We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find By The Seaside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“A Great Find By The Seaside”
Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have stayed many times at Dunkerley's and I can only speak as I find. Yes, it's all a little tired, but I don't think Ultra Modern and "minimalistic" would suit that type of quaint seaside run hotel. The staff and service were faultless which only goes to show that their training by the management must have been top-notch.

Each time I have dined there, the food has been wonderful, and surprisingly good for what you think would be old fashioned and 'stayed', since this is the image the hotel presents. The rooms are ok, some better than others, some have air-conditioning now which is a blessing. The bathrooms are ok too, although extremely small (where's my cat?)

My regular loo inspection gave the hotel a pretty grim 3 out of 10. The loos (in particular the ladies) are a very important part of going out to dinner and us girls like a little luxury in a modern area with hooks for handbags both inside and outside the cubicles, after all, we have to do our lippy and stuff surrounded with a dry area and space. So I would really like to see this area modernised. Think fluffy small hand towels, or soft paper ones, liquid soap, hand cream....

A welcome return each time I visit and if anyone says the food's expensive, remember, you get what you pay for. Quality, quality quality!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORDELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    77
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
128
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid September for my birthday, we stayed on a deal that was offered including bed, breakfast and evening meal. The hotel was of a reasonable standard, rather tired and in need of general renewing in places, that having been said the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A pity the hotel didnt have parking as we had to park in the library carpark opposite, not a problem but a bit concerning having to leave the car there overnight. We booked our evening meal and on arrival at the restaurant were shown to our seats, the table next to us was a group of 5-6 diners average of 60-75years, I couldnt see to easily without turning to look, when we were initially seated I was glared at for having to squeeze past them but they made no attempt to move, to start with they were loud but as the evening went on we were totally appauled of the language coming from them, one diner mainly who must have been the oldest of the constantly swearing using "fxxx" at the top of his voice!!! In a restaurant like this it was not expected and the waiters made no effort to have a polite word with him. The food in the restaurannt was fantastic, one of the best meals we have even had, but this memory was totally ruined by the people at the next table, their language was of the type I would have expected had we been sitting next to a group of teenagers in McDonalds, not a restaurant of this quality. Such a pity!

Breakfast was reasonable, but a little suprised that we had to ask for more coffee and were not asked if we would like more toast, things that are usually offered in other places we have stayed.
All this said it was a lovely place to stay, but the memory of the other diners in the restaurant have left us a little sad

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely and had duel aspect sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chathamcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night to attend a 'family gathering'. Every aspect from booking to check out was efficient and enjoyable. The very friendly and professional staff displayed a real pride in the hotel. This was reflected in the pleasant decoration and and provision of generous in-room facilities. We did not dine at Dunkerley's on this occasion but have done before. The breakfast was more that satisfactory, fresh and delicious. I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to visit the town, be it for fishing,golf or just relaxing.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Snowlizardkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Dunkerley's was selected at the last minute when we decided we wanted to stay closer to the Dover-Calais ferry. Even tho I wasn't terribly excited about paying 120GBP for bed and breakfast, accomodation was scarce, so we chose Dunkerley's based upon the very positive Trip Advisor reviews .

Alas, I cannot agree with the 4 and 5 star comments. The hotel is very average, but it charges premium prices because of its proximity to both the beach and the Dover port.


Pros:
Good location almost directly opposite the pier
Excellent, comfortable mattress (at least in our room, #12)
Double paned windows to eliminate street noise (which pretty much ended after midnight)
Friendly, helpful staff

Cons:
Not handicapped accessable: No lift and very steep steps to rooms
Dated bathroom needs a a good clean
Hinges (which automatically close) on room doors sound like the Gates of Hell opening, and which can be heard down the hall
Horrible pillows
No face cloths in bathroom - for GBP120, I'd expect a full compliment of towels
Breakfast was mediocre. In addition to a poached egg that was hard boiled, it was missing the croissants and other baked goods promised on the menu. Some tables lacked basic cutlery, cups, and plates.
No on-site parking. One must park in a nearby lot which on weekdays and Saturdays charges 1GBP per hour and limits time to four hours.
Walls and carpet in reception area and breakfast room (the restaurant) are rather grubby. The adjacent toilets reek; I could smell the men's room from the sitting area near the reception desk.

Next crossing, we'll plan ahead and - hopefully - stay somewhere with better value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pcsqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Well done to the staff of Dunkerley's! Its amazing what gem's you find in this quaint little town of Deal!
A beautiful location perfect for a quiet stroll along the front past the boats and the gorgeous Deal Castle or for a walk up the pier!
Upon arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist who was nice enough to get a young man to carry our luggage up to our room.
We then sat and had a delicious kentish cream tea off of the menu in the bar, outside on the terrace. This was swiftly followed by a cheeky bottle of champagne at only £22! The afternoon couldn't have been lovelier especially overlooking Deal pier! The flower displays were obviously well looked after too some of the best flowers along the front outside the Kings Head, Dunkerleys and Channel View guest house!
The room's cleanliness was spot on, Bed very comfortable with tea,coffee and hot chocolate in the room and fresh towels in the bathroom and Bath mats just like any found in any other hotel you would stay in!
The dinner in the evening was absolutely devine! Served by polite young waiting staff. It was relaxed not too long a wait but not too fast so we could still enjoy the evening. My friend ordered the hot Lobster seafood platter which was as promised with so much shellfish to offer and I had the Fillet steak which I must say was one of the best I'd had yet. Such attention to detail throughout the meal in the evening was definitely recognized!
One of my favourite parts of the evening was sat in the bar for coffees after dinner and meeting Ron. Definitely a character and an asset to Dunkerley's!
We are so pleased we found this place and will definitely be back!
To anyone looking to book a hotel for a night or two take it from me this is the place, I would disregard any negative review as its nonsense! and come and find this out for yourselves!

Room Tip: As there are no lifts due to the way the building has been built I would book a lower floor if you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherrydclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We walked from Dover to Deal and this was our destination.

The room was a bit small (so it had a small double) But don't let that put you off, friends were upstairs in room 14 and had a larger bed. We were in the Signalman (4) and it had a sea view, but the windows were very dirty (including bird poo) and when we opened them they had cobwebs in the section between the 2 windows (double glazed).

The room itself was clean though.

We ate at the bar for lunch and then the restaurant for dinner. The lunch was normal pub food but the dinner was great. 3 course meal, very impressive with a great bottle of wine.

Would recommend it, but the price was a bit too high.

Room Tip: The upper rooms seemed bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retired_backpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I travelled with two girlfriends from London for a short break and we just loved the place. The staff were so friendly and accommodating and the food was absolutely amazing. Two things that are sadly frequently lacking in the British hospitality industry

We have all been lucky enough to experience some of the best hotels/restaurants around the world and so are well-qualified, I think, to make a fair judgement. The rooms were comfortable and very clean. Irons/ironing boards, coffee/tea making equipment, hairdryers were provided.

The food was just wonderful. In fact, the sea bass was one of the most enjoyable meals I have ever eaten. Many London restaurants could learn a thing or two from these guys. Everything was fresh, well-cooked and tasty...salt and pepper not required. Breakfast was perfect and nothing was too much trouble. Little details such as linen tablecloths and butter in pots rather than packets made a difference. My egg was cooked to perfection and the choice was superb.

One evening we stayed up late in the bar and were aware that we were keeping the barman up. We apologised when we realised the time, but he genuinely encouraged us to stay as long as we liked...thank you Ron!

The location is fantastic...right on the seafront with some rooms having a lovely sea view. With so many towns like Sandwich, Margate, Ramsgate to visit, plus historical areas, there is always something to do. And the building itself is beautiful, festooned with colourful flower boxes.

Parking is right next door and is £1 an hour between 9-6 on a weekday, but only in 4 hour increments, which we thought might be a slight annoyance. However, we were either visiting nearby towns or sitting on the beach. A quick walk to the car to top up proved to be so easy that it wasn't a problem at all.

The final bill was extremely reasonable and after just three nights we felt so at home that we made a special effort to say goodbye to everyone when we left. It's not very often that you feel inclined to do this which I think says a lot about the people who work here.

Of course, it wasn't perfect. Some rooms don't have AC so on a hot summer's night with the window open you might be woken by a bit of traffic noise. Service in the restaurant wasn't super-quick, but we were on holiday so this wasn't a problem, especially as it was always delivered with a smile. I've slept in more comfortable beds, but they were good enough for us to get a good night's sleep. I had to rack my brains for these minor niggles as they were so unimportant.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzt99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
526 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 5 in Sandwich
705 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
311 reviews
14.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,016 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing