We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hoospitality but much road noise in Oast House room”
Review of Godwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Godwin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2012

Lovely location in the country, the hosts provided a good english breakfast in their lovely house. We stayed in the Oast House, which turned out to be adjacent to the road. This can be busy with fast moving traffic going past only a couple of feet from the headboard!

The family provided earplugs in the room, which we found to be somewhat ineffective. The amenities in the room were great, though, we have no compaints about the service we received.

We would happily stay there again, but make sure that the Garden Room is booked instead.

Room Tip: Avoid the Oast house room due to excessive road noise
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank docsunil5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

We are really, really sorry for the discomfort caused by the noise outside our oast house. We have taken immediate steps to reduce the level through a major uprating of the soundproofing with the wall being remade. We have taken your comments most seriously and done our utmost to correct the situation.
People do vary in their response to the road noise and for some it is not such a problem. A few days earlier, on 15th May, a previous oast house guest said that he felt 'like a king' in the room, and, like the more recent oast house guests, said he not in the least troubled by the traffic. You can see that review here at the bottom of the list where it is posted by TripAdvisor because it is in Dutch. There is a translation button.
I appreciate that for those who do find traffic noise a problem this is of little consolation and I merely point this out so that those who are less sensitive to noise are not put off. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (149)
There are newer reviews for Godwin House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 134 of 149 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2012

We were really lucky and pleased to have discovered this lovely B&B, where we were made to feel very much at home from the time we arrived. Both Sean and Corrina are lovely hosts - genuinely friendly, hospitable and accommodating. They have put a lot of thought into creating comfortable guest cottages, both well-furnished and well-stocked with a variety of drinks and nibbles…and ensuite bathrooms that are very clean and modern. They serve quite a spread at breakfast - and catered well to our various food sensitivities at the same time. On the day we arrived we were welcomed with hot drinks and a delicious cake baked by Corrina, who also served up another sumptuous one (with a sparkly candle and all) on the morning of our departure, when informed of a birthday amongst us on that day. A winner all round.
Lina, Rowan, Roshin

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We stayed one night in the garden room. Although cold overnight we were warm with extra duvets and even hot water bottles that we didnt need.Breakfast was a treat,particularly the home made bread, taken overlooking the garden bathed in warm spring sunshine. Our hosts were charming and couldnt do enough for us and the room had more than enough extras to satisfy even the most demanding. Very near delightful Sissinghurst I would highly recommend this bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane13CheshireUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We had a lovely stay in the garden cottage, and felt thoroughly indulged and fussed over! It was great to have our own space, enjoy the views from the cottage as the sun came up and then enjoy an absolute treat of a home cooked breakfast. Thank you! Lou & Nick

Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Greeted with warm mince pies and an even warmer welcome, this was a very special stay in the heart of Kent. Sean and Corinna have thought of everything to ensure their guests' comfort and relaxation - they could not be more generous and warm-hearted hosts. The garden cottage is beautifully furnished, drinks and nibbles laid out ready, the bed fabulously comfortable and a bathroom both spacious and stylish. Freshly baked bread and a yummy breakfast set us up for the day, but more than anything, the delights of Godwin House are the hosts themselves. We departed feeling that we had made new friends and, I kid you not, with our next stay booked in the diary.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed the night here on 16th November en route to the channel tunnel and was highly impressed by the place and the genuine kind hospitality of its owners. I stayed in a lovely annex with its own bathroom and more extras than I could shake a stick at. The rooms was beautifully appointed and extremely comfortable and the bathroom with its great shower was modern and very practical.

Overall the place oozed character including the oldest Oast House in the UK which I understand you can also stay in. The hosts Sean and Karina were so kind and welcomed me like an old friend. Breakfast was also fab. Would highly recommend this place to others visitng or passing through as I was.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AonachmorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Sean and Corinna made us most welcome, despite our having brought forward the date of arrival and turning up late at night - we caused more upheaval by also making use of their lovely little Oast House instead of just sharing the Garden Cottage! Breakfast next morning was outstanding (sign that we had been forgiven for all the muddle we caused??). We felt really at home during our 3-day stay and know we'll be back in the vicinity before too long, if you'll have us - just waiting to win our local Rio de Janeiro lottery!! Oh, and thanks for that added touch of smoked salmon with the delicious scrambled eggs!! What more could one want?? Many, many heartfelt thanks to you both and good luck to you.
Marion, Sacha and Marina Zelenoy

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sachok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
321 reviews
5.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
4.8 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
5.6 mi away
White Lion
White Lion
#1 of 11 in Tenterden
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godwin House

Address: Godwin House Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range: £70 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to bed and breakfast at our Tudor home in the heart of the Weald of Kent. Godwin House, is an Elizabethan farmhouse built in 1580 and, set in lovely grounds minutes from ancient Cranbrook and Sissinghurst. You can choose between two luxurious en suite rooms - stylish Garden Cottage or our beautiful, unique Oast House, the oldest in England, a 16th Century building rebuilt in 1740. Garden Cottage with its peg tiled roof and weatherboarding is pure Kentish style. Exposed beams and antique furniture create a welcoming and interesting space, relaxing and private. Godwin’s Oast House is special. There’s nowhere like it. You are in the heart of Kent’s history and rural life but with en-suite comfort,fine furnishings, king sized sleigh bed and mod cons. Breakfast is the best of local produce with home baked bread fresh on the day served in our Tudor Morning Room in the house overlooking the views in this designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Godwin House Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing