We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old fashioned English hospitality at its best”
Review of King's Head Deal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
King's Head Deal
Ranked #3 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
shropshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good old fashioned English hospitality at its best”
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were going to stay one night but stayed for 2 as the place was alive and buzzing with some real characters. All very friendly and just like home it felt safe and warm. The owners welcomed you as friends rather than guests as did the staff. Yes a real old fashioned pub/hotel with real hospitality. If only it could be bottled and sold abroad that would be an end to the balance of payments deficit. The room was large and very clean we stayed in the Channel View a couple of doors down from the pub which is owned by the Landlord and landlady. Watch out for the English breakfast unbelievable! and such good value for money. We bid them a fond farewell and told them to come and stay in our railway carriages in Shropshire when they get the chance!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyoldodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    53
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
27
73
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Kings Head for one night and it really is a great place to stay. It's right on the seafront in the heart of Deal and has a lovely old fashioned pub feel to it. Guests are made to feel more like friends than the product of a " Customer Experience"
The owner/landlord is a real character and adds a further touch of individualism so lacking in most hotels these days.
There is a fine collection of beers and lagers and the evening meal was typical pub food but very enjoyable and at a fair price. Also for the sports lovers, there was good coverage of sporting events in the bar area.

The room was warm and comfortable, so no complaints there either and the full English Breakfast the following morning was excellent.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates the welcome of a traditional inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Spent a Saturday night here. What a gem of a place. We had a sea view room. It was spotlessly clean with everything you would like in a B&B - including an ironing board and iron! We were accommodated in the Channel View B&B a few doors away from the main pub. £70 B&B for two is good value.

The Manager and his staff were all very friendly and it was no problem running tab for food and drink in the bar. The pub itself was busy all day long. When we arrived (lunchtime) there were families and football fans there. The mid-late afternoon it was packed with rugby fans, and the evening it attracted a younger crowd. The atmosphere there was friendly and warm, with a cross section of ages.

Food was standard pub meals, which were nothing exceptional but worth the price. Breakfast was good and plentiful.

We would certainly come back here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

Stayed a couple of nights in the Guest house part. Big room, great view, bath and separate shower The pub is all you could want from a English sea side pub. Sporting memorabilia, super atmosphere, good staff, helpful landlord. No hesitation in recommending the Kings Head.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012 via mobile

Our group (3 couples) stayed here for one night, and we really enjoyed our stay. The location is great, and for very reasonable price you get well equipped and spotless room with amazing seaview, and traditional English breakfast served in the pub downstairs. We also had several drinks in same pub in the evening and enjoyed the atmosphere. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olga_from_UA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingatestone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
176 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

4 of us were doing some walks in the area and we booked to stay here for the night. We thought it was great. The landlord was charming and helpful - we had a family room above the pub with a sea view and all the usual facilities. We ate there in the evening and watched the football on telly with the locals. Obviously a popular place and rightly so. Our evening meal was great - pub grub - well coooked and plenty of it. This is a pub as it should be - a definite recommend

Room Tip: it would be quieter to be in their guest house a few doors alongside but our room was all we wanted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALANJL55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Stayed here for one night in September 2012. Room was fine (No. 11) and had a sea view (we were in the separate guest house next to the pub). The room was very quiet too even though the road/beach is directly in front of it. Bed very comfortable, bathroom small but good shower. It was all spotlessly clean too. Cost £85 for the night, B&B for two of us. All in all, perfectly OK stay for one night. Also managed to park on the road right outside the pub which was a bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms in the separate guest house are probably quieter than the pub rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Borf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
81 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
513 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Bell Hotel
The Bell Hotel
#2 of 4 in Sandwich
691 reviews
6.9 mi away
Ramada Dover
Ramada Dover
#1 of 1 in Whitfield
878 reviews
14.5 mi away
Burlington Hotel
Burlington Hotel
#2 of 10 in Folkestone
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Deal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Deal

Property: King's Head Deal
Address: 9 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Deal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your King's Head Deal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Deal Hotel Deal
King's Head Deal Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing