We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A house and hosts with character.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishopsdale Oast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishopsdale Oast
Ranked #1 of 6 Biddenden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A house and hosts with character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

The house was tidy and well presented with our room looking lovely and being well maintained. The area is peaceful and with great access to lots of fine Kentish attractions. Our hosts presented useful information about local venues. Breakfast was to a high standard and having utilised a two night buy a gift voucher I'd say I got exceptional value for money.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHunter_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    40
    11
    8
    8
See reviews for
12
117
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have just come back from a 2 night stay and what a superb bed and breakfast, on arrival Jane and Iian were very friendly and welcoming Iian showed us around the georgeous living room area for guests with open fire and garden then to our room which was very spacious lovely ensuite fantastic views of the countryside and of course the deers. Was tea and coffee making facilities in room and jug of fresh milk as and when required a little pot of biscuits refilled each day and a selction of fruit and herbal teas.
We opted for the 3 course meal the first night which Jane lovingly prepared was very delicious and well worth the money you will not be disappointed just ring jane few days before your arrival as i am vegetarian and she will cook whatever your needs may be. Breakfast each morning we had included the continental option selection of cereals yogurt fruit and selection home made breads and fruit bread and croissants, crumpets etc orange juice and tea or coffee and homemade jams all very delicious.
As we only live hour and bit away we definitely will be returning, yes it is a little hideaway gem in the country five or so mins drive into biddenden village.
Iian and Jane recommended places for us to visit and let us know what was happening in surrounding areas each day as points of interest.
One more thing sky and breeze the 2 black alsation dogs very friendly well behaved you can tell there simply loved .
Thankyou for lovely stay highly recommend.
Dave and Donna from Ramsgate.xx

Room Tip: we stayed in room K at the back with lovely ensuite and little living room area with 2 cane chairs o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We have just got back from a 2 night stay at this superb oast house. The room was the garden room which was very comfortable and clean and was a pleasure to stay in. We were made to feel very welcome by Jane and Lian and had booked for B&B basis. We had however asked for the option of dinner in the evening at an extra cost. After a long day visiting local sites we didn't want to be driving out again in the evening. I have to say this was the best decision! Jane cooked for us and the meals on both nights were excellent. Continental breakfast was great with most of it being homemade. A big THANK YOU from both of us for a really great stay we would highly recommend this B&B. Tony and Chris

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

What a wonderful place.The accommodation was superb,with great views of the Kent countryside,wild deer close by a great place for nature lovers.Iain and Jane(hosts)were really friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable of the surrounding area.If in this part of Kent we would recommend Bishopsdale everytime.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
738 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 800 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I really enjoyed our stay at the Bishopsdale Oast, the hosts were wonderful. The Kiln room was superb in a nice spacious room. My wife booked the bed and breakfast for two nights and its ideally located near Tenterden. The bed was very comfortable. We were given fresh milk for tea and coffee on arrival and the next day when we came back from exploring the area. Breakfast was great I paid the extra 8 quid for an all English breakfast with a good choice and cooked perfectly. I look forward to returning in the future and spending a few extra days exploring the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

The B&B is located less than 10 minutes drive from the lovely town of Tenterden. Although close to a road, the oast house is secluded with the most beautiful views of a deer park. Upon arrival we were treated to coffee and tea and walnut cake, all served in front of the fire. A warm welcome. We had the garden room and kiln room. Kiln room was wonderful, the bed amazingly comfortable, very big, and excellent quality bedding, towels and robes. Lovely bathroom.

Unfortunately we did not have any milk/creamer in our room for coffee, and only found out in the morning when we wanted to make coffee. We also had to rush our breakfast when it was served. It was maybe our fault for not saying what time we had to leave (had to get to a half-marathon in Ashford!). These are the only negatives.

The breakfast was amazing - 5 types of cereals, fresh fruit grown by the owners, yoghurt, a full English breakfast, complete with blackpudding, fried bread, mushrooms, veg and meat sausages, bacon, tomato and a choice of how you want your eggs.

They also serve a 3 course dinner if you don't feel like going out. However, many good restaurant options in nearby towns, less than 10 minutes drive away.

I would highly recommend - an hour's drive from London for a very reasonably priced, yet very high quality, warm and friendly country B&B stay.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank UkChristineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faversham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My Wife and I booked Bishopsdale Oast for a two night stay with three course dinner each evening. With regard to food we are the guests from hell as I am on a carbohydrate free diet and my wife requires gluten and dairy free. Jane took a huge amount of trouble in phoning my Wife and preparing menus to suit both of us. The end result was two delightful evening meals that wouldn't have been bettered in a good restaurant.Iain and Jane were both delightful and extremely helpful.
The " Winter Break ' was fantastic value. Breakfasts were also brilliant with a huge selection of fresh hot food cooked to order.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julielhermette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
2.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.3 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
24.4 mi away
Broome Park Golf and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast
1.6 mi away
Oak Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
2.2 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#4 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsdale Oast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsdale Oast

Property: Bishopsdale Oast
Address: Bishopsdale Oast Bishopsdale, Biddenden TN27 8DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Biddenden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopsdale Oast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Oast house in the middle of the Garden of England. Near to National Trust properties, Gardens, Castles and stately homes. Rye, a small fishing port, is a must to visit. Set in 2 acres of wild and cultivated gardens Bishopsdale Oast bedrooms have super king sized beds and the rooms have all amenities plus they overlook a deer park. Breakfast available in the dining room or on a West facing terrace. Dinner available on request but please bring your own wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bishopsdale Oast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsdale Oast Biddenden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing