We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good local hotel”
Review of The George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The George Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2010

I got married in my home-village very near to Cranbrook, as such we needed accommodation for guests. The George hotel obliged and all 12 rooms were booked by our guests for 2 nights. My now, husband and best man also stayed here the night before the wedding, and we returned together for our wedding night! The hotel is lovely and full of charm, it's also a very popular local. Reports from the family were that the food in the restaurant was lovely.
Having looked at a number of the rooms, I'd say the ones in the oldest part of the hotel are the best and have the most space/character.
The Crimson room, with the 4-poster was lovely and had all the amenities we could need. The bathroom let's the room down a little, it could feel more 'special' and the black and white doesn't altogether go with the red and gold in the bedroom. It was also very hot in the room (not outside!) and so had to have the windows open all night. Not an issue but there were night time road works going on which were noisy (not the fault of the hotel of course!).
Only other downside was the speed of service at breakfast. Some people were waiting over an hour on the morning of the wedding for it! Not good when you're in a bit of a hurry to get ready etc... It was a bit better on the Sunday morning.

Altogether a lovely place. Pricey, but good.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2010

Cranbrook is an exceptionally pleasant town, full of vernacular Kentish architecture, a nice church, a windmill, interesting houses, blooming cottage gardens, art galleries, a Michelin-starred restaurant and The George, a classic coaching inn once visited by Elizabeth I. It all says England loud and clear. There is good sightseeing in the vicinity, including the legendary gardens of Great Dixter and Sissinghurst, and it’s convenient for the Channel ports and tunnel.
The George is currently owned by the brewery, Shepherd Neame, and has undergone a makeover in recent years. Thus the buzzy downstairs bar area has a smart look, the original staircase is impressive and there’s also an outdoor wisteria terrace, overlooking the cramped and grotty car park and now the smokey outpost of lung cancer’s future victims.
We stayed for one night in Room 11, called Oyster, which overlooked the car park. The room was modern, apart from a vast wardrobe, and the bathroom was clean, with a decent shower in the tub. There were no tissues (a benchmark for me) and the wastepaper basket still had the previous occupant’s detritus, though this was nothing more unsavoury than yesterday’s Daily Mail. The bed was comfortable and it was quiet, until 3.30am when the heavens opened. Above the room a broken gutter forced the rain like Niagara on to our roof, making sleep impossible. Maintaining these old buildings is a never-ending battle with money and materials.
We had dinner at Apicius, the Michelin-starred place a few doors up the road. This is a delightful restaurant, though the timid flavours, some corner-cutting and obvious portion control might annoy next year’s Michelin inspector if he’s had a sleepless night. So we did not sample dinner at The George. Breakfast offered one of the meanest buffets I have encountered, overcooked scrambled eggs and stewed coffee. However, for £95 B&B this must count as good value and the overall charm of the place and the friendliness of the staff completely won us over.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

We stayed at The George for one night on our gastro journey around the southern counties. We stayed in the room in the picture on this site - the one with the four poster bed and deep red coloured walls. The pub has some great history. Althought our room was at the front it was surprisingly quiet, althought it wasn't a Friday or Saturday night so I don't know if that makes a difference. The staff were extremely pleasant and engaging from the moment we arrived. The food in the dining room was excellent, and the experience overall very enjoyable. If in the area we would definitaly stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Balmainiacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Last minute booking over the phone whilst on a business trip to Maidstone.Staff very helpful and friendly. Really good food cooked with care and attention. Extremely good beer and extremely comfortable bed!!! What more can you ask for in life ! Possibly someone to share it with but I was working. Cranbrook is a lovely place to stay and The George sums up what is great about independent , cared for and well run hotels. Will definitely stay again if I have the opportunity. It seems very well situated to explore Kent. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorthernTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2010

Just returned from a night at The George, very dissapointed as was nt advised when booked that there was a wedding reception being held ther all day and into the early hours! this meant we had no use on the restaurant in the day time nor one of the bars. Greeted by James took us to our Oyster room , not a superior room by any standards, not a king size bed as states, toilet was dirty - had to request it be cleaned!! Room was small and overlooked the back yard of the kitchen which was full of over flowing bins of black rubbish sacks. Woken at 1am by noisy wedding party in room next door. However food in restaurant was very good quality with a lovely menu, as was the breakfast.
The room was a bit expensive at £120 per night so dont think will be returning. There is very little to do in Cranbrook it is a very small village with a couple of eating places. Couldnt gey any signal on mobile phones anywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EssexJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

I stayed 4 nights on a business trip and ate in the restaurant twice. I had one of the more modern, smaller rooms on the back rather than the traditional larger ones on the front. This suited me as bit was a bit quieter. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and the prices reasonable. An all round great stay and I will definitely be going to the George again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harryesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2010

This is a nice boutique hotel with some great history. Situated in Cranbrook, Kent, this hotel is now owned by Shepherd Neame Brewery, but still has lovely charm and great staff. It only has 12 rooms, but every room is invdivdually decorated and has it's own name (We stayed in Mocha room).

At night we ate in the restaurant and the food and wine were superb and the staff and service were second to none! We will be back and hopefully with some better weather next time.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hospidium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cranbrook
3.5 mi away
Star & Eagle Hotel
Star & Eagle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Goudhurst
156 reviews
6.7 mi away
Little Silver Country Hotel
6.6 mi away
London Beach Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Mermaid Inn
12 mi away
Tudor Park Marriott Hotel & Country Club
12.8 mi away
The Spa Hotel
The Spa Hotel
#2 of 14 in Royal Tunbridge Wells
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Hotel

Address: Stone Street, Cranbrook TN17 3HE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Cranbrook
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cranbrook
Price Range: £59 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
George Hotel Cranbrook
The George Hotel Cranbrook, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing