We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise return”

The Royal Oak Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Blean
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Surprise return”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A year on & I found myself drawn back to Blean.
Pressed for time we popped in fo a quick Lunchtime meal. The Car Park was packed but most related to a table of 10.
We were greeted cheerfully & in no time our order taken & meal arrived.Excellent food, as was the service.
A distinct difference to a near neighbor Pub who operated at their own pace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    49
    8
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT SUNDAY LUNCH”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

I visited for Sunday Lunch with family, Between us we had Roast Beef, Roast Lamb and Roast Pork. Each dish was extremely tasty and well presented by friendly and attentive staff. Two of us also had the Vanilla cheesecake with raspberries and ice cream. Absolutely delicious in all aspects.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Godfrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

A very short and disappointing experience - the sign outside says that food is served every day but apparently not on the day we were there. "Chef's day off" - we were told - not in a friendly or apologetic manner either.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stanley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely village pub with fab food”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Visited The Royal Oak recently as we were staying near by, first impressions were really friendly bar staff, good selection of drinks, lovely beer garden and conservatory.
Decided to book a table for evening meal for 4 of us and we were very very impressed with the food it certainly isn't normal pub quality it was restaurant quality, waitress staff were excellent and very attentive as were all the staff, we were made to feel very welcome as well as our children.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo40_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“local pub”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

the royal oak has been my local for many years has a good restaurant and good choice of local beers in the winter there is a large log fire and a garden for the summer

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rjl38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal Oak Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Royal Oak Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing