We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once again, another wonderful stay at the Welsh Hills Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welsh Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I wanted a little getaway for our anniversary. I had been to the Inn the previous year but he had not been yet. I had certainly built the place up to him, but still, he was very surprised to see the beauty of the Inn and the surrounding area firsthand. Bobbi and Jeff were gracious as usual and gave up delightful chocolates in our room. The room we stayed in was so comfortable and the bathroom was clean with exquisite granite counter tops. We took advantage of the pool since it was a beautiful day in Granville. It was so nice to just sit and relax at such a well cared for B&B. It was as though we were staying at our "rich" friends' house! Our stay certainly came to an end much too quickly, but we will most definitely be back next year!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahSpeez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Welsh Hills over Thanksgiving – our third stay – and the visit was as wonderful as our previous stays, with a couple of new touches. The Welsh Hills Inn looked as lovely as always, the room couldn’t have been cozier— from snacks and libations (including that amazing artesian well water) to lovely music and a down comforter and mattress to die for. We felt our every need had been anticipated. What really makes the place unique, though, is the warmth and graciousness of our hosts. Picture this: it’s late on Wednesday night before Thanksgiving, we’re preparing for an early exchange of family Christmas gifts and are taking piles of boxes and wrapping paper up to our room, and Bobbi and Jeff insist that we set up in front of their fire so that they can help! Who does that?? As other reviewers have noted, the hosts strike a perfect balance between giving you the run of their magnificent and spacious home on the one hand and chatting like old friends on the other.

When we arrived at WHI, my wife quickly spotted a selection of local art work (pottery and glass), teas, soaps, and other items for purchase at the Inn. We were pleased to see how reasonably priced. Bobbi took note of the items my wife liked; on the morning of our departure we found that she had set them aside for us, and she carefully packaged all of them to withstand the trip home. As always, we left WHI incredibly relaxed and happy. We can’t recommend the house and its owners highly enough.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PFM4941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We celebrated out silver wedding anniversary at the Welsh Hills Inn, and really had a great stay. Jeff and bobbi could not have been better hosts and the ambiance, accomodations, grounds, food and nearby town of Granville were everything we hoped for. We will look forward to visiting again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Derwen Del room which was spacious, has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was rather weary about staying in a B&B. Bobbie made me feel very at ease and comfortable. Their home is beautifully decorated and so full of charm. Everything is top quality in the construction of the facility to the sheets on the bed. ****An absolute must is the private dinner for two. The BEST dinner I have ever had. It was bought fresh that day from the farmers market. Every touch was made with love. It was an honor to stay in your B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Aaron and I came for our second anniversary, and it was a lovely get-away. Jeff and Bobbie made us feel very welcome, and they have also perfected the art of giving you space when you want it. Our room was beautiful and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious. And we had fun swimming in the pool, and hiking the trails. We also were intrigued by Granville, it is such a friendly, quaint town. One thing I just loved was coming home at night.....they always turned down the beds, turned on the lamps and put out a little snack. We recommend the Inn 100%.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LallaMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

The curving driveway leading up to this lovely Inn set the tone for our stay: beautifully landscaped grounds amidst surrounding pastoral countryside and rustic farmland. It only got better as the afternoon drew on. After we met Elli, divine golden retriever, and Bobbi gave us a tour of the exquisitely decorated rooms, we had wine and cheese on the little screened porch attached to our suite.The sounds of an impromptu bit of Mozart, played by a talented guest on the piano in the living room, provided a perfect touch to our cocktail hour.

Celebrating our October birthdays at this lovely Inn, we had booked the Berlian Glyn King suite, where we'd planned to have a private candlelight dinner on the porch. But as the sun set, and the fall weather turned brisk, we were cozily settled inside and served a delicious meal which was only matched by the marvelous breakfast the next morning (served on the porch) both cooked to perfection by Jeff.

Like other guests we were enthralled with the Ohio art and the antiques this couple has collected over many years, and enjoyed examining their extensive and broadly-based selection of books. (My dream is to go back for several days of walking the trails, playing bocce on the court, and reading in the rocking chair on the porch or in the hammock at the foot of the rolling lawn.) But it isn't just the setting, or the wonderful food and warm hospitality that Bobbi and Jeff provide. For us, it was the amazing attention to detail that is apparent in every aspect of this wonderful Inn, from the anticipation of the guests' comfort to all the tasteful, elegant, and often serendipitous touches noted throughout the Inn.

And all of this was capped off by finding rather neat hostess gifts to take away with us: singular jams made by a local business, The Black Radish Creamery. How does "Parker" (Grilled Ohio Peaches with a touch of Cayenne and a Glaze of Sailor Jerry Spiced Rum, Molasses, & Vanilla Bean) sound? It's yummy on toasted multi-grain bread! Although we live near by, on what has been called the most beautiful college campus in the world (Kenyon College), there is nothing there that can provide the charming and refreshing respite we found at The Welsh Hills Inn. We will be back.

Room Tip: The deep Italian tub in the Berlian Glyn king suite is almost as good as the adjacent steam shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We selected the Inn for a birthday get-away, after reading the great comments on-line. Even after reading the rave reviews, everything far exceeded our expectations.

The property is perfect for an inn, and has been beautifully decorated. Every where we looked there was an interesting object, or a lovely piece of art. It's the perfect combination of lovely, warm and comfortable. Our room was spotless, had plenty of space, and many thoughtful details.

Bobbi and Jeff are in the right business! Their hospitality was also perfect. They are gracious, and warm, and accommodating without being invasive. Every suggestion they gave us for places to visit was great.

The food was delicious! We loved both breakfasts, and hardly needed lunch either day. The wine and cheese, and evening treats were all great too. Loose-leaf tea and are available all the time, and the specialty loose leaf teas were a real treat.

We enjoyed seeing Denison's campus, browsing the shops in Granville, and walking the Inn's property as well as Denison's bio preserve, which is just minutes from the Inn.

Don't miss the Village Toffee if you are there at the right time of year. Best ever!

We like to stay at inns or b and b's when we travel, and The Welsh Hills Inn really shines in every way. We highly recommend it, and hope to return too!

Thanks again, Bobbi and Jeff!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
127 reviews
3 mi away
Historic Buxton Inn
Historic Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
83 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Small Batch Lodging
Small Batch Lodging
#2 of 5 in Granville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welsh Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welsh Hills Inn

Address: 2133 Cambria Mill Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range: £90 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welsh Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welsh Hills Inn - Relaxation Redefined. Awarded the 2013, 2015, and 2017 Ohio B&B/Inn of the Year by the Ohio Hotel & Lodging Association. For 2016, The Inn received the Explore Licking County Impact Award as their Lodging Partner of the Year. Enjoy one of the country's premier, picturesque inns nestled on 15 wooded acres in the beautiful, rolling Welsh Hills countryside. Rated the #1 Accommodation in the U.S. by TripAdvisor in 2015. Winner of TripAdvisor's prestigious Travelers' Choice Award 2013-2017 - including rated #4 in the World for 2017. Over 5,600 sq. ft. of lodging with wide plank heart-of-pine floors, five large guests rooms (inc two suites), spacious bathrooms, antiques, extensive original artwork, swimming pool, hot tub, outdoor fireplace, hiking trails, gorgeous , fishing pond, bocce ball court, outdoor table tennis & darts, shooting range, massage/spa services, and The Inn's Signature breakfasts. Relax to a simpler time and feel the stress melt away at The Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers so you can book your The Welsh Hills Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welsh Hills Inn Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing