We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and excellently located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed here on Sunday 10th August and the occasion was for a family funeral the next day.

My wife and I shared a double room whilst my mother had a single room.

All our rooms were clean and tidy, in good repair and were comfortable and furnished with a decent size wardrobe, armchair, table and bed. The bed was very comfortable with plenty of cushions and pillows, more than you usually find but its nice to have than have not. At first the rooms were a little too warm but who wants them cold? Anyway the air conditioning quickly sorted that out and the windows opened easily if that was your preference so no problems there.

We did not use the tea and coffee provided but it looked like it would be awkward to fill the kettle from the bathroom sink. Other than that it would have been nice to have had some bottled water in the room for the night that is my only gripe.

Downstairs we visited the bar before dinner and I had a good pint. It was a Cornish bitter rather than a Kentish one which seems odd but it was a nice pint never the less. The pub was well populated but quiet. The tables and decor were perhaps a little dated but then the building is old so modern would not really have suited. There was a bar food menu which looked good and the couple next to me seemed to be enjoying their meal.

We ate in the restaurant that night and enjoyed the meal. We found the service amiable and pleasant and the food and wine was well priced. My wife thought her fish was a little over seasoned and possibly under cooked but this was rectified quickly and without fuss.

As I said our bed was comfortable and easy to sleep in. However my wife and I are used to a huge bed and the double was a close fit for our taste. Just a question of what you are used to I guess. But it was a comfortable bed to lie on.

The next morning we had the breakfast and again that was food of a good standard. As it was included in the price I had the cooked breakfast. I like that it was cooked to order rather than being left out in some self service buffet.

The reception was cheerful and the check in and out was nice and easy.

Our room was one with a sea view and I find that very relaxing.

All in all it was a comfortable and pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MGaylard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We had a family holiday here. Very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was delicious and they coped well with the coeliac in our party. The rooms were comfortable and well maintained. I particularly liked the choice of showers. The bar was generally quiet but well stocked. We did not eat at the restaurant or bistro but casual observations suggest good looking food! All the staff took time to talk with us and recommend places to go. The icing on the cake was that after leaving our tablet charger behind this was sent back to us unsolicited. This just reflects the high level of service this hotel supplies

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We travelled from Ireland and made dunkerlys our second home. Great food, lovely staff, made us so welcome, we loved it! Will be back next year with more family, and hopefully stay in the hotel for the weekend.
.thanks mr dunk and staff for making our weekend sooo special xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paula s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Booked one night to relax after the Deal 10K on Sunday. We able to check in at 2pm and, bliss, didn't have to vacate the room until noon the next day which meant a leisurely breakfast and shower before packing our bags. We had a comfortable and cosy room that overlooked the pier and beach. Beautiful window boxes! Nice cool room, windows were open on our arrival, so nice not to have a stuffy hotel room. A little noisy late afternoon with live music below at the King's Head but it was very quiet by bedtime and we slept really well. Super comfy bed and bedding and a nice powerful shower. We thoroughly enjoyed our rest here. Sat out the front watching the world go by a couple of cuppas from the bar. Tasty filter coffee. Can you do mugs please? I downed two of your small cups immediately after my run :)
If I had to find any negatives they would be: the egg shell in my poached egg at breakfast that I had to crunch through; no apple juice (grapefruit, cranberry and orange juice, so not as if there was no choice, just not my preference); an unpleasant smell in the reception and bar (stale beer on carpet?) and the paper-thin wall to the adjoining suite. TV reception was awful (Freeview) due to the weather that rolled in that night and stayed the next morning. Other than that, great. Friendly staff. Felt at home. Would return.

Room Tip: Couldn't fault the view from the double room, top floor at the front of the building. The two fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RootBeerFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for two nights here and enjoyed our stay. We were late arriving after a horrendous drive down from Scotland so it was the boy from the bar who came through and checked us in but he did this very efficiently and gave us all the information we needed.
When I booked the only room left was a twin room but it was very large & spotlessly clean with a good hospitality tray. The modernised bathroom was very nice with the choice of rain water shower or standard.
Breakfast was very good and despite only one member of staff on duty we were served very quickly and the waitress was very friendly. There was a choice of fruit & cereals and our hot food was cooked to order.
The only down side was that in the room at night because of the warm weather we could here the people chatting from Various beer gardens and on the sunday night live music from a near by bar. This is obviously the price you pay for being in such a central location but it didn't go onto late and it's not the hotels fault that we are early bedders.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JEMIMA-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Great stay at Dunkerleys - friendly staff, excellent spacious room with lovely sea view. Very pretty hotel with overfilled window boxes and flags outside, also near flowery roundabout. Road outside so can be a little noisy but worth it for view. Had excellent meal with scallops and lobster. Excellent quality breakfast. Will stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at front have lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jilly042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel in mid July, and paid extra to have a large king size room facing the seafront. It was clean with plenty of facilities and a lovely view. Fairly expensive, but we were only there for one night. Hotel reception staff were friendly and very helpful. Wifi in reception, but doesn't work in rooms. Parking nearby on seafront, or in the library car park.

The next day we had lunch in the restaurant, which was good. The breakfast and lunch were served by mainly inexperienced staff, who were still learning, and not at the stage where they could anticipate customers needs, so were constantly being asked for cutlery, condiments, table water, etc, all of which we would expect to be on the table without asking. This was irritating, but did not detract from the good quality fish menu, everything was very well cooked. However, it is something the restaurant would do well to address before they lose their good reputation - new staff need supervision and advice if they are going to reach a good standard.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are nice, but we were there in a heatwave, which made facing south a nuisance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
545 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#2 of 5 in Deal
103 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Street Hotel
Queen Street Hotel
#5 of 5 in Deal
28 reviews
7.4 mi away
Royal Harbour Hotel
Royal Harbour Hotel
#5 of 10 in Ramsgate
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel

Address: 19 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Deal
Price Range: £77 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dunkerleys Seafood Restaurant & Hotel on Deal seafront is highly commended & offers a warm & friendly welcome to its visitors; an award-winning restaurant with comfortable en-suite bedrooms; six with sea views, some with spa baths, all with modern HD TVs & wi-fi for computer access. A perfect retreat for golfers, businessmen, walkers & families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Book Direct Rooms, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkerley`s Restaurant Hotel Deal
Dunkerley's Restaurant And Hotel Deal, Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing