We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delightful, comfortable property in a peaceful...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room, which overlooks the sea The master bedroom has a very spacious wooden decked balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The living room, which overlooks the sea
The master bedroom has a very spacious wooden decked balcony
The pier at Alum Bay
The dining room has two sliding doors, one leading to the woodland, the other to the garden
The master bedroom, with its balcony overlooking the sea
There is a walk-in shower in the master bedroom en suite
Carvings in the woodlands
Painting at Freshwater Bay
The kitchen opens out to the dining area
The Isle of Wight coastal path near Freshwater Bay
The second double bedroom also has fabulous sea views
Twin bedroom overlooking the woodland at the back
The family bathroom
The kitchen
The view of Woodland Cottage and the sea from its private enclosed land
Steps in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debra R
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A delightful, comfortable property in a peaceful woodland just a stones throw from the sea”
Reviewed 8 November 2018 for a stay in November 2018

A lot of thought has gone in to this beautiful property. I loved the open plan kitchen/ dining area which was full of light and the lounge, comfortable and cosy. Both look out on to the wood and garden, but bag the right chair and you can see the sea.

So peaceful, in minutes we counted ten bird varieties in the garden, plus rabbits and red squirrels. A gate leads to a shortcut across a small field and within a minute you are by the sea, Fort Victoria and the Boathouse Cafe (probably now closed for the Winter).

This was literally a last minute booking but the owners were really accommodating and quick to respond.

One of the best places we have stayed and would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessicat6...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 star home from home by the sea”
Reviewed 23 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Right by the beach,great walks on your doorstep,dog friendly,enclosed garden,
Luxury 5 star living,everything you’d have at home and more,The house has been very thoughtfully equipped,and is a beautiful place to spend time,the bedroom balcony is amazing with a sea view,the gardens are lovely and the amount of wildlife you see daily is great,The house is perfectly positioned close to the ferry and also a great base to explore the island,the perfect holiday retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful holiday experience”
Reviewed 25 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Eight of us (plus a dog) had a wonderful week at Woodland Cottage. The location is very quiet while close to Yarmouth. The house is spacious and extremely well equipped. Unlike an earlier reviewer, we found it clean and welcoming on arrival. The garden has plenty of space to keep 2 active children and a dog fully occupied.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taramiran
Kent, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely house. Peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

Great place and a lovely location. House and gardens are well thought out and we all enjoyed staying here!!! Hopefully be back next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woodland Cottage”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Excellent place to stay with young children, they loved the outside swing. It’s close proximity to the beach and Fort Victoria was also very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Megan J
1 review
“Great space and interesting garden”
Reviewed 8 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

The space in the house was fantastic for our large family of 8, it flowed nicely so we could pretty much always see the children quickly if we needed to, inside or out. The garden was great and very interesting for the children, however i'm sure if it was rainy there could be some very muddy kids! Luckily we were blessed with gorgeous weather and the view from the balcony in the master room was great.
Only major snagging point was that we (even my husband too) found the house dirty, our feet/ socks were black very shortly after arriving, we had to put a few items in the dishwasher before using etc. However linen and towels were all clean.
The house was equipped well, we struggled warming the downstairs up despite the weather being warm, but we were not in the house long enough to warrant using the log burner except from the first night but there were no fire lighters so we just sat out on the balcony instead with a glass of wine, being as the view was nicer anyway.
It's a shame our stay was so short we enjoyed it very much, thankyou from all of us!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janetO743...
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage in a perfect setting”
Reviewed 10 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We had a fantastic Easter break at Woodland Cottage. The cottage is just lovely and very well equipped. We loved the beautiful gardens and were lucky enough to see a wide variety of wildlife through the windows - in particular a red squirrel which was a joy to see. We used the cottage as a base from which to explore the Isle of Wight and visit family. A short walk along the coastline took us to Yarmouth where we enjoyed a riotous evening with good food and live music at Salty's, and the friendly bar staff at The King's Head were happy for us to try several of their extensive range of gins. Quieter evenings were spent in front of the log burner just chatting and gazing out to sea - perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing