We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will be back!”
Review of The Bakehouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bakehouse
Ranked #4 of 6 Biddenden B&B and Inns
Goudhurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had our first visit at the Bakehouse when my parents were down to visit, and all four of us loved it. Very welcoming, they gave our dog a nice biscuit treat and water, and the food and drinks were delicious. Nice varied menu with lots to choose from and a very charming interior with lots of character, in a very charming village.

They also have a list of their local suppliers on a blackboard out the front which I think is fantastic addition, listing the various farms etc they use showing their support for local produce. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PeteClarkeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    15
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We pass the Bakehouse Coffee shop every Saturday on our way to and from the house in Cranbrook to the stage school that we run in Tenterden. We always try to stop off for lunch on the way home as the food and staff are brilliant! They are very accommodating when a request is made for a variation of items on the menu, the staff are friendly and attentive, and the crockery is delightful! Keep up the good work and I look forward to many more Saturday lunches in this lovely atmosphere.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Coming form Belgium where the old houses are becoming scarce, it was a true pleasure to stay at this unique house. I think it is over 500 years old, with uncountable wooden beams. The room was very clean and cosy. We had a superb full English breakfast in the morning with the fire stove burning nicely. It was served by Caroline, the lady of the house who was very friendly and helpful in telling us about the area. I will recommend people staying here for the friendly service, the unique, typical old english house and the local area is beautiful. A definate coming back address!

Room Tip: The attic room with many wooden beams, tv, wifi and big bathroom was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Our stay in the Bakhouse was very friendly & charming, the breakfast was beautiful and fresh and especially the fresh muffins in our room. My husband did hit his head in the bathroom but that came with all the charm of the stay. The owner was very friendly and helpful to us and we would recomend the B & B to anyone.

Thanks to the infromation you gave us and to the people of the church who let us in to have a look at where my grand parents got married in 1926 it was a special trip as we came all the way from Australia

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night at this very pleasant and well thought out B&B. The rooms are attractive and cosy. The breakfast was very good and the owner and staff were very friendly and accommodating, organising taxis for us. Would highly recommend and would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic_Chops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Lovely tea rooms with just 2 rooms upstairs. 1 on the 1st floor with a 4ft6 double bed and 1 in the Attic. Our (attic) room had a 5ft bed but being in the attic you had little headroom at the sides and in the bathroom you couldn't stand and shower and hubby said standing at the wc was a tad difficult. The stairs curved up to the 1st floor and weren't bad but that second set to the Attic - well let's just say unfortunately I'm not a mountain goat. Hence the 4 rating on the rooms, I think I'd prefer the Secret (square) room next time and there was quite a bit of road noise in the morning - it is on a junction with the A262 Tonbridge/Ashford and the A274 to Maidstone- however we live in a village lane so aren't used to any road noise. That said Caroline is lovely, couldn't be more helpful, the rooms were clean, cosy, comfy bed, wifi, tv, chaise, loads of tea coffee milk sugar and chocolate to drink - so often you get 4 sachets of each if you're lucky, Caroline leaves a jar of teabags, a jar of coffee and a small tub of Cadbury's chocolate - and a large bottle of water too. The bedstead proved a bit problematical for both husbands but they solved the problem by putting their feet through the bars of the bedstead at the bottom so they could stretch out. The bathroom was very large and had a lovely free-standing roll top bath, big fluffy towels, a chair, a bench and small tubes of body lotion. Breakfast next morning was very leisurely, orange juice and cereals, then a full English, coffees, teas. Reasonable cost and easy access to lots of things, Bodiam, Tenterden, Sissinghurst, Rye, Ashford. If we didn't stay again we'd certainly pop in for coffee and stones or cake - maybe both, they looked delish.

Room Tip: Nab the Secret room if it's available altho it's only a 4ft 6 double and the bathroom is acr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elaineKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013 via mobile

A unite often use this village retreat. The building is rustic and cosy. At this time of year it is easily spotted in the village by the outside seating surrounded by flora. The food is very well presented and they do some excellent coffees. But the main reason to call in is the Owner Caroline and her wonderful staff ( especially Zoe). They are so warm and welcoming that you may wonder why you should ever leave. It is ideally situated near many of the counties tourist attractions, so if from out of town you may want to stay in their B&B. but if just passing through Biddenden do yourself a favour and pop in. The relaxing atmosphere will make your cares drift away.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
2.6 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
8.0 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bakehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bakehouse

Property: The Bakehouse
Address: 10 High Street, Biddenden TN27 8AH, England (Formerly Biddenden Bed & Breakfast)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Biddenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bakehouse 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm and friendly welcome is guaranteed at our family run Bed and Breakfast, providing comfortable, olde worlde accommodation and an excellent base to explore the beautiful Kent countryside. We insist on using fresh local produce were ever possible to provide you with a taste of Kent for your full English breakfast.The village of Biddenden itself is a picturesque village with a Michelin star restaurant and a Vineyard all on our doorstep. Only a few miles away is the village of Pluckley, which is renowned for being the most haunted village in England.The City of Canterbury and the towns of Tenterden, Maidstone, Ashford and Royal Tunbridge Wells situated within a short drive, with Ashford having excellent links to London and mainland Europe with the new High Speed rail taking only 38 minutes to London and Eurotstar taking you to Paris in under 2 hrs makes Biddenden the perfect place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Bakehouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bakehouse Biddenden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing