We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apicius

Apicius
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Cranbrook
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$78 - US$78
Cuisines: European, British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“We had a wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I booked less than a week in advance and very luckily ( cancellation) got a table for my mother and I ( Mothers day). We got very lost and arrived at the restaurant over 1 hour after the time that the table was booked for ( my husband kept the restaurant informed that we were going to be late)
When we finally arrived we were shown to our table and were treated absolutely wonderfully by the owner. They didn't rush us to order or eat and made us feel very comfortable as we were very embarrassed for arriving so late. The restaurant is very small, I think maybe 20-30 covers maximum. The atmosphere is casual and very comfortable, not at all snobby or prissy. The menu has 5 choices for starter, main and dessert so not a huge selection which we found very nice. The food is beautifully presented and tasted delicious, the desserts are the best I have ever tasted anywhere. The price was extremely reasonable considering this restaurant has a Michelin star, everything was lovely and unhurried. I will definitely return and highly recommend this restaurant to anyone wishing to have a special lunch or dinner.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen332London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    20
    8
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We were invited here by friends, who are regulars, for a special birthday meal, and what a unique dining experience it was. Minimalist, unpretentious decor and simple, classic table layouts. The food was quite superb, with amazing flavour combinations and each plate was a pictorial delight. Very reasonable prices too for a Michelin starred restaurant. The added bonus was the quite delightful front of house (wife of the chef), who was a joy to talk with. A low key and subdued operation but a must to return. The only complaint was that we were a little cold, and there didn't seem to be any radiators. Absolutely brilliant though.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laurence R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Birthday treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We haven't been here for many years, but it was every bit as good as we remembered it.
The restaurant itself is understated, quite small, and has an intimate feeling about it.
The service is perfect; friendly and attentive. I had the ham hock to start, monk fish tail for main and a date sponge for pudding. It was all fabulous, but, and I'm not a dessert person, the pudding was to die for. It came with a sauce that was like bonfire night in a tiny jug, some fruit and pistachios, it just worked so well.
We won't leave it so long next time!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ppw16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mayfield. uk
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Every aspect of our evening at the Apicius was great.. service, food and atmosphere was spot on. Really enjoyed it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ostone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

A brilliant restaurant with wonderful food at very reasonable prices. We were able to book a weekend lunch just a week in advance. We were looked after very well by the staff, including helping with my dietary requirements and providing a candle for my partner's birthday. Altogether a brilliant experience and we will definitely be going back - the best restaurant in the area by a long way.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClaireM186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apicius also viewed

 

Been to Apicius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing