We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B and B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just been to a wedding in Kent and stayed at Cloth Hall Oast. What a beautiful place and super B and B it is, and Mrs Morgan is a wonderful host. On booking, when we discussed our arrangements with her, Mrs Morgan suggested that we arrive early so that there would be plenty of time to change and get ready. On Sunday, Mrs Morgan cooked us a good breakfast at 10.30am, as we had said we would sleep in after an extremely late night. Our room - the ground floor roundel, was very comfortable, as was the four poster bed. Mrs Morgan was a charming and informative host throughout our stay, and we hope we shall have the chance to return to stay another day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChezBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    3
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
34
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

Of all the B&B's I have been to in England, I have never felt more at ease and welcome than at Cloth Hall Oast.
In the past few years it has become a regular (and my favourite) stop on trips through England and so far I haven't found its peer.
This is a sanctuary where you are spoilt and where you can rest peacefully.
The lady of the house is warm-hearted Mrs. Morgan. She has been doing this for quite some time and by God, she does this very well!
Sumptuous breakfast, with good English cheese if you are lucky.
Well located to visit interesting places in the area.
Just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We spent two days at this lovely place. Very nice interior and beautifull gardens, including swimming pool. Mrs. Katherine Morgan made us feel very much at home. She is a well of information and told us the best things to see and where to eat. She also let us borrow both maps and descriptions. We followed her recommendations and were not disapointed. If ever we go back to this part of England we will defenitely stay here.

Room Tip: The four poster room on the ground floor is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Egil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have never stayed in Kent before and thought we would chose a traditional oast house. Cloth Hall Oast is a stunning and beautiful building in a beautiful setting and we booked for two days in June.
We sent the deposit as requested but never recieved any confirmation and when I phoned Mrs. Morgan to check she had recieved it she seemed a little confused regarding our stay and wether she had actuallyrecieved our cheque or not.I was a little concerned with this but my husband reassurred me all would be fine.
We had already asked what time we should arrive and was told 'any time would be ok',we arrived around 1pm and the door was opened by Mrs Morgan who invited us in but did not seem to be expecting us. The Oast house interior is magnificent with a beautiful mahogany table dominating the downstairs, unfortunately it was still covered with the remains of the previous residents breakfast and the open plan kitchen area littered with cooking trays ect.
We were shown up to the bedrooms and were taken into a little box room where the bed was in the process of being made, we had actually booked the 'Queen' room which was a much bigger room and Mrs Morgan seemed unsure as to what room had been booked by us. We were then taken into the bigger room where again the bed was not properly made.
She explained that as this was a wednesday no help was available and she had to do it on her own. I quite understood this as Mrs Morgan is in her advanced years and there was a lot to do, I even offered to finish making the bed myself, which she refused.
She then went into the en-suite and procceded to wash the bath out with cold water and a cloth that was on the side.My husband noticed an electric toothbrush and colgate toothpaste by the sink and deodorant on the bathroom cabinet and whispered to me 'someone has left their belongings'. Mrs Morgan whisked the belongings away and left by the bedroom door, my husband needed to use the toilet and as he went to lift the seat, she walked back into the bathroom via another door completely un-announced, he was taken back by this and not too pleased.
When she left again we had a look round the room and noticed that there was no tea or coffee making facilities just a jar of shortbread on one bedside table and a glass on the other. The towels were 'hard and crispy' one of the bath taps apparently had to be held to turn it on as it was loose and the shower curtain, although it matched the curtains, was not waterproof and we would not have liked to get it wet. There ware little bars of soap by the bath, bidet and sink but these had all been used before and there was a selection of random toiletries also by the sink which were clearly from hotels abroad and were very old. The biggest shock was the bathroom cabinet which was full of out of date medication including some prescribed medication for Mrs Morgan herself, some were over five years out of date!
Mrs Morgan made us tea twice with cake and biscuits but these seemed past their best and were a little stale.We were not offered a key or the use of the garden or the pool.
We went into Cranbrook for a while and then came back to the room and decided that we could not stay any longer as we felt very uncomfortable and seemed to be expected to sit in the sitting room rather than relax in our room, which only had one upright chair anyway.
Cloth Hall Oast is a remarkable building with lovely grounds which we would have liked to look around, but we felt that we had to speak in whispers and do as we were told. We were both so very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank hunstanton54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auray
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

I highly recommend this bed and breakfast, not only for its stunning interior and wonderful gardens, including swimming pool, pond and wooden deck, but also for Catherine Morgan, who made us feel so welcome. Mrs. Morgan was really interesting, took a lot of time to tell us what to see, where to eat, how to go there, and her advice was 100% sound. She also gave us the history of the oast and how it was transformed. Reading through the comments, I find it hard to believe that anyone could find her anything other than a wonderful host. We will definitely be going back to see the gardens of Kent at other times of the year...

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Cloth Hall Oast is kept beautifully both outside and in. To enjoy it fully you must be able to appreciate the rare character of the structure with its historical overtones and its beautiful surroundings. We felt fortunate to be there as soon as we drove up to the house. Mrs Morgan introduced herself as Katherine and immediately made us feel welcome. The exceptional workmanship of the building conversion and the lovely gardens are exactly as described on its web page. The weather was sunny and warm and we were invited to enjoy both the house and gardens as though they were our own.
The huge number of nearby historic houses, gardens and other attractions is well known and Katherine gave willing and knowledgeable guidance that we found accurate and invaluable.
Our room comprised the first floor of the oast-house, circular with a large diameter. The bed was very large and comfortable. The furnishings were a mixture of partly modern, quality antique and partly family mementos. The adjoining bathroom was very well fitted with every modern convenience. Plenty of hot water and warm towel rail.
The breakfast was served on a splendid long mahogany table beautifully laid with more than necessary silverware. We ordered a simple breakfast and were served attentively with good food.
Cloth Hall Oast is clearly the much loved home of Katherine and if treated as such will be worth a visit on its own simply to relax and enjoy the convivial atmosphere and civilized conversation.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We chose Cloth Hall Oast b&b from Alastair Sawday's guide 'Special Places to Stay' for our Valentine's weekend away, 11 & 12 February. We booked the room with the 4 poster bed on the ground floor.

Due to bad Friday night traffic, we arrived later than planned & so concerned about inconveniencing Katherine, we rang her ahead of time to forewarn her. No problem at all, she even offered to have some home made stew ready for us which we graciously declined as we wanted to go into the town . We arrived just after 9.00pm, greeted by Katherine at the door and told we could select our room as the two other parties had cancelled. We had specifically booked the room with the 4 poster which we had confirmed in writing and so were a little anxious to think what would have happened had the other guests not cancelled & turned up before we had!

We went out straight away and although we didn't plan to be late, we suggested to Katherine that we might take a door key. She told us that she would be up when we returned but gave us the key anyway. We drove a mile into the very pretty small town of Cranbrook. The only place we found still serving food at that time was Mumtaz Mahal, a good if not pricey Indian Restaurant with very attentive service in pleasant surroundings.

To reach Cloth Hall, a drive off the main road takes you past other buildings, including an Independent School and a magnificent house & estate dating back to the 1400s which had been visited by Elizabeth 1 that Katherine has previously owned. She had lived there for 40 years before selling and converting the Oast House which she also owned on the same land in its derelict state.

The conversion has been lovingly and tastefully done with great attention to detail. Beautiful antique furniture & silver, paintings & ornaments, photographs everywhere of her family and toys for her grandchildren. Constant reminders that first and foremost this is a home and then a b&b.

There are no locks to the b&b bedrooms and you are not as a matter of course given a front door key to let yourself in & out. Our room was spacious and beautifully furnished. One aspect we did not like was the fact that the bathroom (with bath, bidet, toilet & basin) which faces you as you enter the bedroom has no door. Although there is a cloakroom outside the bedroom, we did not want to use this in the middle of the night or first thing in the morning. Also there were no tea & coffee making facilities. Katherine did offer several times to make drinks and although the lounge was lovely, when we are in a b&b we like to spend time on our own relaxing in the room. We found this hard to do.

There were plenty of old guide books & newspaper cuttings in the room and very out-of-date magazines - some 15 years old from IKEA to Vogue!

The bathroom was roomy, with varied toiletries from hotels that Katherine had collected from her travels, perhaps something nearer to home & matching - Yardley or Bronnley would have been more in keeping. There was a rather manky nail brush & loofah which should pehaps be removed.

The bed was comfortable but the heated blanket wire was in the way, we eventually unplugged it. The pillows were very flat and by her own admission Katherine told us they were old and that she needed to buy new ones.

Breakfast was in Katherine's dining room. There was a good selection of cereals and jams all beautifully laid out. Shame though that the orange juice was 'economy', watery & tasteless. Katherine sat down and ate her breakfast with us on the Saturday morning. She was extremely helpful & knowledgeable about all there was to see. She also very kindly gave us free tickets to Leeds Castle (45 minutes away by car).

She is rather a formidable & forthright lady and fascinating to listen to - having worked at Number 10 and met many interesting people. She is clearly very kind & attentive, she likes the company and takes great pride in her home which was spotlessly clean.

We did give her feedback on the bedroom which she took well; she had wanted to keep it open plan, hence the lack of bathroom door - but she will reconsider. The drink making facilities, she is concerned that a spillage will occur and spoil the carpet. She told us others had made the same points.

We walked around the gardens which were spectacular even on a dull, rainy Wintery day. She has an outdoor pool for guests to use in the Summer and there is plenty of space to sit outside.

There is alot to see nearby; Leeds Castle was well worth a visit as were the Pantiles in Tunbridge Wells.

On the Saturday night we ate in the much acclaimed Apicius Restaurant which has a well deserved One Michelin Star - people travel there from all over the country so you need to book well in advance. It is run by a husband & wife team with very attentive service given to the 8 tables. A good menu and very reasonably priced at £31.00 for two courses. We would certainly return.

We enjoyed our weekend and with a few minor changes Cloth Hall would have been perfect.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank awmw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
313 reviews
4.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
146 reviews
9.5 mi away
Flackley Ash Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
5.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
15.7 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloth Hall Oast B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloth Hall Oast B&B

Property: Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Address: Cloth Hall Oast Course Horn Lane, Cranbrook TN17 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cloth Hall Oast B&B Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing