We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpleasant management”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The manager of this hotel is unpleasant, unwelcoming and does very well to kill off any kind of atmosphere in what would be a nice pub. Food and drinks are over priced and the fact that such an unfriendly person should be incharge is absolutely astonishing. This is not from a one off stay but from a number of visits, until recently as I now much prefer to go to the other pub in town (The White Horse). New management needed urgently!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chile_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2014

I had a excellent one night stay, the staff were soo friendly and could not do enough! The athmosphere in the bar for a Tuesday night was brillant and the locals are a very friendly bunch! Had one of the best racks of lamb I have tasted in a long while! Could not find any faults at all

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryMc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We booked for a one night stay.

The good things- the staff were really lovely and helpful. The lovely girl who booked us in couldnt have been more helpful and friendly.The bar was buzzing and full The room was clean (ish more of that later), lovely breakfast and good price.

The bad things- the room was small. The kitchen ventilation unit was outside and was very noisy. That said it went off at 11.30 ish and it was then very quiet. Unfortunately it came back on at 6.30.

The shower in the bathroom was all powerful with lots of lovely hot water and great toiletries. However despite probably being updated not long ago, the bathroom looked tired. The sealant was black in places, the ceiling had paint peeling (due to the shower), the bath was chipped and the floor grout was missing is several places. All of this is down to poor design which was a real shame.

They also seemed woefully under managed. We had eaten out at lunchtime so only wanted a snack dinner, luckily, as we were told that they had run out of lots if things from the menu. They were full, however this was a Saturday night, surely their busiest of the week and assuming that they are prepared to be busy? Also what were they going to do for Sunday lunch? There was only about 5 or 6 mans to choose from anyhow, so why had they run out of anything? Pudding choice was treacle sponge or ice cream. I suppose you could have had treacle sponge AND ice cream to add a third choice! The starter we had was nice but yes expensive. £17 for soup and baked Camembert.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sare2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here with friends to do a tour of NT properties in the area. Comfortable, very good breakfast, relaxing dinner with good choice on the menu. One or two small issues with our room which Duane the deputy manager soon resolved. Star performer and very visible. Excellent value and staff friendly, helpful and welcoming. I'd recommend this and would stay here again. Well done Duane.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank FreoJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

As a regular guest of The George, I have always enjoyed my short stays in this medieval setting of a hotel. I find its staff, whether its receptionist and/or waitresses, to be friendly and courteous. I particularly like its full English breakfast, included in the price. While I wait to meet someone or for the taxi to take me to Staplehurst's train station, the atmosphere in its lounge area is warm and congenial. Free wifi, too. Its brasserie menu is more than suitable in comparison to its pricier dining room counterpart.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room in the original 14th-century building for a full medieval immersion, versus in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie-Noelle12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Excellent hotel for a quick break in Kent, room lovely and clean, staff excellent and friendly, will Defintely go back. be aware limited parking out the back of the hotel bit plenty of parking up the road.

Room Tip: try to avoid rooms over the main pub, fire doors quite noisy late at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enfieldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
152 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
12.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel
12.0 mi away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#4 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
900 reviews
6.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £61 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cranbrook
The George Hotel Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing