We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of the best!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hallwood Farm Oast B & B
Ranked #4 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Marsing, Idaho
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best of the best!”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

This is the third stay for me. Sarah is the ultimate in hosting a B & B. She has a real flair for preserving the old oast into a beautiful B & B. She has a real flair for decorating. The bedrooms are spacious as are the bathrooms. There is homemade Elderberry Cordial in the refridgerator that is to die for. It is worth a plane ride over the pond for a taste.
The oast is an old hop dryer, but now Sarah's husband Nigel is in the fruit business. He raised black currents and apples. one of the varieties is an old English cooking variety, Brambly. Sarah made us applesauce from them one morning and it was the best I had ever had.
If you are coming to Kent, this is your headquarters. All the attractions are a short drive away.

Room Tip: Either room, they are both wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roundupready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and it was a fantastic experience. We couldn't have wished for anything better, from the beautiful room with very welcome seating area, comfy bed and spotless bathroom to the wonderful, tasty breakfast. Sarah is the perfect hostess, with lots of local knowledge regarding places to visit and dine. Plus, she also makes the most scrumptious preserves, a selection of which we just had to bring home. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROSIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

In 1990 Sarah and Nigel Wickham took over an almost derelict oast house on a family farm. They created a home to bring up their family, to run a b& b and for Nigel to run his (mainly) fruit farm. It was a great privilege to be able to spend two nights there. All the praise in the other reviews is justified. the farm lies just outside Cranbrook which is a lovely town. The breakfasts were really excellent and catered also for non meat eaters like us. There was beautiful yoghurt, fruit and home made preserves. the room was exceptionally spacious and comfortable. part of the garden was set aside for use by b&b guests. Above all the information provided for guests was the best I have ever seen.Not only a list of recommended restaurants but their menus and a short comment. not only a list of local national trust properties but also a table of their opening times. And also a list of Sarah's personal favourites.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Everything you can think off what you require of a B&B this is it. Sarah is a wonderful host and her place is Beautiful with every last detail thought off. We stayed in the BRAMLING ROOM which was very spacious and with a en-suie which was spacious also with everything you required. Well decorated and a Lovely Place to Stay. Her Breakfast were out of this world and very tasty. The dogs were lovely and friendly and this is a Top Class B&B. This is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Very quite and a Wonderful bed vey cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kalmthout
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Sara is a fine host and will give you the idee of being home. the dogs are a delight. The room was nice decoretat and with a good eye for detail. All was there you need. A relaxing place. Even our little MGA was good taking care of. We could place it under the shed so to keep it dry.
A lovely place to go to for a rest or a nice visit to the steam railways nearby or to the gardens of Sissinghurst.

Room Tip: We had the room at the back and that was perfect. So i think both rooms will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zirconKalmthout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

As Bed and Breakfast owners ourselves, it was a real pleasure to find Sarah and her beautiful home, this is how we would like to find all accommodation when we go away, A comfortable spacious room, with everything we needed and excellent presentation. The en suite bathroom was large and all needs were catered for with a great range of lovely toiletries. Breakfast was served in the dining room, a wonderful selection of fruits and a great choice of delicious cooked breakfast. Sarah and her husband were friendly helpful hosts and nothing was too much trouble.Hallwood Farm is a wonderful place to stay, really helped to give us a great time in this lovely part of Kent. Cannot praise it highly enough, thankyou Sarah.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucks
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2012 via mobile

Our second stay at Hallwood Farm was equally as good as our first. Sarah was an amazing host and her breakfasts were scrumptious. The accommodation was amazing with the most comfortable bed ever. We will be visiting again, a five star B&B (and I am very hard to please!).

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank littlegracie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.6 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
299 reviews
3.1 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
3.5 mi away
T & J Motel
T & J Motel
#1 of 1 in Flimwell
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
7.9 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
3.3 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallwood Farm Oast B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallwood Farm Oast B & B

Property: Hallwood Farm Oast B & B
Address: Hallwood Farm Oast Hawkhurst Road, Cranbrook TN17 2SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hallwood Farm Oast bed and breakfast offers an unique opportunity to stay in a C17th oasthouse, originally used for hop drying. Now converted into a comfortable and spacious farmhouse, there are two en-suite guest rooms. A farm house breakfast is, of course, included in the price. The Oast offers the perfect rural base from which to explore both Kent and Sussex and is convenient for many National Trust Properties, including Sissinghurst Gardens. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hallwood Farm Oast Cranbrook
Hallwood Farm Oast B & B Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing