We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic”
Review of Bishopsdale Oast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bishopsdale Oast
Ranked #1 of 6 Biddenden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights . Good sized room, unfortunately not en-suite therefore may not suit everyone. Large bathroom with shower situated opposite room which was clean and bright. Enjoyed continental breakfast with some homemade bread and preserves. Beautiful large garden to wander and relax. Quiet and charming place which suited our needs. Hosts warm and friendly.

Room Tip: Choose an en-suite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank yellowsaffron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed for two nights in early July. From the moment we arrived we knew we loved Bishopsdale. The accommodation is super with the added bonus of a guest sitting room where we had coffee each evening after dinner. Jane and Iain are great hosts and nothing was too much trouble. What really made our stay was the quality of the food - all home grown,home made and home cooked by Jane. We pre booked dinner on both evenings and we're not disappointed. A three course meal as good as you will get anywhere. Breakfast is top notch too with home made bread, preserves and stewed fruit all readily available before a full English breakfast. Don't miss the gardens either. Really beautiful to wander around before pre dinner drinks on the patio!

Room Tip: The Pines is spacious and comes with its own private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We are staying at the Bishopsdaleoast and cannot wait to let everyone know just how lovely it is. Jane and Iain are the perfect hosts and the accommodation is absolutely excellent. The facilities are up amongst the like of five star hotels but without the stiffness that often accompanies them. Bread, both brown and white - home made. Jams, gooseberry etc, picked from their garden and made into excellent jam - home made as are their marmalade and honey. To start the day with cereals, a full English breakfast followed by toast using the home made bread layered with any of the home made preserves is not something you would get from a five star, so I would award this six!!! All this seated round a large farmhouse table, mixing with other guests in a very friendly way. Ambience, food and accommodation. All wonderful. Like Arnie, we will be back.

Room Tip: Just choose any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maureen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were made very welcome at Bishopsdale Oast and given a spacious and very comfortable room with a lovely view. It was spotlessly clean, Breakfasts were generous and Iain and Jane went out of their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in a well equipped room with large private bathroom and enjoyed a very good cooked breakfast each morning. We enjoyed the fact that there was one large table for breakfast and we could chat to other guests. It is a lovely part of the country and there are plenty of places to visit as the area has many stately homes and beautiful gardens.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This was a birthday present from my sister from last year, and was worth the wait. Lovely location, really quiet, lovely room with gorgeous views. Jane and Iain were very helpful and very friendly to everyone. You do have to sit around the same table for breakfast which at first we were not that happy about but everyone was so nice and friendly we soon relaxed and was nice to hear everyones stories, my other half had the cooked breakfast and I am told it was great, I had the continental which was included, and was great too, more than enough. Would recommend. Tenterden is nearby which is a lovely village with the Kent and East Sussex Railway which is excellent, we went to Bodiam and back on a lovely steam train, well worth a visit.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in didn't have blinds so if you are woken by daylight maybe bring a sleeping...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wigglyworm98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This was our second year at the Bishopsdale Oast in Kent. Iain and Jane are two of the most wonderful hosts and do everything to make you feel welcome. We can't imagine staying anywhere else. We stayed in "The Pine" both years, waking up to the sound of chirping birds and the sight of 15-20 deer grazing in the field each morning. The breakfast is delicious and Jane and Iain make sure you are satisfied before you leave the table. If you are looking for a quiet getaway with lots of things going on in and around the Bishopsdale Oast, then this is the place to stay. We highly recommend the Bishopsdale Oast for your next trip to Kent.

Room Tip: The Pine is our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
2.3 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.1 mi away
Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Wilderness Bed & Breakfast
2.3 mi away
Beacon Hall House B&B
Beacon Hall House B&B
#1 of 5 in Benenden
39 reviews
2.4 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishopsdale Oast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishopsdale Oast

Address: Bishopsdale Oast Bishopsdale, Biddenden TN27 8DR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Biddenden
Hotel Class:4 star — Bishopsdale Oast 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful Oast house in the middle of the Garden of England. Near to National Trust properties, Gardens, Castles and stately homes. Rye, a small fishing port, is a must to visit. Set in 2 acres of wild and cultivated gardens Bishopsdale Oast bedrooms have super king sized beds and the rooms have all amenities plus they overlook a deer park. Breakfast available in the dining room or on a West facing terrace. Dinner available on request but please bring your own wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bishopsdale Oast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishopsdale Oast Biddenden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing