We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Godwin House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Godwin House
Ranked #2 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Deutschland, Bayern
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

it was such a pleasure to stay at this B&B! We enjoyed it so much to be there! Our hosts were so helpful, were so emphatic for all our needs (we had lost our camera at Sissinghurst shop) and were so friendly to assist us in any way enjoying our stay at this area. Living in the Oast house is an overwhelming experience! And turnning to life´s reality: our breakfast we had very morning was an event - best we had have during our whole stay in GB: fresh, extensive an dwith a perfect view into a nmarvellous gfarden scenery. Hoping to come back one time to this wonderful place and to this both very very nice hosts

Room Tip: it would be an additional event if you could immerge into the whole neighbourhood - what an atmopsph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clara1195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We agree that the Oast House is a special place particularly if you have a feeling for the past and the traditions of an area. Oast houses are almost the symbol of Kent so you very definitely get Kentish style when you stay in this one - the oldest of all.
Thank you for your kind words - we're glad you got your camera back and we look forward to spoiling you with our breakfasts again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
105
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

this is one of the best B&B I've ever stayed in. The owners are just the nicest people. On arrival we have been treated to fresh scones with cream and coffees and to my surpise none of this was charged extra. The rooms have tin with homemade buscuits which was filled every day for us. Bathroom has toiletries basket, which is one of the best ones i've ever seen, so these little touches made the accomodation extra special. The breakfast - you couldn't have wished for more - absolutely superb. We were also used their season tickets to visit Leeds castle. We have even got a lift and were picked up from the town at the time, which suited us. On arrival the outside lights were turned on as well as the heating, so we have returned to warm room. I can recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miska235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We're so glad to hear you appreciate the little extras we put in. We think those details make a big difference and we try to make it the way we would like it to be if we were staying.
We like to greet our guests with tea and cakes or biscuits and wouldn't dream of charging for our welcome. Of course, since the scones were made by our young daughter we had a good supply of cheap labour!
Thank you for your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This was our third year running staying with our hosts, Sean and Corinna, who live in the
their lovely Tudor house. We stayed, once again, in Garden Cottage with its spacious, warm bathroom and lovely bedroom. Our stay in the area this time included a visit to Ightham Mote, a N.T. beautiful, moated manor house; Scotney Castle, also N.T. and the trustee-run Great Dixter with its inspirational gardens, We also spent several hours walking around Rye, which was fascinating and delightful. This B. and B. is a MUST - especially as, when you arrive tired and thirsty, you are treated to pots of tea and Corinna's home-made cake ..... in the garden, if you so wish. Warm, welcoming and very informed hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindy843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We were so pleased to have you back again - friends returning. We look forward to a fourth visit because despite your busy whizzing about there's still so much to see.
We'll start a croquet league next time you're here - but the children are getting harder and harder to beat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

A wonderful setting just outside Cranbrook with truly individual accommodation and the most charming hosts. We stayed in the Oast with its's tapestries and brass rubbings, it felt like a real medieval experience with more amenities and nice touches than any 5 star hotel. My husband really enjoyed talking to Sean about War history and the history of the house, we learnt what a Ha-ha is!! A huge selection at breakfast and a lift out to dinner and back. Perfect location to explore rural Kent.

Room Tip: Oast is a whole unique experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It was a lively stay, thank you. The conversations were good about windmills and wars and we loved your enthusiasm for the place and the area. You definitely have to come back for a game of croquet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent B&B, great location for visiting the southeast, interesting historic Oast house, nice garden, terrific breakfast, and very helpful and pleasant hosts who directed us to local restaurants and attractions.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It was our pleasure to help you to see as much as you could of this beautiful landscape and to talk about historic Maryland and wonderful American history.
We should be glad to see you back here to show you so much more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Lovely stay at both the Garden Room and Oast House as we visited Sissinghurst and Great Dixter gardens. Sean and Corinne were thoughtful hosts and the accommodation was first rate. Lovely garden and very relaxed atmosphere.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Toni-louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
It is a very gardeny place and we are very lucky to be living here in 'Eden' . It's especially fab in May and June when everything is rushing to bloom. Don't miss it. Come back and see the bluebells like smoke among the trees in the Spring.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just come back from a weekend staying at Godwin House. We stayed in the Oast House which was very comfortable and relaxing. We stayed here to visit Sissinghurst Castle, which is only a mile away, and we managed to beat the queues on a very busy Sunday.

Sean and Corinna are fantastic hosts and made us feel very comfortable throughout our stay. Sean even gave us a lift into Cranbrook for our evening meal on Sunday. We finished off our weekend by strawberry picking (Corinna's suggestion) which was fun.

Highly recommend this place. There is so much to do around the area and the house and garden are beautiful.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Oast House which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean H, Owner at Godwin House, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
We do try to think of everything because it's the details that count but we were particularly glad that we were able to lay on some Italian sunshine for the weekend for you.
You are right there's much to do here but the simple pleasures are sometimes the most memorable - like strawberry picking. You have to be careful not to do what our children do though - eat their own weight in strawberries as they go round.
Come back again next time and we can offer more variety - we've got cherries too (yum) plus there are yet more gardens and fine historic places.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.5 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
313 reviews
5.3 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
4.8 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
7.2 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
9.1 mi away
The Dering Arms
The Dering Arms
#1 of 1 in Pluckley
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Godwin House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Godwin House

Property: Godwin House
Address: Godwin House Tenterden Road, Cranbrook TN17 3PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You are invited to bed and breakfast at our Tudor home in the heart of the Weald of Kent. Godwin House, is an Elizabethan farmhouse built in 1580 and, set in lovely grounds minutes from ancient Cranbrook and Sissinghurst. You can choose between two luxurious en suite rooms - stylish Garden Cottage or our beautiful, unique Oast House, the oldest in England, a 16th Century building rebuilt in 1740. Garden Cottage with its peg tiled roof and weatherboarding is pure Kentish style. Exposed beams and antique furniture create a welcoming and interesting space, relaxing and private. Godwin’s Oast House is special. There’s nowhere like it. You are in the heart of Kent’s history and rural life but with en-suite comfort,fine furnishings, king sized sleigh bed and mod cons. Breakfast is the best of local produce with home baked bread fresh on the day served in our Tudor Morning Room in the house overlooking the views in this designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Godwin House Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing