We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant hotel.. Bad bar experience”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2014

The room (Mandarin) was pleasant. Found the bed comfortable, although it was a little hard. We were able to check in an hour or so early which was great. We weren't troubled by any noise as other reviewers have suggested, and we had a 2 year old with us.. She is a light sleeper and was not disturbed.
Breakfast was great, especially the full English. Piping hot and served promptly. However the food service the previous night was poor. We chose to eat in the bar and ordered as soon as the kitchen opened at 6. At 6:45 after enquiring where our food was we were told our order had not gone through, and also one of the items we ordered was no longer available. V disappointing and frustrating especially with a hungry 2 year old. We had no choice but to reorder as no other restaurants were open. Our food finally arrived at 7:25. It was pleasant enough, but the long wait had left a sour taste! No apologies either.. Hopefully this was a one off as the hotel was great in other respects

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3chimpos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

Just spent a week at the George whilst working at a local school 16th -20th December
We found the hotel staff to be helpful and cheerful we were alway greeted with smiles when we returned from a hard days work.
The rooms were clean and well equipped with all needs catered for, nice big telly, nice powerful shower and tea and coffee replenished every day, if we had one moan it would be the beds were very hard, this may just be our rooms but when you are use to a soft bed at home this perhaps felt worse than it probably was.
Food at the George was very nice indeed although when working on a tight budget (4guys away working) we were slightly restricted in what we could choose from , but what we did eat was was served hot , good potions and with a smile, breakfast is served in the main restaurant which was nice to see as we could not afford to eat in there at night (budget restricted) a good selection of food from Full English to scramble eggs and salmon,the hotel bar gets very busy at night with locals and residents it has a very good atmosphere it really does have a mixed bag of customers younger and old from deferent walks of life.
The hotel has good parking facilities out the back, it's a tight gap to get into as long as your carefully you may only loose one wing mirror
Cranbrook it self although full of character however it does have very limited eating establishments, one Indian ( if you do go tell them to add some spice in the food we found it very BLAND) one Chinese take away only and a kebab house and that's it's.. Very poor for a town of this size.
Summing up on the George .. Great Hotel , Great friendly, talkative , smiling Staff , well equipped rooms , food very nice , bar drinks good selection of bitters and beers .

We will return when our work takes us back down to Cranbrook

Thank you to all the staff that looked after four blokes away on business

Room Tip: Always chat up the receptionist it's always worked for me ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank awayalotboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights on business, the staff are friendly and helpful. I was shown to my room and noticed that I was above the kitchen extract or fan which creates a heck of a hum but was assured that it would be turned off as soon as service stopped in the restaurant which it did. But the staff couldn't of made anymore noise if they tried with what sounded like shutting/slamming of doors. The room itself was nicely furnished with a lovely bathroom, the bed fairly comfy so once all the shennanigans downstairs finished I slept fairly well. It was just aswell I was up for work at 7am as the extractor fan fired up bang on 7. I dined in the restaurant one evening and although the food was pretty good there wasn't enough of it for a growing lad like myself and it was not cheap. The hotel itself is a lovely building in a great little town, the bar is pretty busy most nights and seems to be popular with the locals. All in all not bad but could be alot better.Oh yes forgot, the breakfast service is painfully slow if you want to get away for work.

Room Tip: Don't accept room near kitchen, too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smudge1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

On our 2 previous visits the food was average at best but on this occasion we were wowed! Chicken liver parfait was one of the best I've ever had, the wild duck special cooked perfectly. Service was good, nice personalities- helpful and bubbly. Hoping this wasn't a one off, but we will see on our next visit.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank J88jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

After eventually finding hidden car park & reception our case was taken up to room. The wonky stairs complete with suit of armour set the scene for this quirky hotel.We were in room 1 a feature room called The Mandarin, with a duck knocker!
Dark red wall, large wooden bed & lots of beams, a large room but with a small bathroom. Plenty of toiletries & bottles of water were a nice touch. We were warned about hum of extractor fan outside which we were told would go off at 9.30pm sound didn't bother us, but could bother some.
Lovely meal in bar. Breakfast quite slow, waiter's second shift & first shift on his own for chef, saying that, a pleasant young man & lovely breakfast.
Ate in restaurant, both impressed with meals, wonderful calamari.
Only negatives for stay, not full size bath, I found bed hard ( husband thought it ok) & not enough lighting in room, frosted windows so does need some brighter lighting.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neesie50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

My wife and I stayed here the night before our wedding , the arrival booking in was chaotic and unprofessional , room was ok budget hotel standard .evening meal average if over priced the Portuguese waitress was full of character and a delight more than making up with personality what she lack in skill and training , the other staff including the young manager were cold and indiffrant ,the room "welcome book tells the Hotel was once called an INN , that is more truthful as at best this is a pub with rooms ,the use of tacky armer and google style picture of queen Elisabeth 1st and Monty were a little bit embarrassing ,Disney would be proud ! Maybe it fools or impress the tourist ? The breakfast on the day of my wedding was the worst I have ever been served in my entire life , chef Adam excelled him self with cold overlook food then left under not so hot lighs ,including the fried eggs until they were unedabel ,then served on cold plates with toast so untoasted it was Luke warm ,when we informed the waitress she ,was told that how we do it normally . The table behind us also complained ,we choose to leave with the waitress entering the kitchen shouting out Adam these are moning as well .we booked out with No one asking if our stay / experience was ok . Sorry just seemed a haphazard place needing a real manager / chef .

Room Tip: Very colourful paint used in our room , poor lighting
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kent G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed Saturday night on a visit to Sissinghurst Castle. This is a great old coaching house and has lots of character although our one night stay with dinner was quite expensive for what it was. On the positive side, the staff were all very helful, the room was clean and the food in the restaurant was great. My only negative comment is don't get the room over the kitchen - they have fitted double glazing but the hum of the air extractor is still audible and opening the window is not feasible.

    • Value
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank TimAsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
155 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
13.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cranbrook
The George Hotel Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing