We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Welsh Hills Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Far exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

What a special birthday treat for me and my mother. Innkeepers Bobbi and Jeff are delightful, and have created a genuinely warm, personable, and thoughtful B&B experience. There were so many extra special touches that went well beyond what I've typically encountered with most B&B's. Their home is lovely, and very welcoming, and immediately you feel right at home. It was so much fun to browse all the common rooms & shelves, and find family photos, antiques, local artisans wares, interesting and eclectic artwork, etc, and to hear some of the interesting stories behind these finds. Both inside and out, you can find numerous spots to just sit back and relax, and enjoy the serene countryside views. And the food, oh my... Jeff has some pretty amazing culinary skills. Not only were our breakfasts beyond delicious, we were also awed by a lovely, intimate, gourmet, candlelight birthday dinner that we had added to our stay. We were immensely impressed from start to finish, and are already contemplating when we are coming back !!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Repurposedraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    548
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
103
372
15
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grove City, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My husband & I have been staying at B&Bs all over the country for 27 years, & we both agreed that Welsh Hills Inn is certainly one of the best ever, if not THE BEST. Everything was absolutely wonderful, especially the ambiance (of the entire inn), the fabulous front porch (where we sat & read our books while we drank their special tea blend-the lemon crème is delicious), the beautiful grounds (great for quiet reflection), the food (we only ate breakfast there, but wished we had booked a dinner!), the massages (we had a couple's massage in the pool house) & especially the owners, who were so gracious & welcoming. We live within an hour of this place, but even if we lived further away we would definitely be back. For 2 people who work long hours, this was EXACTLY what the doctor ordered. We give it our highest recommendation & can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful. The big suite is amazing, though, and if I ever can stay in there I will!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeggyM614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Painesville, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have done many B&Bs over the years but The Welsh Hills Inn is simply the best we have experienced! The moment we pulled in we were pleasantly greeted by Ellie, a beautiful Golden Retriever and everything that followed was perfect. Our hosts were great and their entire facility was first class in all regards. Our room was very comfortable and was nicely decorated. The entire house is beautifully appointed and we could have spent many hours admiring and enjoying the treasurers that Bobbi and Jeff have collected and decorated with. A delicious breakfast sent us on our way too soon but we will return to enjoy the many amenities and comforts of this special B&B again (including their famous dinners) .Dawn & Bob Dawson, Perry - Ohio

Room Tip: We stayed in the Derwen Del Guest Room upstairs. It overlooks the pool area and a large portion of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macedon, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband surprised me with an overnight visit to the Welsh Hills Inn for my birthday. After hearing about it from our son and daughter-in-law, we arrived with high expectations. It did not take long to realize those expectations were going to be surpassed many times over in this "country inn" nestled in the rolling Ohio hills. From the warm welcome and tour by Bobbi to the candlelight dinner prepared by Jeff, our stay was simply divine. The decor is stunning, and we enjoyed soaking in the ambiance as we watched gentle snowflakes falling outside the wall of windows. Thank you, Bobbi and Jeff, for the way you cared for us during our stay. You said when you began this venture that your goal was to try to treat people the way you would want to be treated. We commend you on your success in achieving that goal for we could not have asked for anything more. Our best wishes and hopes that many find their way to your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len_and_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Returned for our second visit to the Welsh Hills Inn last weekend. Just as magical as the first. Is there an award for most gracious hosts? No detail is overlooked. This charming Inn relaxes and re-energizes. We will return as soon as we can.

Room Tip: We've always stayed in Derwin Del -- just lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfort, Ohio
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

After such a wonderful time at Welsh Hills Inn with my girlfriends a couple of years ago, my husband and I returned to celebrate our anniversary. The Inn is as lovely as ever and Jeff and Bobbie the very best of hosts. We would highly recommend a visit for any occasion- we will be certainly be back. Hopefully soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We've been to numerous bed and breakfasts around the country and in Europe. Welsh Hills Inn is THE ONLY ONE that perfectly combines delicious food, the most beautiful decor, a serene setting, attention to detail and the most accommodating hosts.

My husband and I decided to visit Welsh Hills for a quick weekend getaway. Because we had read the excellent reviews and noted their Tripadvisor awards we had very high expectations...we were not disappointed. We are ecstatic that this gem is only an hour and a half away from us. We will be back.

Upon arrival, Bobbi provided us a tour of the home, grounds, and our room--thoroughly explaining how to run the television, thermostat, etc. I immediately noticed the beautiful artwork and rugs, murals on the walls in the entryway, classical works of literature throughout the inn. This place is a class act. Refined yet so comfortable and welcoming--not at all pretentious.

We spent the afternoon relaxing--drinking lemonade in the rocking chairs on the front porch. We took advantage of the private dinner the Inn offers and we highly recommend you have dinner at the Inn! This was the best meal (and experience) we had all weekend! Jeff is a terrific chef and we felt like royalty with our private, candlelit dinner. The quality AND quantity went beyond our expectations. My husband commented that he felt like we were at our favorite restaurant but had the entire restaurant to ourselves.

After dinner, Jeff and Bobbi asked if we had any big plans the next day. Due to my marathon training, I had to get in a 20-mile run the next morning. They spent a good ten minutes providing directions for us to get to a nearby bike path AND asked if we needed breakfast to be moved to a different time to accommodate our schedule (!) We, of course, took advantage of this and as soon as I got done the next morning (spending almost 3 hours running in the freezing cold), I was met with warm coffee, orange juice, and delicious french toast covered in berries and a bit of whip cream. That just made my day! They were always looking for ways to make your stay special.

Long story short--you can tell everything Jeff and Bobbi do is a labor of love. They truly enjoy welcoming guests in their home and helping them have an exquisite experience. This sincere couple has found the perfect balance of hospitality--providing the right amount of information to enhance your stay in Granville and creating an environment at Welsh Hills to make you feel as though you are staying in your "second" home.

I'm already planning on going back this summer.....and we just got back today!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_farmers_wife54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3.0 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
112 reviews
3.0 mi away
Buxton Inn
Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
56 reviews
4.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
6.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newark-Heath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welsh Hills Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welsh Hills Inn

Property: The Welsh Hills Inn
Address: 2133 Cambria Mill Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Welsh Hills Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welsh Hills Inn - Relaxation Redefined. Awarded the 2013 and 2016 Ohio B&B/Inn of the Year by the Ohio Hotel & Lodging Association. For 2016, The Inn received the Explore Licking County Impact Award as their Lodging Partner of the Year. Enjoy one of the country's premier, picturesque bed & breakfast inns nestled on 15 wooded acres in the beautiful, rolling Welsh Hills amidst the equestrian and alpaca countryside. Rated the #1 Accommodation in the U.S. by TripAdvisor in 2015. Winner of TripAdvisor's prestigious Travelers' Choice Award for five straight years 2013-2017 - including being rated #4 in the World for 2017. Over 5,600 sq. ft. of lodging with wide plank heart-of-pine floors, five large guests rooms (including two suites), spacious bathrooms, antiques, oriental rugs, extensive original artwork, heated outdoor swimming pool, state-of-the-art hot tub, outdoor fireplace, hiking trails, gorgeous perennial & annual flowers, stocked fishing pond, lighted clay bocce ball court, outdoor table tennis & darts, et targshooting ranges, fine wines, massage/spa services, and The Inn's wonderful, gourmet Signature breakfasts. Private, candlelight dinners available. Relax to a simpler time and feel the stress melt away at The Welsh Hills Inn. Relaxation. Redefined. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Welsh Hills Inn Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing