We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has potential” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hare & Hounds - CLOSED

Hare & Hounds
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Situated in Blean on the outskirts of Canterbury on the main road to Whitstable,we offer a family friendly attitude towards our guests and provide a home cooked style menu as well as baguettes,sandwiches,salads and a vegetarian option cooked fresh by our chefs Jodie & John.Enjoy our large garden with outside bar and hog roast available for private functions or dine in our restaurant for that special occasion or just a catch up with old and new friends. Ramblers can come and park in our 50+ car park before coming in to rest after there walk,1 of the many walks around Blean even starts in the corner of our car park.Sunday roasts from £9.95 Or 2 course with any starter or dessert is £12.95,Our desserts are all homemade and service is always friendly. We have one of the largest free car parks in Canterbury with a separate function room so it makes an ideal venue for any occasion,be it a wake,birthday,anniversary,christening or corporate with budgets to suit all needs,pop in or give us a call,we are happy to help.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Has potential”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Arrived without booking on a Saturday evening. Pub & restaurant were very quiet. Restaurant appeared very clean but the tables were sticky. A fellow diner commented and was informed that the previous owners had used something on the table surfaces which resulted in the stickiness and they had tried everything to remove the stickiness, to no avail. There is a simple solution: table cloths!!! Sticking to the table was vey unpleasant.
The food was OK, but more home-cooked than gastro-pub, so each course should have been a couple of pounds cheaper really. A more adventurous menu would warrant the prices. A wine/drinks menu would have been nice too rather than guessing what drinks were on offer.
Lovely setting though, so we'll no doubt visit again as it could be a little gem with few minor improvements.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MaxyB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    5
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent pub food and beers.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We're not short of pubs around country serving good food but this is one of the betters ones which we have only recently discovered. After a poor experience with a previous landlord (which was 10 years or more ago - these negative fibes last a long time!) we have tended to simply ignore it despite driving past often. This has clearly been our mistake. The Sunday Roast was generous and well cooked. The smoked haddock was really good. The desserts are largely freshly home made and delicious. Good beers and very reasonable prices to make the whole experience very positive. Extensive garden area if you like sitting in the sun.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“50th Birthday Celebrations. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Recently held my 50th Birthday celebrations here.
The chef Adam did a fabulous job with a great selection of food, which included prawn platters, a great selection of tasty sandwiches, continental meat selection, chicken skewers, spring rolls and olives.
Matt, Tam and the bar staff did an amazing job keeping my guests well "watered" and everyone agreed what a fab night it had been.
Cannot thank them all enough.
Would not hesitate to hold another function here.

Helpful?
Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food shame about the menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Had not been in this pub for a year but as it is only a couple of miles away thought we would give it a go. It was Thursday evening as we were the only couple eating so no atmosphere. The place is a little old fashioned but clean enough. There was a lunch menu on the table which looked good as a pub menu does. We were then handed a evening menu which was all meat but I fancied more pub style food. I asked for the fish and chips but as its on the lunch menu I could not have it. I ended up having a very small starter, my husband had a pie which was huge and delicious. Can't say I am tempted to return, one meal was good but menu poor and bland staff.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SunshineSally007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lunch at Hare & Hounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife stopped at the Hare & Hounds for lunch midweek. The service was excellent and the welcome friendly. The lunchtime menu was not very extensive. We each ordered the cod and chips, which was well presented and tasted marvellous. We will certainly return there soon.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edwin119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hare & Hounds also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing