We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (428)
Filter reviews
428 results
Traveller rating
289
88
31
13
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
289
88
31
13
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor pool well stocked shop take away on site great site facilities block toilet block red funnel isle of wight vanity room laundry facilities horse and groom information room recreation area table tennis room small arcade takeaway food
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 428 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2018 via mobile

We stayed in a dog friendly caravan ‘The Russet’ no.55 for a long weekend.

We’ve stayed here but before we had dogs a few years ago...(so no dog van)
The positives are the park is quiet and clean, an ideal location. The take away is great value too.
However...

We were actually shocked when we first went in at how old and tatty the caravan was. Our Daughter actually burst into tears and said she didn’t want to stay there. The caravan is so dated, smells really damp and musky. The duvet covers are old and have holes, the mattress is horrendous on the double bed I ended up with dead arms and legs and back ache (we went to the supermarket and bought new pillows and cases) and I’m so glad we brought lots of dog blankets with us to cover the sticky sofas! I wore slippers the whole time as I didn’t want to touch the sticky floors and carpets. Another issue we had was a serious fly problem, all around the old curtains, looked like they were coming from the ruffles at the top? My Son has a great time swatting as many as he could at least 10 per day.

As this was a short break we decided to try and be positive and ignore these issues and enjoy ourselves, we were out enjoying the lovely island most of the time anyway ;)

Upon checkout we were not asked how our stay was. Caravan aside we had a lovely time on the IOW however I honestly don’t know how long they can actually carry on renting out these caravans? Seriously! My partner and I actually laughed feeling like we had gone back in time! :)

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Legs41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2018

The Orchards Caravan Park is a well kept site, reception staff cheerful, helpful and very informative. Plenty of information available on places to visit, walks, cycle tracks etc.
Caravan clean, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. Big of choice of caravans of different types Public transport good, Bus stop for Newport and Yarmouth at site entrance.Used take away on site, well priced with generous portions and good menu.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank constablehastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018 via mobile

This has to be one of the best sites we have stayed on. Upon arrival we were welcomed given good written information and walked to our pitch. The facilities were excellent, plenty of showers which were all a good size with a wash basin in the cubicle also, there were separate individual cubicles with hand wash basins and plenty of toilets. The blocks were extremely well maintained and cleaned. The washing up facilities were first class alongside impressive laundry facilities. There were family bathrooms and facilities for people with differing abilities. The swimming pools were clean and a pleasure to use, the shop was stocked for most needs. There was good recycling point, information room and facilities for children and young people. There was good dog walking facilities. Our only negative experience was the ‘take away’ we choose fish & chips which were awful, we threw most of it away.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cowbell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2018

Took our motorhome and 2 dogs to the Isle of Wight and stayed for 5 nights at the Orchards. We had been put on an earlier ferry so arrived before the 2pm check in, but this wasn’t a problem as our pitch was vacant. The receptionist was lovely.
The site itself was spotless, the facilities were excellent. Even washing up was a pleasure as the sinks had been thoughtfully arranged with a magnificent view. The indoor and outdoor pool were again immaculately kept.
The shop had basics, though the bread was frozen and was quite limited in stock, but the local bacon was lovely. The take away was good, but closed on our first night for a private function which we hadn’t been informed about on arrival, but the nights we did use it we had good choices and the lady serving was welcoming.
The bus stop outside was a real bonus, we went all over the island and were welcomed with our dogs in so many places.
If we return to the aisle of Wight we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 70cathrynb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

I wish I could give less than 1 star - absolutely terrible customer service - would not recommend to anyone. Paid 9 days Touring caravan pitch/awning, car broke down on way called and asked if we could bring tent in our other car so not to miss out on holiday and was told NO tents on gravel pitches and the grass pitches are all FULL as it was bank holiday. If we don't turn up we will be charged for cancelled ferry and we lose the full holiday money. I even asked if we could move dates but no held. We got car with the tow bar fixed and towed the caravan having lost 2 full days already and we pitched up after receptionist at first refused to let us pitch as it was before 2pm check in, I did point out we were in fact 2 days LATE. I then find during our stay other tents on gravel pitches and plenty grass pitches FREE.(Photos taken) Having emailed them complaining they have offered nothing but a discount if we book with them again, DO NOT book with them if you want a good customer service. Other sites are a lot better on island.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank 155carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie G, Owner at The Orchards Holiday Caravan and Camping Park, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

After receiving notification that your car had broken down you requested that we alter the ferry from Sunday to Tuesday. We did this and then tried to inform you by phone but didn't get a reply so we emailed the new time and day to you. If a guest doesn't show up for their planned sailing the ferry company have the right to charge for the ferry but on this occasion they changed it without charge.

Our policy regarding cancellations is in line with other holiday establishments, our terms & conditions are clearly shown and each guest says they have read them before they can submit a booking form. We cannot be liable for a guest's car breaking down.

We don't normally allow tents to pitch on gravel as we have had guests then claim that their groundsheet has been ruined but had you insisted that you would happily go on this type of surface we would have allowed it. While your photos may show that we had empty grass pitches during your stay we didn't have any for the whole duration of your stay and we didn't think you would like to move pitch.

When you arrived our receptionist wrongly thought you were an early arrival, we have apologised for her error in emails to you. 99% of guests arriving before 2pm are usually early, our receptionist shouldn't have made the assumption that this was the case. When she realised her error you were shown to your pitch.

I think your comments regarding our customer service are unfair as we rebooked the ferry as requested. Both myself and the office manager were available during your stay between 8am and 8pm daily, it's a shame that you didn't feel able to come and speak to us.

The tone of your emails to me implied that if we didn't give a refund you would post a poor review but I'm sure that anyone reading this review will also read the many other glowing review about the Orchards.

We have offered a discount against a booking in 2019 as we didn't feel a refund was appropriate on this occasion.

Kind regards
Karen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews