We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful home from home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room, which overlooks the sea The master bedroom has a very spacious wooden decked balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The living room, which overlooks the sea
The master bedroom has a very spacious wooden decked balcony
The pier at Alum Bay
The dining room has two sliding doors, one leading to the woodland, the other to the garden
The master bedroom, with its balcony overlooking the sea
There is a walk-in shower in the master bedroom en suite
Carvings in the woodlands
Painting at Freshwater Bay
The kitchen opens out to the dining area
The Isle of Wight coastal path near Freshwater Bay
The second double bedroom also has fabulous sea views
Twin bedroom overlooking the woodland at the back
The family bathroom
The kitchen
The view of Woodland Cottage and the sea from its private enclosed land
Steps in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Squidfluf...
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful home from home”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had previously stayed in other cottages at Fort Victoria, but had never visited Woodland Cottage, so we thought we'd give it a try.

The property is immaculate, and we'd happily move in and live there, if we could afford to do so. It is literally a home from home, where every little detail has been considered to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Some of the facilities, like the kitchen equipment are even better than we have a home, hence wanting to move!

Lots of space, and lovely views across the wooded area, and out across the Solent. We also enjoyed watching the little red squirrels running around the garden, and up to the feeding boxes attached to the tree in the garden. The beach is a very short walk away, and is lovely for winter walks. We visited in the middle of winter, and although a cosy log-burner is provided, the modern central heating system is more than adequate to keep you nice and warm.

A main bedroom upstairs, with a balcony and great views of the woods and also out to the Solent, which has a king-size bed, dresser, wardrobe etc (if there was one thing that would make this room even more perfect, it would be the provision of a super-kingsize bed, rather than a king-size, but I guess that's just what we're used to at home). This room also has an en-suite bathroom at a slightly lower level, accessed down three steps. The en-suite has a lovely wet room type shower head and also a detachable shower nozzle, should the need arise.

The second bedroom at the front (upstairs), faces the Solent, and again has a king-size bed. The third bedroom (also upstairs), faces the rear of the property overlooking the garden at the back, this room has two single beds.

There is also a large bathroom with shower upstairs for use by the occupants of the second and third bedrooms.

There is also an office/fourth bedroom downstairs which has two bunk beds (great for kids, or adventurous adults!) as well as a small desk with an iMac computer for guests to use.

The kitchen, dining, and lounge areas are all open-plan, and occupy most of the ground floor space, with large windows or patio doors all the way around to appreciate the lovely views. There is also another toilet and shower on the ground floor by the entrance hall.

There is literally nothing we didn't like about this property and will definitely be looking to book this again in the future.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirati...
1 review
“Beautiful house in a gorgeous location”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We know Fort Victoria and Yarmouth very well, and we were delighted to discover Woodland cottage. On the end of a row of 12 cottages that overlook Fort Victoria and the Solent, Woodland Cottage has been refurbished to a very high spec and beautifully fitted out.

The very large living space on the ground floor enabled us to keep two small children entertained on the rainy days and the bedrooms are all very comfortable,enduring quiet nights. The bathrooms have lovely rain showers and the kitchen has all the kit needed to cook properly (often a frustration in self catering!).

Another huge plus is the large enclosed garden, in which we managed to spot several red squirrels, a definite highlight for the children!

Thank you Mark and Natasha, we loved our stay and are hoping to return soon.

Lucy (Nell and Phoebe)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Startrip1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely holiday cottage with everything you need and more.”
Reviewed 30 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A perfect woodland retreat with sea views and wildlife right on your doorstep. We were looking for a dog friendly holiday cottage and this one exceeded our expectations. The property is clean and spacious with quality fittings and furnishings. It has a luxurious, contemporary feel whilst still being very comfortable and homely. Everything you can think of is provided, we had a wonderful stay and would highly recommend it.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review_12...
2 reviews
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed in this gorgeous home from home cottage over new year ... the fittings and furnishings are top class ! The master bedroom has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the woods which made perfect viewing to watch the cute red squirrels! We loved being able to walk along the beach to Yarmouth, and also directly into all the woodland and beach walks in the Fort Victoria Country Park, such a beautiful place.
Highly recommended, will def return!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
“Fantastic location for a holiday cottage, near the sea and woodland.”
Reviewed 4 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Great extended cottage in a wonderful location in West Wight, ideal for family get togethers. Perfect for observing local wildlife discreetly through large sliding glass doors - what a joy!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sightseer...
1 review
“A real gem! Twixt woodland and sea, a charming place for a perfect retreat!”
Reviewed 19 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

A stone's throw from the ferry at Yarmouth, Woodland Cottage is a haven of contemporary chic but with a quirky edge! The owner Natasha provided excellent service for a last minute booking and the spacious property - which would be great for a family gathering - was equally cosy for two. With walks from the door and the sea at the bottom of the garden, a lot of thought has gone into making this a holiday home I would have no hesitation in recommending! Thank you Natasha and Mark - I very much hope to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie O
Valencia, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect seaside spot”
Reviewed 20 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We were delighted to arrive at this contemporary property only 4 minutes from the IOW ferry in Yarmouth, fabulous 5 star decor & setting. It was ideal for 6 of us with 2 dogs. Charming large woodland garden & easy stroll to the Fort for full English breakfast! It was great to watch the ferries arriving in the distance from the sitting room & bedroom windows with the faraway lights of Southampton. Then wonderful sunsets west over the fort which has a private sunbathing deck on the roof! We really enjoyed the west location, Alum bay was our first beach visit and Freshwater bay . We plan to walk theTennyson way next time! Osborne house & grounds were well worth a visit as well going over the chain ferry in Cowes Altogether we really were impressed with the IOW & will definitely recommend it as it is such a pet welcome place!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing