We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our best experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 5 Biddenden B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We have stayed in this B&B for one night only, thankfully. The house in itself is charming, but the rooms are well overpriced for what you get. The rooms are not private, and we could hear the other guests' conversation in the room adjacent to ours. The bathroom is really small and there is no shower. The landlady was not exactly charming, and as soon as we arrived she started explaining her rules. According to one of the rules, check-in is after 5pm and check-out 10am, which is not very flexible. One of the reviewers here on TA has nailed it: "This is my house and we'll do it my way". I cannot recommend.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
5  Thank Lappini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was our second stay at the Tudor cottage and the landlady has made us welcome on both occasions, she is informative and helpful without being intrusive.It is a charming old cottage which is kept spotlessly clean and ideal base for exploring kent. It is also opposite the west house one of the keenest priced Michelin starred restaurants that you will find with delightful food. The village of Biddenden also boasts a lovely pub and a second restaurant so there are plenty of options available.
I would highly recommend the Tudor cottage as a place to stay.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Always made to feel very welcome...our third visit perfectly placed for fine dining at the Westhouse restaurant opposite. Rooms are comfortable, bathrooms small but very clean. Full English breakfast very tasty and whole place full of ambiance and charm.

Room Tip: Try to get the larger double room....but both good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

A friend and I stayed for three days at the lovely Tudor Cottage in Biddenden. The owner Susan made us so welcome and quickly responded to requests and questions. The room was clean and nicely done with the most comfortable beds and comforters. We awoke each morning to a tasty full English breakfast and the best coffee we had in all of Europe! Susan was friendly always. We were able to walk to several places for dinner, plus stores and the village church. We can't wait to return to the inn and the area. We highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We booked the Tudor Cottage as we were eating at the West House as a birthday treat for my wife. It could not be better located for the purpose.
The Cottage itself is a wonderful 400+ year old building that has been sympathetically converted into a Bed and Breakfast and has been furnished entirely in keeping with the age of the building.
Susan is a fine host who is clearly passionate about both her cottage and providing service to her customers. If you want the bored expressioned half asleep staff that work in large chain hotels you will be very disappointed; Susan wants to make sure that your stay is pleasant and welcoming - which she achieves in spades.
I do think that many people miss that a Bed and Breakfast is really somebody allowing you to stay in their home for a fee. As such explanations of the oddities of the front door are entirely appropriate, particularly when you consider the age of the building, so criticisms from others I think are unfair.
We will stay again and I will recommend a stay to others.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We booked Tudor cottage because I had reserved a table at the West House restaurant as a birthday treat for my husband. It proved to be ideal, as it was good to just be able to cross the road home after a good night out.
Our room was clean and tidy, the only downside being the low ceiling in the bathroom, my husband was only able to stand up in one spot. Also, the mirror was placed away from the sink making wet shaving difficult. But, being a Tudor cottage, I suppose that would be difficult to overcome.
Susan was a welcoming host and proved helpful in arranging a taxi for our second evening out,
and telling us about some of the local attractions. We would have liked more choice as to breakfast times and food. Overall good value for money.
There are good walks in the area and the local church was very welcoming and gave us a guided tour. The seat cushion embroideries were fantastic. We were lucky as we were the last people, this year, to be able to do this, as the tours are now finished for the winter. We enjoyed our stay but would probably not book again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 172Janet63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Warm welcome, very clean accommodation, good facilities, a good wholesome breakfast, and a quaint house in a picturesque location. What more could you want for a quiet, relaxing weekend in Kent?Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biddenden
2.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
2.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Bakehouse
The Bakehouse
#2 of 5 in Biddenden
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oak Tree Cottage Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Barclay Farmhouse
Barclay Farmhouse
#1 of 5 in Biddenden
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 High Street, Biddenden TN27 8AL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Biddenden
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Biddenden
Price Range: £92 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tudor Cottage is a delightful bed and breakfast situated in the heart of Biddenden village, surrounded by the beauty of the Kentish Wealden countryside and close to numerous market towns such as Tenterden, Cranbrook and Rye. The property is a wonderful example of original Tudor architecture, dating back to the late 1500's. Standing attractively in the high street, Tudor Cottage combines the character of the period with modern comfort and amenities.Below its beautiful beams and hung tile roof are four well appointed bedrooms, complete with en-suite bathrooms and modern luxuries. We offer a perfect location from which to visit the various local castles, historic homes and splendid gardens in the area. As a guest of Tudor Cottage you are invited to enjoy its restful charm and homely atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Tudor Cottage Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tudor Cottage Bed And Breakfast Biddenden, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing