We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Godwin House(Cranbrook)(Great Value!)
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
T & J Motel(Flimwell)
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Weald of Kent Golf Course & Hotel(Headcorn)(Great Value!)
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anand Lodge(Royal Tunbridge Wells)
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveller rating
127
113
50
30
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
113
50
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscrimson roomhigh streetlambhistoric hotelcoaching innbooked this hotelbreakfast was includedold buildingfour poster bedevening mealstayed for one nightpoached eggsfull englishvery pleasant staycomfortable roomssissinghurst castleheather
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The George is a venerable place. It's Georgian frontage conceals a medieval building that talks to you all the time.
Talks? - it's really the floor boards that creak and crackle, groan and (for those beneath) cause groans.
Queen Elizabeth was welcome to Cranbrook at the pub in 1573, but it was old by that time.
Now owned by Shepherd Neame, the country's oldest brewer, the hotel serves a fulkl English breakfast usually cooked in the full English style. That's bacon that could repair leather shoes, beans that are cold, runny poached eggs and wrinkled mushrooms.
Muesli is advertised but I never saw it offered.
For all its failings (the car park is cramped and usually has a couple of staff vehicles parked in there) it has a quaintness and a welcome that really is genuine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear. Stone Street is noisy and the hotel doesn't have double glazing.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gl8246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018

Stayed for three nights at this quaint little hotel which was originally an Elizabethan building. The owners have managed to retain much of the olde worlde style with its dark oak beams, open fire , high ceilings and narrow stairs. I traveled with a friend and we booked two separate rooms which I think were also designed to accommodate two people so we had plenty of space and my friend even got the four poster bed! The hotel does not have a lift so I took the higher room on the top floor at the top of a narrow flight of stairs....so the rooms above ground floor would not be accessible for anyone with a disability. Both rooms were clean and well appointed with good bathrooms and showers, tea and coffee facilities etc. Beds were comfortable; a feature often overlooked in my experience but we were disappointed that our rooms were not serviced after the first day. However this was remedied when brought to the attention of the manager. Both of us were at the front of the house which was quiet except for the refuse collection on Friday morning. Breakfast was included in the price and was of excellent quality with plenty of choice and freshly prepared.....setting us up for the day. We had dinner there on two evenings choosing from a menu which read more impressively than it delivered but was pleasant enough . The hotel has a cosy bar at the front of the house and it was a pleasure to arrive back in the evening and sit comfortably with a good glass of wine. All of the staff were pleasant and welcoming and did a good job all round. The purpose of our stay was to visit Sissinghurst Gardens and since we weren't driving we needed somewhere accessible. The number 5 bus travels through the village at hourly intervals and brought us to our destination and our railway link. Since we had no time constraints we were able to fall in with the slower pace of rural life and soak up the atmosphere of both the hotel and the village. One small criticism was access to WIFI facilities which were provided through the cloud and only worked sporadically and not in our rooms. Would we recommend it? Yes definitely if you have the time to enjoy it.

Room Tip: Go for lower floors if you have any mobility issues
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bermb2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Stayed for one night in Room 11 at back of hotel which was quiet. Room not big but opening windows and decent shower. Very old building with suits of armour etc. Lovely efficient staff. Car park for 11 cars at back of hotel. 12 rooms in hotel. Liked the evening meal. Breakfast choices were excellent, eggs benedict etc.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dreamer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2018

Had a business lunch at The George Hotel in Cranbrook High Street. The Baked Monkfish was excellent. A Chef's special at £15.95 and well worth it. A very generous serving of monkfish (which is an expensive fish to buy) served on a creamy broth with mussels. Very tasty indeed.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2018 via mobile

Property was very tired, room was a good size.
Wasn't made to feel that you were a valued customer and felt security wasn't high on the agenda.
Had dinner in resturant again a little disappointed dessert wasn't good.
Would we visit again definatly not.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank 1chooseylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews