We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week with the folks”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A week with the folks”
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

Three of us stayed in room 9 the crows nest. Inc our 5 year old son.

The good:
Fab location and sea view.
Very comfy bed.
Very friendly staff
Ok breakfast, when they have black pudding.

The bad:
Traffic noise and seagulls squawking, results in no sleep after 6am.
Noisy beer garden pubs below room until 11.30pm.
No lift, so dragging bags up 4 flights of stairs.
Dated look & sometimes musty smell in hotel.
Room make up missed one day.
Morning paper missed for two days.
Water staining in room and tatty windows.
Patchy wifi at best.

The solutions:
Money needs to be spent on upgrades.
Install secondary glazing for sound proofing.
Re paint, re paper and re carpet hotel.
Open windows in breakfast room.
Better staff coverage/ organisation in event of staff sickness etc. re room clean and papers.
Boost wifi system.
Install air con in room.

In summary, nice place let down by a few glitches but our bill was reduced on check out so all ok in the end.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 201Hedgefunder201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    76
    38
    12
    8
See reviews for
40
128
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lovely hotel, great location, friendly staff - we didn't have dinner but other guests seemed very happy with it!! If you're looking to stay in Deal there really is no need to look anywhere else - thoroughly recommended. When we stay in Deal this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Great location & nice sized room with sea view (room 9) but expect traffic noise if it's hot & you need the windows open. Worn decor following a water leak in April (it's July now - why isn't this fixed) and the carpet looks very 1980's. The restaurant seemed good value at first, but if you choose the fixed menu (2 courses for £21.95) and then add the scallops you'll be asked to pay an additional £5.00 for four, tiny scallops. Likewise, an extra £5.00 for the Dover Sole, so suddenly 2 courses for 2 people cost us a total of £58.90 before wine. I think that's a lot.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beachamwell, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

A pleasant stay for one night. A king size bed in an overcrowded clean room. Unfortunately, the dirty windows ruined any view. The restaurant service was impeccable. The set 3 course meal was delicious. Topped off well by a bottle of champagne. The next mornings English breakfast cooked perfectly. The great service continued til the moment we left. A lovely seaside break.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeanm569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a Saturday night stay here recently and we both came away very happy with our stay at Dunkerley's. From the outset all the staff without exception were extremely professional and pleasant. Our room was on the top floor which benefited from a great seaview with Deal Pier directly in front of us. The room was tasteful and comfortable. There are no high tech gizmos to contend with and it had a feeling of yesteryear but in a nice way. We enjoyed the vibrant bar for a couple of drinks and had a wonderful dinner in their restaurant. The cooking was of highest standards and memorable. Our sleep was disturbed slightly by drunken youth under the window on street level as there is a pub just along from the hotel that seems to hold live music events which were clearly well attended and well oiled! Didn't present a huge problem as it was all over fairly quickly albeit it was a nuisance. Perhaps the rooms away from the streets would be quieter if you need total peace.

Breakfast was from menu and choice of Continental or the full english affair. We had the latter and very good it was too (didn't need lunch!). Parking as everyone has said was in the local library car park opposite and worked well for us. Free after 6pm and free all day Sunday.

If you want a nice seaside break in this part of the world then I would thoroughly recommend this Hotel.

We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LawMan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Hotel is spotless;bar delightfully furnished. Restaurant food is excellent. Try the champagne - priced reasonably and very good. Staff service is very attentive. Full English breakfast cooked perfectly.

Room Tip: Captain's Cabin - room no1 is back facing - no sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Booking for the hotel was easily and efficiently done over the telephone a couple of weeks ahead of a mid-week break. The hotel itself was easy to find, being right next to the main pier roundabout on the A258 in and out of Deal.

The hotel itself has no parking, however the nearest can be found across the road (from the hotel reception entrance on Queen St) next to Deal Library (£4 for 4 hours then move on). Additionally it can be found at the Railway Station 500+ metres away with max charge of £4 for the day. However, for both you will have to be up early (by 08:30) to beat the traffic wardens.

The outside of the hotel was somewhat quaint in decoration and has a somewhat large ‘area’ of seating and tables outside – obviously for the warmer/summer months. The location itself is good, within easy walking distance of the pier and town centre and close to most amenities.

The Reception and Staff in total were, from beginning to end, really good and very friendly – nothing seemed too much bother and all done with a smile (which makes a real change from some of the larger chain hotels) – very professional and knowledgeable (concerning local area).

There is Wi-Fi in the rooms and public areas for free (you will need the code) – though the signal was somewhat intermittent at best in most parts of the hotel.

The overall initial ambience of the public areas is good, but don’t expect 5 star, this was more towards the functional, but it did have working gas fires places which made the bar area warm and cosy.

The room was on the large size, clean and warm with bath (fitted with showers), but was in need of refurbishment in certain areas (not double glazed for instance). Ours was a Principal with sea & pier view, but also overlooking the outside seating areas and the main road roundabout – something to be aware of but was not a concern during the entirety of our stay.

The breakfast was cooked to order and states it is locally sourced – however it was somewhat limited outside the full English and haddock/kipper choices.

I have no hesitation in recommending it to others and would, if taking a break again in the area, look forward to staying there. The price though somewhat on the higher side for this class of hotel, but was more than compensated for by the largeness of the room and the view from the window.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WWTravellerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
526 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
704 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
1,014 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
310 reviews
4.6 mi away
Fleur de Lis Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing