We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small site with the facilities of a large one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Small site with the facilities of a large one”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We camped for 5 nights and choose the site for it's size and were impressed with the facilities that were on offer.

Excellent pitch (flat) which is a rareity

The facilities were outstanding, showers were rooms with a sink and changing area. There was also a vanity room for straighteners etc if you didn't have EHU, private sink rooms as well.

You could choose from 2 pools indoor and outdoor.

The location is excellent lovely countryside but only a short drive to anywhere on the Island.

The staff were friendly and on arrival the greeting happy and helpful.

They do allow dogs on site but these must be kept on leads only shame 1 family thought it acceptable to let the dog out early and leave presents but that says more about the standard's of the guests than the site! Disgusting!!

As mentioned the showers exceptional, the washing facility plentiful also set up nice ironing boards and irons for your use foc a drying room.

For the cost of the trip including ferry it was an outstanding holiday I have one complaint and it is a big one! Why didn't we book for longer!! We really didn't want to leave ☺

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCelticCrusaders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    72
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
196
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

Lovely clean well kept site. The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The 2 swimming pools are great for the kids, we personally preferred the heated outdoor pool as the indoor pool was a bit warm for us however its fine for the very young.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lynnsu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a caravan, which was ok apart from a slight smell of smoke. The staff was very very friendly and responded to any request immediately (I wanted the hedge cut to enjoy the wonderful view). The pools are very nice and the site is kept in good shape. The on site food from the take away on site (also has restaurant seating) is very reasonably priced and good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
We are extremely sorry that your caravan smelled of smoke. We have a no smoking policy on the site and we take it very seriously. Yes, our maintainance staff are very obliging and have been known to trim hedges or remove branches on request!
We are pleased that you enjoyed the pools and the take-awayand we hope that you will come and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Friendly, welcoming staff, clean & very comfortable caravan, spotless site with wonderful views. Our son said "I loved the shower & the swimming pool!". Some fab local pubs with scrumptious food reasonably priced. Beautiful part of the isle of wight with easy access to many beaches & attractions. Thank you 'Orchards' for making our holiday such an enjoyable and memorable time - we'll be back!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words.We are glad that you enjoyed your holiday with us and that you took the time to write a glowing review.We are delighted that your son enjoyed the shower and the swimming pools and that you have some lovely memories to share.We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Had a wonderful time here.. Let me start by saying that if you want a clubhouse and evening entertainment then this park isn't for you. For us it was perfect, great caravan, friendly staff and a beautifully warm indoor pool. We wanted a quieter camp as my son has autism and struggles with crowds and noisy places but this was just right. There's a lovely play area, table tennis, pool and arcade machines to keep little ones and not so little ones amused. One downfall I would say is that the shop is not very well stocked but the fantastic take away (the apple tree) more than makes up for it. The camp was lovely and clean and very well maintained, thank you all that work there for a lovely holiday... We will be back next year!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Had a fab week with our tourer the weather was amazing the site was spotless the kids made good use of the free indoor and outdoor pools and made loads of new friends who they hope to see next year as we have already booked for the same time. The toilet and washing block has to been the best I have ever seen. The site would benefit from an evening bar for the adults as it's a long walk to the nearest pub and the roads are a bit scary with kids. However cannot wait to go back next year. A bit of advice if towing a caravan don't believe your sat nav and stick to the main Roads not the small country lanes.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 8 October 2014
Thank you for your kind words and enthusiasm for The Orchards Holiday Park. We are so pleased that you had a great holiday with us. We do get a lot of positive feedback about our Facilities Centre and we are very proud of it.
The subject of a bar is one we often discuss. We have used questionaires on this topic in the past. 50% of people questioned are in favour and 50% are not. Some of our regulars say they wouldn't come if we have one. So you can see the dilema!
Thanks for the advice about the main roads. You don't need to go on the narrow country lanes to get to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Nice clean quiet site but a bit out of the way if you don't have transport but to be fair you could catch a bus nearby.there was a nice outdoor pool and also an indoor pool ,a good take away and eat in cafe prices very reasonable ,a decent shop for newspapers and basic provisions ,excellent showers very big with basin included .We enjoyed our stay but we did have our own transport to get around,well worth a visit to Osborne House and Carisbrook Castle .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 107elizabethr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have a bus service now. The number 7 bus stops at the park entrance hourly. It goes into Yarmouth and into Newport. You can then catch connecting buses to other parts of the island, so it is perfectly possible to travel around the island by bus. We also have excellent walking and cycling trails around the island, so this is a great place if you want to leave the car behind. See our website for more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yarmouth
4.3 mi away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
292 reviews
11.9 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
11.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
380 reviews
11.9 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
11.7 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park

Property: The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park
Address: Main Road | Newbridge, Yarmouth PO41 0TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Yarmouth
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Orchards Holiday Park is a multi award winning holiday destination. Recently winning the "Top 100 sites, Overall winner for 2015" and The AA "Campsite of the year SE, for 2015" It is located in Newbridge, 10 minutes drive from Yarmouth and the Wightlink ferry, on the west of the Isle of Wight. The Orchards Holiday Park is a quality, 5 pennant park, on the edge of an AONB so there are superb views over rolling countryside. It has 160 marked, touring pitches for tents, motor-homes and touring caravans, in 3 paddocks and 64 fully equipped, holiday caravans to rent, either 4 or 6 berth in a separate area linked with pathways and among trees and shrubs. We think that you will be impressed with our Facilities Centre which caters for all of your touring needs, including shower and washbasin cubicles, toilets, walkers drying room, laundry, accessible facilities, laundry and washing up area, baby changing room and much more. Our facilities include, indoor heated swimming pool and pool side coffee shop, outdoor heated pool and paddling pool, shop, take-away, childrens play area, dog walking area,table tennis room, pool room and WiFi at a small cost. The number 7 bus stops at the entrance to the park every hour and goes to Yarmouth one way and Newport the other, where you can link up with other buses. We also have Orchard House,a 4 bedroom spacious house on the park, (sleeps 10) with private garden and patio area and full use of all the park facilities.This is an excellent location for walking, cycling, bird watching, sight-seeing, exploring the island or going to the islands many festivals. We have special offers and discounts for early payment, over 60's and Caravan Club members. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Hotel Yarmouth
The Orchards Holiday Caravan And Camping Park Isle Of Wight/Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing