We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Anniversary break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Anniversary break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We spent two nights at this superb hotel. The service from all the staff was impecable, they made us feel very welcome and special and the food was absolutley amazing at all mealtimes. We had the room with the four poster bed which was comfortable with nice pillows and the room was always warm. Mr Dunkerley is a well known well travelled chief with many years of experience with all foods, so his expertise with the seafood menu means you get the best when its at its best. I had the Dover Sole two nights running because it was so nice the first night, and cooked to perfection as were the vegetables. The little surprises like tasting the chiefs special soup before we started and the sorbet between courses were like top westend hotels offer. The only downside is the hotel offers no parking, but the staff were more than helpful with enabling us to park nearby.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    70
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
121
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Deal, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

Following our wedding the day before, we decided to spend our honeymoon night at Dunkerley's. We had an evening meal with four other friends, which was very enjoyable, fantastic food and excellant service. We then retired to the bar where we had a night cap before going to the room.
We had the room with the four poster bed, and a sea veiw. In the morning we had breakfast in our room, while watching the sun rise over the pier.
The whole experiance was magical and would recommend the Hotel to you all.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

SUMMARY
Dunkerley’s is a stylish, well run, welcoming (AA 3* - so continental 4*) hotel and restaurant that scores top marks in almost every department.

SITUATION
Without wishing to appear patronising, Deal is a modest seaside town and former port, just round the corner from Dover. It’s got a castle (two, if you include Walmer) a pier, some very interesting architecture and the beach. Dunkerley’s is on the sea front, just by the pier. A main road (Queen Street) goes down one side and, on weekdays, the traffic can obtrude, rather.

ARCHITECTURE
There is a helpful plaque bearing the legend ‘1926’, which helps one to date the building. It’s not particularly striking but by no means unattractive. It’s not in the conservation area, so it has had alterations over the years.

SERVICE AND FACILITIES
Dunkerley’s is run as a tight ship. All - that is ALL - of the staff members were superb, be they checking me in and out, serving my drink in the bar or my meal or maintaining the room. So, full marks to the staff, their selection and their training. They do room service if you are incapable of socialising.

ROOM DECOR &c
I booked a single and my room was perfectly adequate and comfortable for one. Rather optimistically, it had two tooth mugs and two sets of towels, suggesting that it could be let as a double. Only pygmies need apply. I didn’t see any of the pukka double rooms, so can’t comment on those.

The room was very smart and stylish. It had blinds (to keep out the sun but not block out the light) as well as curtains. A nice touch was the potted poinsettia (not fabric; I checked). You get tea and coffee making stuff, of course. There was ample cupboard space. The bathroom was very cosy, with a new enamel bath and TWO showers – one was a normal size, while the other was the size of Belgium. It was vast!

There were a couple of minor disappointments (TV sound and vision out of sync, mechanical or water noise at night; I may have been next to the main water tank; interesting view of the inner atrium) but really nothing to write home about. The one thing that I didn’t quite get was the bedclothes. It’s a 6 foot bed but the duvet (tucked in at the foot end) was only about 5’6”, meaning you were uncovered from chest upwards. Even untucking it and lying diagonally didn’t help. I didn’t work that one out.

The guest information was helpful and included a questionnaire, asking guests to give the hotel the opportunity to right any gripes, presumably to avoid being crucified unfairly on Trip Advisor. That’s perfectly reasonable. I didn’t report my tussle with the bedding. They’d probably have produced a king size if I’d asked, such is their commitment to their guests.

FOOD + DRINK
I was trying to decide if this was a good hotel with a stonkingly good restaurant or a seriously classy restaurant that did beezer accommodation. They’ve got an AA Two Rosette award (and have done for about 20 years), of which they are fiercely and rightly proud. There again, it’s also clear that great care and attention has been spent on the rooms.

The food (see also ‘Service’, above) was top notch. They’re big on fish but you can have steak if you want. In the course of my stay, I had several different fish and all were done to a turn. It really was very, very good. My only observation (‘complaint’ would be FAR too strong) would be to ask the chef to create something that doesn’t involve melted butter. The wine list, too, impressed, with a helpful ½ bottle selection.

Given its popularity, the restaurant gets rammed on a Saturday night, so you have to book. I didn’t know that but they did and (scoring more service points) called me to ensure that I got a table.

VFM
Classy B&B with very classy dinner from the menu prix fixe was 80 notes a night. For the standard of everything that really isn’t shabby.

VERDICT
This is definitely a ‘find’. I look forward to staying there again (if we can come to some arrangement over the bedding) and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor_Ludorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Kent UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We went to a concert at the Astor Theatre in Deal and Dunkerley's was an ideal place to stay.
The room was modern, warm, clean and comfortable with a wonderful view of the pier and beach.
Dinner was well cooked and good value.
We stay at many hotels both in the UK and Europe on business and Dunkerley's breakfast was excellent, well cooked, good ingredients and well presented.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
375 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Stayed here for a weekend recently and was not disappointed. We stayed in room 4 called the Signalman which was small but nice. For me a typical seaside hotel room, overlooking both the sea and pier. Where this hotel wins for me is the food. Mr Dunkerley is a larger than life individual and very hands on when it comes to cooking. He has obviously passed his vast knowledge to his chefs and we had 2 super meals there.First night i had dover sole as a main and lobster on the 2nd. It was sublime! There are set prices for dinner which i thought reasonable and small supplements for the fish dishes i mentioned.Make sure you speak with the owner .. a real character with great stories to tell ! He may even buy you a drink !!Recommended ...

Room Tip: If like me you associate fish and chips with the seaside visit Middle St Fish Bar on Middle St itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
203 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

I have stayed many times at Dunkerley's and I can only speak as I find. Yes, it's all a little tired, but I don't think Ultra Modern and "minimalistic" would suit that type of quaint seaside run hotel. The staff and service were faultless which only goes to show that their training by the management must have been top-notch.

Each time I have dined there, the food has been wonderful, and surprisingly good for what you think would be old fashioned and 'stayed', since this is the image the hotel presents. The rooms are ok, some better than others, some have air-conditioning now which is a blessing. The bathrooms are ok too, although extremely small (where's my cat?)

My regular loo inspection gave the hotel a pretty grim 3 out of 10. The loos (in particular the ladies) are a very important part of going out to dinner and us girls like a little luxury in a modern area with hooks for handbags both inside and outside the cubicles, after all, we have to do our lippy and stuff surrounded with a dry area and space. So I would really like to see this area modernised. Think fluffy small hand towels, or soft paper ones, liquid soap, hand cream....

A welcome return each time I visit and if anyone says the food's expensive, remember, you get what you pay for. Quality, quality quality!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORDELIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night in mid September for my birthday, we stayed on a deal that was offered including bed, breakfast and evening meal. The hotel was of a reasonable standard, rather tired and in need of general renewing in places, that having been said the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A pity the hotel didnt have parking as we had to park in the library carpark opposite, not a problem but a bit concerning having to leave the car there overnight. We booked our evening meal and on arrival at the restaurant were shown to our seats, the table next to us was a group of 5-6 diners average of 60-75years, I couldnt see to easily without turning to look, when we were initially seated I was glared at for having to squeeze past them but they made no attempt to move, to start with they were loud but as the evening went on we were totally appauled of the language coming from them, one diner mainly who must have been the oldest of the constantly swearing using "fxxx" at the top of his voice!!! In a restaurant like this it was not expected and the waiters made no effort to have a polite word with him. The food in the restaurannt was fantastic, one of the best meals we have even had, but this memory was totally ruined by the people at the next table, their language was of the type I would have expected had we been sitting next to a group of teenagers in McDonalds, not a restaurant of this quality. Such a pity!

Breakfast was reasonable, but a little suprised that we had to ask for more coffee and were not asked if we would like more toast, things that are usually offered in other places we have stayed.
All this said it was a lovely place to stay, but the memory of the other diners in the restaurant have left us a little sad

Room Tip: Room 3 was lovely and had duel aspect sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chathamcatlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#4 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing