We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Northumberland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

I visited Dunkerley's recently whilst in Deal visiting family, the service and hospitality was excellent - all staff were so welcoming and friendly especially Mr D (the owner). Good selection of drinks too! I would definitely recommend :-)

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    75
    36
    12
    8
See reviews for
37
126
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

So my partners flat floods - we cope for two days then she red and it's time to leave, for all our sakes - the coast, lovely on a bank holiday monday whoop -Deal it is and i have heard of Dunkerly's for some reason - so i ring - do you have a room with area view - yes we do ( should have clicked then - vacancy on a bank holiday - der ) so off we trot - £190 for a four poster sea view dinner and breakfast. Fast forward. So we arrive and well - its quaint, the reception efficient - the room. Rewind - you are back in the 60's, soft velour arm chairs electronic carpet - and the bed well - there was i hoping to lure my somewhat stressed partner out of her gloom - and it did - we howled with laughter, it was the most naff 4 poster we have ever experienced - and we do like a four poster - flimsy bedecked with tassles - about as romantic as a corby trouser press - of which there was one. Then there was the sea view - indeed it was a sea view, slightly marred by Deal's eastern european concrete pier - oh and the naked roundabout right in front of your window - not a bedding plant to be seen.

We soldiered on and braced ourselves for dinner - our pre dinner cocktails came in the glasses you used to get - in the 60's - free at petrol stations with two gallons of 3 star - only they forgot the rum -dinner was standard the oysters were fine - our dover soles well cooked - although my partner had a very pregnant one and the roe hadn't been removed the - there interestingly shaved - if somewhat bland vegatables and the wine was ok - i did expect Mrs Overall to stumble out with the trolley at any moment!!!!!!!!!!! - obviously it's had it's moments in the past but it really needs a make over now £190 was way over value - for another twenty quid i could have gone to the artists residence in brighton - but i don't think they realise they need to change - that apart - Deal provided an excellent back drop for a bank holiday monday the royal hotel is perfect on sunny day for lunch - although that pier needs bombing

Room Tip: while the sea views are marred by the monstrosity of the pier - rear views look out on rear views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Will E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We had never been to Deal before. What a lovely place- helped by the sunny weather. Dunkerley's was great and so was the smashing room (4) which had brilliant sea view. The staff were so helpful and the bar/lounge area was cosy. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jane G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Thank you to everyone at Dunkerley's for a perfect weekend...the hotel room was beautiful....the food was great (I am vegetarian and the Chef was happy to cook any food I had in mind) and the all the hotel staff were friendly and smiley and made our stay just wonderful
....we would highly recommend you to our friends and look forward to seeing you again...lovely location, fantastic service and great food...thank you again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
460 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Dunkerleys was the choice of my wife for a postponed after Christmas break in Deal which is one of our favourite Kent towns, with a lovely seafront promenade and lots of local shops in its old centre. The hotel sits bang in the middle of the promenade spoiled only by the proximity of the road and roundabout. Our room (2) was one of the prime rooms at the front - very large and decorated in a cosy style, with a view of the pier and open sea. There was some noise at night and I found the bed a little hard; however my wife slept well. We judge that some TLC is needed as the decor seems a bit faded. The welcome from the barman was warm and Mr Dunkerley came to greet us in the bar before dinner. The dinner was very good with plenty of fish and seafood. I had an enormous and very tasty Dover Sole. Service in the restaurant was friendly and we can recommend the Chapel Down Bacchus wine with the fish. Breakfast was excellent especially the sausages.

Room Tip: Good views at the front, quieter at side and rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Googly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

I'm assuming that our room, number 7, is generally allocated to late bookers who pay a discounted rate as it's probably one of the lower standard ones. The view of the extension roof below, the large patch of damp on the wall and the thick layer of dust on the telephone would all suggest a room that is only used when nothing else is available. However for one night it was fine though some little issues - the tv being strangely out of sync, the very poor wifi and the large shower head not working at all - need to be sorted out. The owner of the hotel was friendly and welcoming, offering to book us a table for that nights meal, and the waiting staff at breakfast were willing but inexperienced, leaving us to request tea, coffee and toast since we weren't offered any! Deal is a lovely little town and we'd possibly stay at Dunkerleys when we visit again but definitely not in room 7!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SteveandDiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Very comfortable hotel food excellent staff very friendly and big thank you to Ian for arranging our golf package and late change to his course and many thanks for loan of buggy would recommend to golfer's to use Dunkerley's to organise their trip
Ivor .

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
514 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
81 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
691 reviews
11.5 mi away
Sands Hotel
Sands Hotel
#1 of 12 in Margate
700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Hotel
Queen Street Hotel
#5 of 5 in Deal
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing