We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still open?”
Review of Church Gates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Church Gates
Ranked #11 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Still open?”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Is this place still open? I have been trying to contact Church Gates since the middle of last week. I've made two phone calls, left one detailed message on their answerphone and sent them two emails all to no avail.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Cambridgefamily_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
32
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just back from a two night stay. Everything about Church Gates was perfect for us. The beds and bed linen were comfy and clean, the furnishings and decoration are right up our street, eclectic, interesting, not too 'precious' and visually very pleasing. Lovely little pieces everywhere, lots of gardening books and a real homely feel. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented - everything from the fresh fruit salad, via the awesome blueberry pancakes to the full English was very tasty and perfectly cooked. The house is full of character, not least in the form of Joe and David who could not have been more welcoming, chatty, helpful and enjoyable company without being at all intrusive. Would highly recommend to anyone and hope to come back one day to explore the area.

Room Tip: The ensuite room overlooks the church yard and is bigger but both are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Allen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Unfortunately, we were unable to stay here in the end. But Joe did everything in his power to make amends, even going that extra mile. I sincerely hope we will one day stay here to sample their hospitality. But thank you so much for arranging an alternative, it was much appreciated

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ppw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lombard, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Wonderful old building, floors creaking as you walk down the hall to the bathroom. Breakfast was anything we asked for, conversation with our host was delightful. Cranbrook was a great start to our first visit to England. Sissinghurst Gardens nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After 20+ hours in the air from Melbourne, Australia, my partner, Giuliano, and I left Heathrow and caught a train straight to Cranbrook, and Church Gates. We had five nights and four days at Church Gates and it really felt like a home away from home. The owners, Joe and David, are truly lovely men: kind, welcoming and helpful, yet never intrusive. Each morning when we came down to breakfast Joe (or David, at the weekend) would make a pot of tea. Then Joe would ask us what we'd like to eat. I was a bit of a disappointment to him, I think, as, apart from the first morning, I mostly had cereal, wonderful fresh fruit, tea and toast. Giuliano, though, was more than happy to have a full English breakfast, or part thereof. All the ingredients - the sausages, the bread, the fruit - were excellent, as is Joe's cooking. After he'd cooked our breakfast Joe sat on the sofa and chatted with us (as did David, at the weekend). Giuliano and I had the double room with ensuite (and its deep bath). It was the most comfortable bed of our entire trip. (We later went to Italy). We visited Sissinghurst Castle and Garden, Bodium Castle, Great Dixter house and gardens. And one morning, we were talking to Joe at breakfast about where we'd go and invited him to join us. He took us to Marle Place garden. It was lovely to have his knowledge of the garden to guide us. Now back at home in Melbourne, we remember our stay at Church Gates, and Joe and David, with much fondness. Giuliano and Robyn.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robynzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Appledore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We only had the one night but we could not have been made to feel more welcome by Joe and David.
A lovely room, clean and full of caracter and charm, we also had lovely (perfectly cooked) beakfast. We will definitely come back .
Many thanks Simon & Sharon

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure to stay at Church Gates for 2 nights as a start of our roundtrip through England. It couldn't have started better. Upon arrival in the squeeky and filled with character b&b, we were greeted by Joe who showed us to our room. Though we initially booked the ensuite, there was a small mixup in the reservation. No worries though, as the yellow room is comfortable and full of character. A few highlights are the great breakfast (Joe is a good chef), intelligent conversation with the hosts and frequenting town characters and some morning reading next to a beautiful flower garden looking out over the church grounds.

The George serves quality food. The Indian restaurant close by is also worth a visit.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
0.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
299 reviews
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
140 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Camden Arms Hotel
Camden Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Pembury
282 reviews
5.8 mi away
Dale Hill Hotel and Golf Club
6.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Gates

Property: Church Gates
Address: Church Gates Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Church Gates is a charming 16th Century historic listed house in the heart of Cranbrook. Joe and David will spoil you with their renowned hospitality, local knowledge and wonderful breakfasts served on Spode china by the inglenook fireplace. Bedrooms have a bohemian air with antique furnishings and views out to the floodlit church tower and medieval Stone Street. Church Gates is conveniently located in the middle of Cranbrook, within walking distance of lively cafes, great restaurants, traditional pubs and speciality shopping. Set in the leafy High Weald Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, Sissinghurst and Great Dixter Gardens and many other historic attractions are just a short drive away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Church Gates Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing