We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveller rating
40
23
7
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
23
7
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain buildingrecent renovationslove historydenison universitymodern amenitiesstaff was friendlycoffee makerfirst floordowntown granvillebed was comfortablecherry valleyhaunted
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 90 reviews
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Had a very nice time in the basement tavern. Great cozy atmosphere. We just had appetizers but they were excellent. The entertainment was a couple from Columbus singing and playing the guitar. They were perfect, good background music for conversation but not to loud. Looking forward to going back

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank kpay2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Thats Great! We are glad you liked the live music. We will continue to host musical guest's periodically. Including this coming Saturday, Nov 18 from 8-10 pm. "Hey Neighbor" will be the musical guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday and so I booked this room at The Buxton. We usually always have stayed at the Inn across the street but wanted to try The Buxton. It was the noisiest night ever spent in a hotel/Inn. We were so disappointed in the room and the level of noise. We had dinner and brunch at the Inn and they were very good. But the room was lacking for sure.Towels that offered no absorbent quality at all. Cold water at the sink was barely a trickle. But the worst was the noise. Paying $187 for one night and you cannot even sleep is not acceptable at all. When we mentioned the noise to the staff they inquired if anyone had warned us of this noisy room. We told them nobody had said a word to us when I booked it. I feel that it is very unprofessional not to warn potential guest of this problem. While we loved the Inn and the history and the dining, I certainly cannot speak well of Room 10!

Room Tip: Do not book room 10.
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank joann1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Joann -
We understand your concern regarding the noise in room 10. Room 10 was an original room to the Inn dating back to 1812. For a period of time it was a dining space but due to customer desire to have access to more original sleeping rooms we converted it back to it's original use. The location of the room, over the lobby, can lead to noise. We try to always make sure our guests know the location of the room before booking but it looks in this case that did not happen. We will use this as an opportunity to review with our team. On a good note though you loved the history and the dinning!! Hopefully, you will give us another try...perhaps a different room??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

We have stayed there many times. Love the atmosphere. Wonderful dining room and staff. Beautiful town in the fall! We had one very rude occurrence with front desk. We stayed in a room with two double beds and only one chair. We inquired at the front desk that, having stayed in this room before, there were usually two chair. A person standing at the desk stated “Well, sometimes we move things around.” And that was all she had to say. No offer to bring another chair. My friend stated “ I guess I’ll just sit on the bed”.. no reply. It’s amazing that one unprofessional person can change your whole perspective. Other than that, we enjoyed our peaceful stay...no unseen guests made themselves known this time. Happy Halloween!

Room Tip: Did not stay in main inn but in one of converted houses across courtyard
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ljmroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you for your review. We are glad that The Buxton Inn is a place you keep coming back too. We apologize for your experience at the front desk. Perhaps she didn't know you were requesting a second chair? Regardless we will use this as a teaching tool.

Thank you again and look forward to seeing you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We were rather disappointed in our stay at the Buxton Inn. The Inn is clean, quaint, and charming, the decor is lovely, and the staff is nice. However, the room we stayed in (Pearl St., room 4) was on a slant. The head of the bed slanted downwards so your head was lower than your feet and even the toilet was slanted. We ended up repositioning ourselves to sleep at the foot of the bed. It made for a very uncomfortable night's sleep- not what you expect when you've paid $200 for a room. Our dinner was also very mediocre. I ordered surf-and-turf, which translated to filet and a crab cake- no lobster tail. In short, everything seemed overpriced for what we got.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2017

Michelle -
Thank you for taking a second to review us. We are glad that you found the most important things to be true that the inn was clean, quaint, charming, lovely decor, and a nice staff. While we have never had the complaint that the bed is slanted in PSH 4 we will look into it and see if there are any adjustments we can make.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

Though this historic inn is purportedly haunted, only benign and thoughtful ghosts seem to reside here. I can't figure out why but I slept better than I have in years. Though the reception area smells a bit musty, our rooms did not. They were a pleasant mix of antique furniture, beautiful chandeliers, and renovated bathrooms. It was very quiet except for the faint sound of the fountains outside, maybe the explanation for my pleasant slumber. My one request is for more plush towels. Otherwise, we definitely enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank lovestotravel013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jennifer V, Manager at Historic Buxton Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. We hope to see you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews