We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
King's Head Deal
Nearby Hotels
US$162
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Waterfront Hotel(Deal)(Great Value!)
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The White Cliffs Hotel(St Margaret's at Cliffe)
US$170
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Dover(Whitfield)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Blue Pigeons(Worth)(Great Value!)
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (204)
Filter reviews
204 results
Traveller rating
111
62
19
6
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
111
62
19
6
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubchannel viewsea viewguest houselovely old pubwould recommend a visitdog friendly publovely lunchfood menupielarge bay windowbeautiful flowersmid week breakfull swingfriday and saturday nightsunny dayfriendly locals
Filter
Updating list...
176 - 181 of 204 reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Very spacious room powerful shower and accomidation for pets was good Will be back

Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stay at the Kings Head for a long weekend every year. If you are the sort that still sits on the seafront and writes postcards home to family and friends stay here for something to write home about.
I respect tripadvisor reviews for their impartiality and I write them regularly too.
I never bothered reading up on the Kings Head as it has been on my stay list long before computers.
Reading previous reviews, both good and bad, I think the balance of comments is about right.
This is a genuine Inn. You will be made welcome there and it is easy to fit in no matter who you are or where you are from.
The rooms are good, not great. The breakfast is excellent. Make sure you get a sea view and a slightly draughty sash window becomes endearing.
The Inn is very old like all of Deal seafront. We really like staying there.
Perfect it is not, but if people have happily got drunk, slept and eaten there for 500 years or so it must be doing something right.
I would whole-heartedly recommend the King's Head to people looking to socialise and meet locals and fellow guests. I would deter those seeking solitude, the pristine and the contrived.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArgyGrubLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We arrived at the King's Head in the pouring rain and were greeted warmly and shown to our room. The room had a fantastic view over the sea, a comfortable bed, tea and biscuits, and an en-suite shower room. I have found many B&Bs have weak, lukewarm showers, but this one was wonderful! After the freezing cold rainy day, it was just what I needed. The room itself was clean and neutrally decorated. The hotel is only a five-minute walk from Deal Railway Station, and close to Deal Castle, the High Street, the Time Ball Tower, museums, and other historic sites.

The breakfast was delicious and served promptly and with a smile. We also had lunch there one day and that was also great - classic pub food, served in generous portions.

The family who runs the King's Head are all friendly, welcoming, knowledgeable about the local area, and very much involved in the community. We were there over the Jubilee weekend and there were lots of events going on locally which they had a hand in organising - live music in the pub itself, a concert in the square outside, etc.

There were only two minor problems. The first (and this wasn't a problem for me personally, but could be for others) is that the pub is extremely popular and so it is very noisy, even in the rooms, until quite late. We could clearly hear the music playing from downstairs and there were loud crowds outside our window. However, if this is a problem for you, you can request to stay at the Channel View Guest House, which is run by the same family, and which is only three doors down the road, with the same sea views.

The second minor issue is that since the building is very old, the windows are not particularly well fitted and there was a bit of a cold draught in our room, and no way of turning up the heat. But that's just the price you pay for staying somewhere as historic as this. All in all, we had a lovely stay, with great views, a fantastic breakfast, friendly staff, a nice hot shower, chocolate chip cookies in the rooms, and a comfy bed. I will definitely stay here again if I come back to Deal!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I really love this b&b, its in a perfect location, the staff are friendly, the food is lovely, the locals are friendly, and the rooms are lovely and clean.

Can not fault it at all, one of my favourite places and I will definitely be back soon :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cmcco79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

Stayed here Fri/Sat 9th & 10th March. This is a real credit to English hospitalitly The old traditional pub come hotel is perfect in every respect, rooms simple and spot on every you need in there. The staff.... well I cannot say enough good things about them by far the most friendliest and helpful people I have met, they all make you feel like part of one big family.
Graham, thank you for a great weekend stay.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DAVE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews