We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Charming hotel in one of Kent's best coastal resorts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in one of Kent's best coastal resorts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

I stayed at Dunkerleys for 2 nights, arriving very late (12.30am) on Friday night but was met by a pleasant and helpful owner who was keen to make sure we had all the provisions we needed. Parking is nearby and no real bother - just need to feed the meter from time to time. The cheery chirpy chappy who served in the restaurant and showed us to our room was retiring that weekend - he made such an impact that I hope Dunkerleys can replace him with someone with equal charm and humour bug it will be a big challenge. Breakfast was fabulous - I don't often get up for brekky if there's a chance for a lie in but it was well worth it. The mushrooms were the best I've tasted. Just a shame that the 'vegetarian' breakfast was just the normal breakfast with the meat content removed - a veggie sausage would have been perfect. Deal is charming - much nicer than the other villages we visited such as Sandwich, Ramsgate, Margate - nice shops and friendly people. And the true gem is the Kings Head pub a few doors down. Great atmosphere, great food, lovely wine list - and a landlord who goes out of his way to make everyone welcome, not just his regulars. Try them both! I'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 8, bosuns room - huge and very comfortable bed. Spacious and clean room. Very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    65
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
115
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have been to Dunkerley's several times in the last few years. Each time we are impressed with the facilities, the location, and the staff. We are starting to feel like family! My husband loves the pork sausages and mash and as a vegetarian I am also well catered for. Our room (Room 2, Channel Suite) is gorgeous and has been recently re-done with updated bedding and bathrooms. They have kept the much-loved window seat in which I love to sit and watch the ocean and the rest of the world go by. Would highly recommend this lovely place.

Room Tip: Pay a little more but get a room at the front, overlooking the Channel. Not sure how noisy it would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife planned this 'surprise winter break' so that we could relax and be spoilt after an extremely hectic three weeks travelling round the UK celebrating Christmas with different members of our wonderful but extremely widespread family, From the moment we arrived both the Hotel and the Restaurant exceeded our expectations. Every member of staff was attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Our bedroom was an absolute joy, with fabulous views of the pier and seafront. We enjoyed two beautifully prepared and served breakfasts and one outstanding evening meal in the restaurant and could not fault either the food or the service. I am sure that one of us will want to 'surprise' the other with a 'return visit' sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Harwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Fantastic Hotel, bar and restaurant. Nothing we could fault. We loved our stay so much we can't wait to go back! Food was out of this world. Staff all so friendly and helpful. Very clean Hotel. Sitting in the bar by the fire with our drinks was one of the highlights of our weekend. Such a nice atmosphere. Very romantic.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holla90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

my wife and I stayed at Dunkley's from 6th to 9th December for a long weekend while attending a friends party in Deal. the hotel was comfortable and welcoming. excellent breakfast and nice bar area. the hotel is right on the sea front and is within walking distance of the town, bars and restaurants. if your driving parking can be a little difficult as there is no hotel parking area and you have to leave your car in one of the public car parks unattended. we did have a couple of issues such as a bathroom door which didn't close and air conditioning unit that was intermittent working at best or not working at all but nothing that affected our stay enough to complain. Deal is a quant seaside town with a nice maritime history for anyone who is interested in such things. We enjoyed our stay and could recommend a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kernewek31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Sitting at home in front of the tv last night and my partner called me to say that he was at Dunkerleys and did I want to join him for a last minute night away. I was bathed, packed and on the road within 15 minutes!! The roads were clear, so I made good time arriving. A beautifully lit christmas tree was twinkling on the front seating area and Dunkerleys was aglow with fairy lights and very tasteful decorations. The fire was ablaze in the bar and a glass of wine ready and waiting for me. Mr D welcomed me with warmth and affection. He gave me a key to the room we were staying in - how overjoyed was I when I turned the light on in room 3. Beautifully dressed windows overlooking the sea and pier with twinkling fairy lights just beneath the windows. A beautifully trimmed 4-poster bed and two oversized armchairs also greeted me. The bathroom presented me with a spa bath and overhead shower - what more could a girl ask for? I returned to the bar to enjoy the wonderful wine, company and atmosphere. Mark had already looked at the delights on the menu and ordered for us both. When our table was ready, we taken through the restaurant where we were seeting at window table - which gave us the opportunity to enjoy the magical views. Our meal was amazing - we were truly spoilt! Leak & Potato Soup, Oysters, Sorbet, Lobster Thermidore (my personal favourite) and Scallops for dessert (Mark's absolute favourite). We had the perfect wine to accompany the meal and the service was first class. We were not rushed and allowed to enjoy the delights placed before us at our own pace. We returned to the bar to finish our drinks. Please, please put this place on your list to visit - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
230 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

£70 for a double room with breakfast on a Saturday night. Warm clean room, shower misbehaved a bit but dont most! Nice breakfast and the teapot didn't leak all over the place. Will definitely book here again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Darren066_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Hotel
Queen Street Hotel
#5 of 5 in Deal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotel.de, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing