We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good evening meal - will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Woodcock Inn

The Woodcock Inn
Ranked #7 of 19 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$27
Cuisines: British, Pub, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Very good evening meal - will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited with friends in Feb. Good welcome and a cosy pub. Food was very good. The portions were very large. Will return D&S 21/2/14

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingDSSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A friendly feast of a pub - inviting and characterful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

As many reviewers have also noted the food here is simply well-cooked and delicious. The locals friendly and the bar staff attentive, I ordered cod and chips and a huge beer battered fish arrived on a bed of fantastic thick crunchy chips, My partner ordered the salmon with grapes and crayfish and a selection of vegetables. Fantastic.

This inn is small and traditional. There is a log burner in the tiny bar area whilst the cosy dining area has old photos of the woodcock punters from the 30s. A little gem of a place.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz-m-17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not the experience we'd hoped for”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

In spite of all the great reviews, we did not have the experience we had hoped. Most of our group of 7 women chose to eat a starter and pud rather than go for a full main course for a Sunday lunch. We chose to order smaller meals on this occasion, and their should be no shame in this. However the landlord was scathing of our meal choices (and our decision to not purchase alcoholic drinks, which in itself is disgraceful) saying we might as well have not turned up and we had "lost him money" by eating there. He spoke down to us, loudly and infront of a large number of other customers. It was unfortunately very embarrasing and needless to say, we didn't stay for a pudding. This should have been a great easy lunch in a lovely village pub, but I won't be recommending the Woodcock to anyone in the near future.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank geogspod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food, good service, lovely pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We booked to go to the Woodcock to try somewhere different, and based mainly on good reviews. We were not disappointed in the slightest. As a table of 6 we had drinks in the bar first and were able to go to our table when ready. We all had 3 courses - all different and all delicious. Starters were very well sized and would probably be suitable as a lighter main.
All in all a great experience, we were well looked after and well fed! Would highly recommend!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VB0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went here with friends who go quite often. All the staff very friendly.
Made very welcome and the food was excellent. I had the cod and chips and the chips were the best I have eaten very crisp on outside fluffy inside. Partner had duck which was also excellent.
House wine was good value. Nice old pub and well worth it, would go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Woodcock Inn also viewed

 
Sissinghurst, Kent
 

Been to The Woodcock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing