isle of Wight, and what a surprize it was to see the best Landlord and Landlady from Norfolk in our opinion working on the park. Hoping this will encourage them to open a small bar, nothing big is needed as the park has so much going for it. Excellent staff, beautiful views, indoor and outdoor pools and a new bus route. Hope to see a small bar sometime soon as the park now has someone to run one. This would make our yearly break perfect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
What a coincidence that you met up with Tim and Colette again here! They are a great addition to our team. Thankyou for your kind comments about our staff. They are delighted that you took the time to mention them. We are all very pleased that we have our bus route back! The no 7 bus stops at the entrance to the park every hour,going to Newport and Yarmouth. You can then hook up with buses to other parts of the island. Can't promise that we will be getting a bar though, but never say never!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    73
    25
    11
    5
See reviews for
200
80
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

I had to rate all the catagories but in truth have never stayed here ! We just go to use the take away food service. As locals its good to find somewhere that the food is reasonably priced , served to you by nice people in a clean enviroment. Recommend the burgers. The site is lovely , quiet and peacefull but only 15 min away from shops etc. If i didnt live so close i would come and stay !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wilowblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write. It's lovely to hear from a neighbour. The Orchards take-away is open to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

there are pros and contras, I dont think I would return. the park is nice and tidy but on a rainy day it becomes very muddy. Small pitches, no bushes between pitches, therefore no privacy, no personal space. Nice and clean toilets, showers, great laundry and dish washing area. There are outdoor and indoor pools, that my son loved. A very big grass play area for kids with two basketball hoops, which doesnt make any sense as you cant play basketball on the grass:(. a playground here would be better. ( there s a small playground at the entrance). Great campsite if you have a dog, otherwise very annoying that dogs are running everywhere. Wifi is available, although expensive and not reliable.there is a shop but the lady in there gave me a strange look when i asked for fresh bread.
the roads around the area and on the Island in general are narrow, not in a good condition. Not suitable for lesure cycling and definietly not safe if you are cycling with kids. Loads of walking routes but you will need good boots and a jungle knife. No road for running.
The attractions on the Island were expensive.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gabynagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review Gabby. I am sorry there were a few things you were unhappy about. The weather had been particularly wet before you arrived and when people walk on the grass pitches and drive their cars over them, the pitches get muddy. If you had asked to be moved, I'm sure we could have accommodated you. We are glad that your son loved the swimming pools, they are very popular with children and adults.
We do accept dogs but they are to be kept on a lead and as far as we are aware, everyone adheres to that rule. We have never had any complaints about dogs.
We do charge for Wifi at the moment as we are trying to recoup some of the outlay.
I am surprised about your comments on the Island's roads. The Island is renowned for its walking and cycling. With 200 miles of cycling routes and 500 miles of pathways for walking many people come to the island every year to enjoy these sports and take part in the walking and cycling festivals. You can run on any of the roads, lots of people do. If you want a long straight road you can't have missed the Military Road, it's very popular with runners.
Finally I don't think the islands attractions are any more expensive than anywhere else. Most places are very aware that they need to keep the costs down and they do special offers on certain days. The Needles do a book of 12 tickets for £9 to use on all of the rides and the beautiful beaches nearby are all free! I do hope that I have managed to persuade you to come back and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We came here last year, we have just spent a week here and have booked here for next year and can't wait!! Friendly staff, great facilities and great access to everywhere!! Thank you for a brilliant stay!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Natalie1109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
You are welcome! Thank you for your kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that your son was happy. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Just stayed here for 4 nights in a touring caravan. With the site being on a slope when it rained it become water logged and very muddy if on grass like we were it was so bad that we left 4 days into a 7 day trip. They do not have very many hard standing pitches for caravans around the 7 metre length which is a shame. No cycling on site is a massive deal breaker for us, when we arrived my kids were in tears! It does say in the smallprint but who checks? C'mon guys cycling is part of camping and to ban it due to health & safety is just one step too far. My kids rated the play area only 1/10, its too small and out of sight being up by the shop. They have massive toilet blocks (still had to que and the push button on my shower needed predding every 8 seconds!) which I can't help thinking some of the space should of been dedicated to a play area. Nice views and swimming pools but we will not return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Unfortunately it had been raining for a few days before you arrived and when people walk on the wet grass it gets muddy. This would have been the same at any site you visited with grass pitches. If you had come to reception and explained the problem, the girls would have tried to find another pitch for you.
The cycling rule is being adopted by more and more holiday parks. It is due to health and safety reasons. We are concerned about the safety of your children. Many parents do not supervise their children when they cycle around the park and there are large caravans and motorhomes moving around. Fortunately we have not had a child involved in an accident and we don't want it to happen in the future. There are 200 miles of cycling routes on the Isle of Wight to cycle along.
We are pleased that you liked the views and the swimming pools!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've been staying at The Orchards since 1976; it was a 'cut above the rest' then and still is. The mobile homes are modern, well maintained, clean and fully fitted with everything needed for a great holiday. The Orchards site is in a beautiful setting and so quiet. Lots for the grandson to do including indoor & outdoor pools. Plenty of walks for the doggies at and around the site plus the shop and takeaway mean that the car can stay in it's space. We needed to stay in touch and wi-fi was advertised. When we saw what the charges were, I decided to log on to the free wi-fi in local pubs and cafes. But for the high wi-fi charges it would have been a score of 5.

Room Tip: The quietest homes are on the edge of the park by the 'dog exercise' field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Watchman077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your excellent review of The Orchards Holiday Park. The staff work very hard indeed to make sure that our visitors enjoy their holiday. We are sorry about the WiFi cost but we have to recoup some of the outlay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HULL EAST YORKSHIRE
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed here in may taking advantage of the sun newspaper offer.We found the sight to be very clean family oriented and a pleasure to stay at,everything we wanted was there and we had a very comfortable caravan.One word of warning we were not very impressed with the take away but there are plenty of places in the area to eat and the sight has negotiated a discount with several of them

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TREVOR W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your review Trevor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. The sun offer is such a popular offer and we have had such great feedback from the guests. You don't say what the problem was with the take-away. I am surprised you were unhappy with it as most people rave about it and we have had many positive comments about the quality of the food and the service. If you were unhappy with anything it is best to take it back and resolve the problem. We hope that you will come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
11.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
4.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
299 reviews
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
827 reviews
14.1 mi away
Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park

Property: The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Main Road | Newbridge, Yarmouth PO41 0TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchards Holiday Park is a multi award winning holiday destination. Recently winning the "Top 100 sites, Overall winner for 2015" and The AA "Campsite of the year SE, for 2015" It is located in Newbridge, 10 minutes drive from Yarmouth and the Wightlink ferry, on the west of the Isle of Wight. The Orchards Holiday Park is a quality, 5 pennant park, on the edge of an AONB so there are superb views over rolling countryside. It has 160 marked, touring pitches for tents, motor-homes and touring caravans, in 3 paddocks and 64 fully equipped, holiday caravans to rent, either 4 or 6 berth in a separate area linked with pathways and among trees and shrubs. We think that you will be impressed with our Facilities Centre which caters for all of your touring needs, including shower and washbasin cubicles, toilets, walkers drying room, laundry, accessible facilities, laundry and washing up area, baby changing room and much more. Our facilities include, indoor heated swimming pool and pool side coffee shop, outdoor heated pool and paddling pool, shop, take-away, childrens play area, dog walking area,table tennis room, pool room and WiFi at a small cost. The number 7 bus stops at the entrance to the park every hour and goes to Yarmouth one way and Newport the other, where you can link up with other buses. We also have Orchard House,a 4 bedroom spacious house on the park, (sleeps 10) with private garden and patio area and full use of all the park facilities.This is an excellent location for walking, cycling, bird watching, sight-seeing, exploring the island or going to the islands many festivals. We have special offers and discounts for early payment, over 60's and Caravan Club members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Yarmouth
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing