We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B&B Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Orchard House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 5 Granville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Finally! This is what a B&B should be, other establishments should take note.

The proprietors (Don and Andrew) are beyond hospitable and friendly without being intrusive. Because they live in a separate house behind the B&B you have a ton of privacy. Even with other guests around, the rooms are still very private (and clean) and the house is big enough to accommodate all.

The house itself is beautiful and smartly decorated. My husband and I truly felt special because of our surroundings and the way we were treated. The complimentary wine and cheese hour was a perfect way to unwind before dinner, and breakfast was tasty (the eggs were taken right from the hens that morning!). Beyond that, there are all the little 'extras' like baked goodies, a keurig with an assortment of teas and coffees, a mini fridge, ice maker and water cooler at your disposal 24/7.

We loved being able to walk the property and feed/pet the many farm animals! You're in the country but centrally located to Granville and other areas of interest so it doesn't feel like there is no where to go.

I could go on and on. This was a great weekend getaway and I would recommend to anyone who needs a reset.

Room Tip: The Whitman room was fabulous. It almost felt like a mini apartment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you normally don't like bed and breakfast establishments, this is the place for you. The hosts really let you enjoy your privacy. After a quick, warm welcome you are not bothered again. They will be there again when you come down for breakfast. When we came in from our walk outside to see all the amazing animals there was a lovely bottle of wine waiting for us and a terrific assortment of artisan cheeses along with some scrumptious homemade raspberry jam that has a hint of white chocolate liqueur in it. Our room was spacious and had a private bathroom and upper deck (the Whitman room) We also had the romance package which included a bouquet of fresh flowers, a bottle of champagne and a box of locally made chocolates. This really made it extra special, I highly recommend it. The nearby town of Granville is charming, we had supper at the Mexican place which was superb (blacked ahi tuna) and then went for dessert to the Granville Inn (also divine, creme brulee) where there was also live music. Hocking Hills State Forest is only an hour south and is breathtakingly beautiful with some great short trails that are well worth doing. This was an unexpected stop for us and I hiked in a dress and sandals and my husband was wearing flip flops and this was not a problem. My kind of hiking! Beautiful caves and cliffs and waterfalls at the end of each hike. I would love to come back and stay here again.

Room Tip: We only saw the Whitman room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacomina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I can't sing enough praises about The Orchard House Bed and Breakfast. The hosts are extremely accommodating, the rooms are large and beautifully decorated and the entire house is very clean. I personally love the antiques that are well positioned througout the house. The beds are comfortable and the freshly made breakfast is prepared at the time you request. The grounds are beautiful and guests are encourage to stroll the grounds. The farm experience was fun for the both of us and i can imagine that children would really enjoy petting and feeding the friendly rescued animals.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

The farm experience is worth while --especially for kids and families. Be warned that the goats and sheep jump up on you to get the food--like a dog would--no harm--but you will get dirty.

Very nice hosts, comfy bed and linens. Our room had a bath down the hall--but very quiet and private.

Great, homemade breakfast, wine/cheese and fresh baked cookies.

Room Tip: Review which has the hallway bath--you need a robe to get to just THAT one (of the three)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Wonderful B&B with comfortable rooms, excellent furnishings, and fun farm animals. Loved the decor--I'll be checking out the antique store run by the owners. Large common areas are a real plus: Guests can relax in three large areas on the first floor, and also enjoy the outdoors, in addition to their rooms. Hosts Don and Andrew are very welcoming and happy to accommodate special requests!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My boyfriend and I recently came to the B&B for a weekend. The house is beautiful and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. The wine and cheese hour was a nice way to get to meet the others that were also staying. I would definitely recommend The Orchard House to others!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adpresser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were offered a night's stay as I am a veteran and we thoroughly enjoyed it. We were tucked away from everything but close enough to enjoy what the area had to offer. The place is very lovely inside and nice and quiet. They had treats made for the guests and a very nice wine and cheese hour and selection. Breakfast was terrific, too!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottandLizGaffney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Granville
3.5 mi away
The Granville Inn
The Granville Inn
#1 of 2 in Granville
126 reviews
3.4 mi away
Historic Buxton Inn
Historic Buxton Inn
#2 of 2 in Granville
83 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cherry Valley Lodge
Cherry Valley Lodge
#3 of 3 in Newark
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Newark Granville
9.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newark Ohio
2.8 mi away
Small Batch Lodging
Small Batch Lodging
#2 of 5 in Granville
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orchard House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orchard House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4058 Columbus Rd, Granville, OH 43023-9628
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Ohio > Granville
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Granville
Price Range: £108 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Orchard House Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on 12 beautiful acres of farmland outside the Village of Granville, Orchard House Bed and Breakfast blends timeless farm style with the modern comforts of today. Our gourmet breakfasts are locally sourced and highlight products from central Ohio farms and businesses. Whether you decide to walk the grounds, feeding the animals and collecting chicken eggs, or explore the local downtown, Orchard House is prepared to make your stay as relaxing as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Orchard House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard House Bed And Breakfast Granville, Ohio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing