We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cloth Hall Oast B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Ranked #6 of 16 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at Katherine's B&B, having booked in the last minute. The house is very impressive and maintained in really good order. There is an outdoor pool, pond with gold fish and beautifully manicured garden. We were dumb enough to come without a car but Katherine was very kind to drive us to nearby pub at the George Hotel (really good food!) for dinner and to Sissinghurst castle next morning.

We got treated with afternoon tea/coffee, along with Fortnum and Mason sweets, at no additional charge. Overall our experience was extremely positive. We are very grateful for Katherine's kindness and welcoming attitude. Friendly tip: do not come without a car, there are hardly any pathways along the roads so walking is dangerous; train station is far and getting a local taxi can be time consuming especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaskwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second visit to Cloth Hall Oast after a four year interval and once again we were not disappointed. It's a privilege to stay and unwind in a house of historic interest set in the peaceful British countryside. The rooms are very comfortable with that classic English quality feel - we would recommend asking for a room in the round converted oast house itself. Katherine Morgan is a very welcoming hostess and has guests arriving from all over the world. Therefore there is always a breakfast opportunity for an interesting conversation with Katherine or with fellow guests. There is much to explore in this area of the country which include iconic gardens such as nearby Sissinghurst Castle, the RSPB reserve at Dungeness, the home of surrealist artist Roland Penrose, and the historic towns of Rye or Battle. Katherine is keen to help guests get the best out of their visit and does an excellent job in advising on places to visit and good places to eat. We aim to go back with friends..

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunstanton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We spent three wonderful days at Cloth Hall Oast with Mrs Katherine Morgan. The oast house and barn have been beautifully converted into a stunning home set in delightful gardens. Our ground floor room in the oast was large, warm and comfortable with a four poster bed. Katherine was an excellent hostess providing delicious breakfasts. She also proved to be in command in any situation - including rescuing a handbag which we had left in the local pub! Katherine was also very informative about the local area and had many guide books, brochures and maps available. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OAP_Hunstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

We spent just two nights at Cloth Hall Oast & wished we had booked for more. Our bedroom with the four poster was a delight, chintzy & pretty with down pillows. From sleeping just 5 hours a night at home I went the full 8 hours on each of the nights without waking once! Katherine Morgan was an excellent hostess & made us feel so welcome & at ease. Each evening she drew the curtains & turned down the bed for us. The full English breakfasts were very good with tea or coffee served by Katherine herself. There is a beautiful garden complete with pond, water lilies & a little waterfall. We cannot recommend this accomodation highly enough. Thank you Katherine.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs the four poster room is on the ground floor right near the front do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gulliver-Gallivanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We were exploring Kent for the first time and had a delightful 2 nights with Katherine Morgan in her beautiful converted oast house. Our room was lovely, breakfasts excellent and Mrs Morgan could not have been more welcoming and helpful with local advice on places to eat and gardens to visit. We had a most enjoyable stay.
Robert and Janette Shannon

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

We have just been to a wedding in Kent and stayed at Cloth Hall Oast. What a beautiful place and super B and B it is, and Mrs Morgan is a wonderful host. On booking, when we discussed our arrangements with her, Mrs Morgan suggested that we arrive early so that there would be plenty of time to change and get ready. On Sunday, Mrs Morgan cooked us a good breakfast at 10.30am, as we had said we would sleep in after an extremely late night. Our room - the ground floor roundel, was very comfortable, as was the four poster bed. Mrs Morgan was a charming and informative host throughout our stay, and we hope we shall have the chance to return to stay another day.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChezBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

Of all the B&B's I have been to in England, I have never felt more at ease and welcome than at Cloth Hall Oast.
In the past few years it has become a regular (and my favourite) stop on trips through England and so far I haven't found its peer.
This is a sanctuary where you are spoilt and where you can rest peacefully.
The lady of the house is warm-hearted Mrs. Morgan. She has been doing this for quite some time and by God, she does this very well!
Sumptuous breakfast, with good English cheese if you are lucky.
Well located to visit interesting places in the area.
Just perfect.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
15.7 mi away
Eastwell Manor
Eastwell Manor
#1 of 1 in Boughton Lees
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
5.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloth Hall Oast B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloth Hall Oast B&B

Property: Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Address: Cloth Hall Oast Course Horn Lane, Cranbrook TN17 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cloth Hall Oast B&B Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing