We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“weekend break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

my wife and I stayed at Dunkley's from 6th to 9th December for a long weekend while attending a friends party in Deal. the hotel was comfortable and welcoming. excellent breakfast and nice bar area. the hotel is right on the sea front and is within walking distance of the town, bars and restaurants. if your driving parking can be a little difficult as there is no hotel parking area and you have to leave your car in one of the public car parks unattended. we did have a couple of issues such as a bathroom door which didn't close and air conditioning unit that was intermittent working at best or not working at all but nothing that affected our stay enough to complain. Deal is a quant seaside town with a nice maritime history for anyone who is interested in such things. We enjoyed our stay and could recommend a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kernewek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    70
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
33
121
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Sitting at home in front of the tv last night and my partner called me to say that he was at Dunkerleys and did I want to join him for a last minute night away. I was bathed, packed and on the road within 15 minutes!! The roads were clear, so I made good time arriving. A beautifully lit christmas tree was twinkling on the front seating area and Dunkerleys was aglow with fairy lights and very tasteful decorations. The fire was ablaze in the bar and a glass of wine ready and waiting for me. Mr D welcomed me with warmth and affection. He gave me a key to the room we were staying in - how overjoyed was I when I turned the light on in room 3. Beautifully dressed windows overlooking the sea and pier with twinkling fairy lights just beneath the windows. A beautifully trimmed 4-poster bed and two oversized armchairs also greeted me. The bathroom presented me with a spa bath and overhead shower - what more could a girl ask for? I returned to the bar to enjoy the wonderful wine, company and atmosphere. Mark had already looked at the delights on the menu and ordered for us both. When our table was ready, we taken through the restaurant where we were seeting at window table - which gave us the opportunity to enjoy the magical views. Our meal was amazing - we were truly spoilt! Leak & Potato Soup, Oysters, Sorbet, Lobster Thermidore (my personal favourite) and Scallops for dessert (Mark's absolute favourite). We had the perfect wine to accompany the meal and the service was first class. We were not rushed and allowed to enjoy the delights placed before us at our own pace. We returned to the bar to finish our drinks. Please, please put this place on your list to visit - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
228 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

£70 for a double room with breakfast on a Saturday night. Warm clean room, shower misbehaved a bit but dont most! Nice breakfast and the teapot didn't leak all over the place. Will definitely book here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We had the great pleasure of spending a long weekend (along with 30 of our friends) at Dunkerley's Hotel in October 2013.
An absolute joy! The owner/proprietor, Ian, was a fantastic host and all his staff were so happy and welcoming and couldn't do enough for all of us, making our stay relaxing enjoyable and fun.
The restaurant was excellent, catering for 49 people on one night, yet equally enjoyable for an intimate dinner for four 2 nights later (A huge nod to all the serving/kitchen staff esp Sam!) Would highly recommend the seafood and my friends Wood pigeon was beautiful!
The rooms were lovely, clean and we had plenty of towels and supplies each day. A thoroughly great time had by all facilitated by the happy, helpful staff. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room number 3 overlooking the sea has a Fourposter bed and a spabath, perfect for a romantic getaway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MATTHEW K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I normally stay in broadstairs when we have a weekend away but as they were fully booked, i found Dunkerley's Hotel in deal.
On arrival and departure we were made to feel so welcome.

I booked the four poster bed room (room 3) and it was lovely and clean. Excellent sea views and all the facilities you needed.

We only stopped one night. So didnt have an evening meal. But the breakfast was all hot and freshly cooked and plenty of choice. Only slight downside. Restraunt could have done with a radio or soft music. Silence was a little awkward.

All in all we could have quite happily stayed there all week and would of had a comfortable lovely stay.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamiejban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Had a 1 night stay at Dunkerley's and enjoyed every minute. The room although not large, was newly refurbished and very clean. The bed and linen was of a high standard and the ensuite had a very good shower.
We took the room and dinner deal which was very good value. Especially as the restaurant produced fabulous food. Three courses worked out at £20 per person. Fillet stak was a £5 supplement - a real bargain!! We are looking in our diary to see when we can take time to go again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trans en provence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

I invited 50 people to my party and for the week end took over dunkerleys, we were treated like royalty, the food was superb, the rooms comfortable, especially the beds, the staff really helpful
and friendly and Ian the owner a real character! thanks to Ian and his staff it was an unforgettable and amazing week end!

Room Tip: room 3 with a four poster bed! and all of the other rooms with excellent sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paul_platz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Ramsgate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
King's Head Deal
King's Head Deal
#3 of 14 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing