We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Base!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cranbrook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Ranked #6 of 16 Cranbrook B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Base!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Had 4 extremely comfortable nights in lovely setting, exploring the beautiful countryside of Kent - our first trip, but we will be back for more! Katherine is excellent hostess, a mine of local information, and we very much enjoyed the company of our fellow guests.
Welcome cups of tea with cake each evening, a heated pool, and a huge bedroom in the oast house made our stay a very relaxing and enjoyable one……Pam and David

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
6
29
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I have known Katherine (the owner) over two years. I have a daughter that studies at a nearby boarding school. My wife, kids and/or I would visit and stay from a weekend to a week.

I just visited last weekend, and as usual, Katherine opened up her house. The pool was the perfect break from the heat. Breakfast sumptuous as usual. Beds and bathroom clean.

Katherine is a superb local guide as well, she knows all the gardens, sights, pubs and restaurants in the surrounding area. Not only does she recommend but often helps with bookings and getting there!

In fact, she often goes beyond call of duty. She even picked up a couple from a restaurant whom did not drive when I was there for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesyKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Myself and my Mam stayed at the Cloth Hall Oast with Katherine (the owner) for the best part of a week and loved every minute of it. The house itself is beautiful with the most wonderfully maintained grounds, it is within walking distance of the village centre or a drive of 5 minutes so is very conveniently placed.

Katherine was the most accommodating host, she booked us tables at restaurants, was a wealth of knowledge on the area and was very entertaining to listen to as she's had the most interesting life of anyone I've ever met!

The beds were very comfortable and we felt completely relaxed and at home. We will definitely return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LornaMoore2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Kent is a most beautiful county and we had a wonderful time exploring it (Sissinghurst, Battle, Charleston, Great Dixter...) using Katherine's beautiful home as a base. She is the kindest and most generous of hosts, nothing was too much trouble, not only booking us into a couple of very nice restaurants (Milk House and Apicius) but also taking us there and picking us up afterwards. Interesting and fun fellow guests, a reflection of Katherine's own interesting life, made breakfast a real pleasure. House spacious and comfortable and we slept very well on comfortable mattresses and down filled pillows. The pool was really nice too

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

For a weekend in glorious English countryside, Kent is a hidden gem. And Cloth Hall Oast is itself a gem, hidden down a private drive leading to a sunny barn owned by Katherine Morgan.
A much travelled quintessentially English lady, she provides spacious, comfortable accommodation and makes you feel more like a house guest than a paying guest. To describe it as a B&B is an understatement. With 4 acres of beautiful gardens, a heated outdoor pool and a large pond filled with exotic fish, it’s more like a small luxury hotel but without an evening meal. No problem there though, because there are gastro and Michelin star restaurants aplenty, all within 20 minutes’ drive.
Having lived in the area for over 50 years, Katharine is also a fund of knowledge of beautiful castles, towns and gardens to visit.
Traditional, yes, but Cloth Hall Oast’s somewhat chintzy décor contributes to the sense of a byegone age where courtesy, comfort and refinement combine to provide the ideal haven.

Room Tip: Request a room in the Oast House section of the barn. The ground floor room is spacious and features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dodgeman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

We stayed for two nights at Katherine's B&B, having booked in the last minute. The house is very impressive and maintained in really good order. There is an outdoor pool, pond with gold fish and beautifully manicured garden. We were dumb enough to come without a car but Katherine was very kind to drive us to nearby pub at the George Hotel (really good food!) for dinner and to Sissinghurst castle next morning.

We got treated with afternoon tea/coffee, along with Fortnum and Mason sweets, at no additional charge. Overall our experience was extremely positive. We are very grateful for Katherine's kindness and welcoming attitude. Friendly tip: do not come without a car, there are hardly any pathways along the roads so walking is dangerous; train station is far and getting a local taxi can be time consuming especially on a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iaskwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This was our second visit to Cloth Hall Oast after a four year interval and once again we were not disappointed. It's a privilege to stay and unwind in a house of historic interest set in the peaceful British countryside. The rooms are very comfortable with that classic English quality feel - we would recommend asking for a room in the round converted oast house itself. Katherine Morgan is a very welcoming hostess and has guests arriving from all over the world. Therefore there is always a breakfast opportunity for an interesting conversation with Katherine or with fellow guests. There is much to explore in this area of the country which include iconic gardens such as nearby Sissinghurst Castle, the RSPB reserve at Dungeness, the home of surrealist artist Roland Penrose, and the historic towns of Rye or Battle. Katherine is keen to help guests get the best out of their visit and does an excellent job in advising on places to visit and good places to eat. We aim to go back with friends..

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Gordon_0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
1.0 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Cranbrook
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
4.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
5.7 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Field Green Oast Bed & Breakfast
3.5 mi away
Bishopsdale Oast
Bishopsdale Oast
#1 of 6 in Biddenden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wilderness Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloth Hall Oast B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloth Hall Oast B&B

Property: Cloth Hall Oast B&B
Address: Cloth Hall Oast Course Horn Lane, Cranbrook TN17 3NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Cranbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cloth Hall Oast B&B Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing