We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay. Highly recommended.”
Review of Church Gates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Gates
Ranked #10 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at Church Gates for 2 nights as a start of our roundtrip through England. It couldn't have started better. Upon arrival in the squeeky and filled with character b&b, we were greeted by Joe who showed us to our room. Though we initially booked the ensuite, there was a small mixup in the reservation. No worries though, as the yellow room is comfortable and full of character. A few highlights are the great breakfast (Joe is a good chef), intelligent conversation with the hosts and frequenting town characters and some morning reading next to a beautiful flower garden looking out over the church grounds.

The George serves quality food. The Indian restaurant close by is also worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

A really beautiful English B&B with as much character as the B&B owner, Joe. Comfortable and clean, it was like a home away from a home. Joe was an absolutely lovely host and very helpful with any query or giving travel advice. I especially enjoyed the breakfast conversations and will definitely come back again. Thank you for a perfect stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013 via mobile

We wanted to stay near sissinghurst castle and spotted this beautiful b&b on tripadviser. Within two days our hosts, Joe and David, became our friends. This was an unforgettable weekend break. We've already rebooked to go back in November and can't wait to see them again. Thank you for making this weekend so enjoyable xxxx m & m.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We stayed here one night in February. The room was delightful with a very comfortable bed and a lovely attached bathroom. The house itself oozed charm as did our hosts. Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I highly recommend the Church Gates to anyone

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sussexmouette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartford
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This was our second visit to Church Gates, a lovely night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It gives you everything you could wish for in a Kentish village B&B, a quaint and homely stay in the centre of Cranbrook.

Joe and David are fantastic hosts, making you feel very welcome and happily imparting knowledge or where to visit and eat in the area [we can certainly recommend afternoon tea or homemade pie at Hartley Dyke Farm Shop, dinner or a drink at the George, and dinner, drink or post-food cheese and port at the Great House.]

They follow up a fantastic nights rest with a 3 course breakfast, a sumptuous full English with local ingredients being the main feature.

A little more than we would normally pay for a B&B, we believe its well worth it for the experience and we'll certainly be back again.

Room Tip: En-suite recommended for traditional bathing experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We had the 'suite' and although we find it difficult to shower in the bathtub and the warm water supply was a tiny stream, we really enjoyed our stay.
The bed was big and comfortable, the breakfast all you can eat and wish for.
The hosts are very friendly, the location is good. Parking just around the corner.
The George hotel pub 1 minute walk, handy for a nightcap :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We stayed in the twin room with the lovely bath room attached. The welcome was friendly and our charming hosts David and Joe did everything they could to make our stay comfortable.
We hired them for a guided your around both Sissinghurst and The Great Dixter gardens. We learned a lot and filled our cameras with all the beauty!
They recommended Marle Place as a third garden, and what a gem.

The breakfast was fantastic. Fresh fruit salad and a very good full English. Breakfast is always a big joy in good BnBs, and this one was especially good.
The beds were comfortable, the room was big enough and we never heard any traffic noise. The room was filled with new and antique garden books, which was a great treat!

We loved the old house, and the interior. Very tastefully decorated!

We highly recommend this BnB!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blomst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
313 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
The Mermaid Inn
#1 of 9 in Rye
974 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
146 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
3.5 mi away
The Queen's Inn
The Queen's Inn
#1 of 7 in Hawkhurst
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Gates

Property: Church Gates
Address: Church Gates Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Gates is a charming 16th Century historic listed house in the heart of Cranbrook. Joe and David will spoil you with their renowned hospitality, local knowledge and wonderful breakfasts served on Spode china by the inglenook fireplace. Bedrooms have a bohemian air with antique furnishings and views out to the floodlit church tower and medieval Stone Street. Church Gates is conveniently located in the middle of Cranbrook, within walking distance of lively cafes, great restaurants, traditional pubs and speciality shopping. Set in the leafy High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Sissinghurst and Great Dixter Gardens and many other historic attractions are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Gates Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing