We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Champagne happy day!”

The Court Yard Oyster Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 111 Restaurants in Deal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$21
Cuisines: Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Champagne happy day!”
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I love The Courtyard as the champagne happy hour has extended to all day! I had champagne, oysters and fish and chips! It was lovely as always, the staff are so lovely too and the chef is very accommodating if you ask to slightly alter a dish to suit. We will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny187056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    82
    39
    23
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best places in the area.”
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Lets start with the downside.... the waiting staff. They should have some basic knowledge of the menu, the food, and the wines.
That aside, the chef is superb - Johan, Austrian I think. Ask for something a little different and he is more than happy to help. Wonderful fish dishes with local fresh herbs and vegetables.
Good beers on tap, good choice of wines and bubbles too.
And what a fantastic venue! The glass roof which is opened in the summer, gives an outdoor feel to the place. Mike and his wife (owners) are very very good hosts. Polite, courteous and very knowledgable. Note to Mike - please ensure your staff are as knowledgable as you about whats on offer.
Not a great many places for a very good meal in Deal, but the Courtyard would stand out in any town.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FifthEarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, Music is fantastic!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nice little restaurant in deal, very hidden away. i go here every time they have Musical entertainment from a guy called Jack Moore, he is simply amazing! by far the best singer i have heard perform Jazz, swing etc.
I would recommend this restaurant even if its just to see Jack Moore as he sings there a couple of times a month.
Overall very enjoyable evening, lovely food!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitten2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food,practically no service!”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

We went to an OYSTER Restaurant and...there were no Oysters by 8.30pm!!!
Food we ordered was good,but none of the staff bothered to ask us until the end if everything was fine.We poured our own wine and opened our bottle of water.
Staff came walking behind my back without caring if they were pushing my chair everytime.
Chars were very uncomfortable as they were leaning back.
Conclusion : we left after the main course as we might as well have bought food at a supermarket and sat on a bench outside,where we might at least have a hello from passers by.
No need to say that no tip was given .

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MariePresswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always great value and superb food”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

Casual relaxed atmosphere and the very best seafood dishes. Whether you want to spend £5 - £50 or more this is the place to go - 10 out of 10 from people that have eaten in some great places in Europe

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank alank22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Court Yard Oyster Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Court Yard Oyster Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing