We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and Tranquil”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welsh Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
“Welcoming and Tranquil”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We celebrated out silver wedding anniversary at the Welsh Hills Inn, and really had a great stay. Jeff and bobbi could not have been better hosts and the ambiance, accomodations, grounds, food and nearby town of Granville were everything we hoped for. We will look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Derwen Del room which was spacious, has great views.
See more room tips
Green Features: We enjoyed their picnic lunch which was packed in re-usable containers and included recyclable bottles.
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
101
367
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delaware, Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was rather weary about staying in a B&B. Bobbie made me feel very at ease and comfortable. Their home is beautifully decorated and so full of charm. Everything is top quality in the construction of the facility to the sheets on the bed. ****An absolute must is the private dinner for two. The BEST dinner I have ever had. It was bought fresh that day from the farmers market. Every touch was made with love. It was an honor to stay in your B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killbuck, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Aaron and I came for our second anniversary, and it was a lovely get-away. Jeff and Bobbie made us feel very welcome, and they have also perfected the art of giving you space when you want it. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. And we had fun swimming in the pool, and hiking the trails. We also were intrigued by Granville, it is such a friendly, quaint town. One thing I just loved was coming home at night.....they always turned down the beds, turned on the lamps and put out a little snack. We recommend the Inn 100%.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LallaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The curving driveway leading up to this lovely Inn set the tone for our stay: beautifully landscaped grounds amidst surrounding pastoral countryside and rustic farmland. It only got better as the afternoon drew on. After we met Elli, divine golden retriever, and Bobbi gave us a tour of the exquisitely decorated rooms, we had wine and cheese on the little screened porch attached to our suite.The sounds of an impromptu bit of Mozart, played by a talented guest on the piano in the living room, provided a perfect touch to our cocktail hour.

Celebrating our October birthdays at this lovely Inn, we had booked the Berlian Glyn King suite, where we'd planned to have a private candlelight dinner on the porch. But as the sun set, and the fall weather turned brisk, we were cozily settled inside and served a delicious meal which was only matched by the marvelous breakfast the next morning (served on the porch) both cooked to perfection by Jeff.

Like other guests we were enthralled with the Ohio art and the antiques this couple has collected over many years, and enjoyed examining their extensive and broadly-based selection of books. (My dream is to go back for several days of walking the trails, playing bocce on the court, and reading in the rocking chair on the porch or in the hammock at the foot of the rolling lawn.) But it isn't just the setting, or the wonderful food and warm hospitality that Bobbi and Jeff provide. For us, it was the amazing attention to detail that is apparent in every aspect of this wonderful Inn, from the anticipation of the guests' comfort to all the tasteful, elegant, and often serendipitous touches noted throughout the Inn.

And all of this was capped off by finding rather neat hostess gifts to take away with us: singular jams made by a local business, The Black Radish Creamery. How does "Parker" (Grilled Ohio Peaches with a touch of Cayenne and a Glaze of Sailor Jerry Spiced Rum, Molasses, & Vanilla Bean) sound? It's yummy on toasted multi-grain bread! Although we live near by, on what has been called the most beautiful college campus in the world (Kenyon College), there is nothing there that can provide the charming and refreshing respite we found at The Welsh Hills Inn. We will be back.

Room Tip: The deep Italian tub in the Berlian Glyn king suite is almost as good as the adjacent steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We selected the Inn for a birthday get-away, after reading the great comments on-line. Even after reading the rave reviews, everything far exceeded our expectations.

The property is perfect for an inn, and has been beautifully decorated. Every where we looked there was an interesting object, or a lovely piece of art. It's the perfect combination of lovely, warm and comfortable. Our room was spotless, had plenty of space, and many thoughtful details.

Bobbi and Jeff are in the right business! Their hospitality was also perfect. They are gracious, and warm, and accommodating without being invasive. Every suggestion they gave us for places to visit was great.

The food was delicious! We loved both breakfasts, and hardly needed lunch either day. The wine and cheese, and evening treats were all great too. Loose-leaf tea and are available all the time, and the specialty loose leaf teas were a real treat.

We enjoyed seeing Denison's campus, browsing the shops in Granville, and walking the Inn's property as well as Denison's bio preserve, which is just minutes from the Inn.

Don't miss the Village Toffee if you are there at the right time of year. Best ever!

We like to stay at inns or b and b's when we travel, and The Welsh Hills Inn really shines in every way. We highly recommend it, and hope to return too!

Thanks again, Bobbi and Jeff!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Just returned from an incredible 2 night stay at this absolute treasure of a B and B! We were visiting Denison with our 18 year old daughter and decided to try the Welsh Hills Inn. We arrived quite late in the evening after a very long drive from Chicago. We were welcomed into a cozy, beautifully decorated inn.....move over Irving Berlin! Our bedroom suite was luxurious, fabulous bedding, wonderful bath! The art collection alone was worth the trip. Spectacular views greeted us in the morning and we enjoyed exploring our surroundings on foot. Loved the late afternoon roaring fire and a glass of wine. Our hosts were so gracious. This place even comes with a beautiful, well behaved dog named Ellie! Perfect!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were given a two night stay for the Inn. It is a beautiful setting and a very peaceful get-away spot. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The common areas are beautifully decorated and there is a terrific art collection throughout the house. The breakfast each morning was excellent. The owners( Bobbi and Jeff) are very welcoming . A special thank you for sharing their sweet dog, Ellie with us. Highly recommended .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3.0 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
3.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Heath-Newark
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welsh Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welsh Hills Inn

Property: The Welsh Hills Inn
Address: 2133 Cambria Mill Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welsh Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welsh Hills Inn - Relaxation Redefined. Awarded the 2013 and 2016 Ohio B&B/Inn of the Year by the Ohio Hotel & Lodging Association. For 2016, The Inn received the Explore Licking County Impact Award as their Lodging Partner of the Year. Enjoy one of the country's premier, picturesque bed & breakfast inns nestled on 15 wooded acres in the beautiful, rolling Welsh Hills amidst the equestrian and alpaca countryside. Rated the #1 Accommodation in the U.S. by TripAdvisor in 2015. Winner of TripAdvisor's prestigious Travelers' Choice Award for five straight years 2013-2017 - including being rated #4 in the World for 2017. Over 5,600 sq. ft. of lodging with wide plank heart-of-pine floors, five large guests rooms (including two suites), spacious bathrooms, antiques, oriental rugs, extensive original artwork, heated outdoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art hot tub, outdoor fireplace, hiking trails, gorgeous perennial & annual flowers, stocked fishing pond, lighted clay bocce ball court, outdoor table tennis & darts, et targshooting ranges, fine wines, massage/spa services, and The Inn's wonderful, gourmet Signature breakfasts. Private, candlelight dinners available. Relax to a simpler time and feel the stress melt away at The Welsh Hills Inn. Relaxation. Redefined. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Welsh Hills Inn Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing