We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Traditional seaside Pub with nice accomodation.”
Review of King's Head Deal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
King's Head Deal
Ranked #3 of 13 Deal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Traditional seaside Pub with nice accomodation.”
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Friendly welcome from the staff in the Bar,where we got a drink and checked in all at the same time.Nice barfood and more substantial fare if required.They must have an army of gardeners maintaining the wonderful display of flowers which festoon the front of both the Bar and adjacent rooms.Worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanoxaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    53
    16
    5
    5
See reviews for
26
71
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My husband and I were in Deal for a golfing weekend:
- the location is perfect, along the coastline with view of the channel in a cosy little typical English town and a pluspunt is once you get off the boat in Dover (if coming from Europe) you only have to drive 20 minutes!
- There are 2 types of rooms: above the pub and in the guesthouse 2 houses down the road. We had one in teh guest house. Very clean room with all the comfort you need. Too bad we didn't have sea view.
- The King's Head is actually a pub with a wide variety of food and beers. Friday evening we were lucky to have a live singer. The bar was packed and the atmosphere was wonderful. We also had a lunch outside on the terras because the weather was wonderful) very good food at reasonable prices! (little point of attention, food is only served till 20:30! we wanted to eat at 21:00 and the kitchen was already closed, although the sign says all day food)
- The staff is also very friendly and attentive.
- The breakfast is typical english, a wide variety and you can order what you want.

It was a wonderful weekend and we will be back !

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindeDK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey Uk
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed for 2 nights with a large group of friends - the accommodation was very good both in the hotel and the annexe. In the pub/restaurant they arranged for 17 of us to sit and eat together. The food was reasonably priced, hot and very enjoyable (A good selection of quality ales as well). All the staff from morning to very late evening including management were friendly and efficient. We were lucky with the weather so were able to use the area at the front which overlooked the sea. I think I speak for all of us and would like to thank them all and would thoroughly recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keithSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bainbridge
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

This waterfront Inn is located a 5 minute walk from the train station. The rooms are sufficient but what is great about this inn is the adjoining pub. Good food and ales. Hot English breakfast made to order. Our host, Dennis, was very attentive to our needs. It was raining during our stay but I can imagine what a fine time one would have sitting on the patio watching the ships on the English channel go by.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tshaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

It's not Claridges's - and all the better for it. The King's Head is a real ale pub with rooms and a separate guesthouse annexe a few doors down the road. It's vibrant, friendly, good value, great location and doesn't pretend to be anything it isn't. Well kept Bishop's Finger and Sptfire were on handpull during our visit. Our party had two rooms, both in the annexe, Channel View.
The only problem we had was not of the pub's making - a group of fellow guests who had clearly enjoyed the local beer and celebrated by shouting at each other and banging doors at 1am. When we reported it in the morning, the boss - Graham - apologised and promised to deal with them.
Breakfast was a traditional English, well cooked and served with a smile.
The downside of the location is that parking is at a premium - £1 per hour for a maximum of 4 hours at a time, Mon-Sat until 6.00pm. This of course is not the fault of the KH, just the customary rapacious approach to motorists by the local authority.
All in all a good stopping point in Deal - we'll be back.

Room Tip: The King's Head and its annexe - Channel View - are old buildings with original single glazed wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank golfdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

We were going to stay one night but stayed for 2 as the place was alive and buzzing with some real characters. All very friendly and just like home it felt safe and warm. The owners welcomed you as friends rather than guests as did the staff. Yes a real old fashioned pub/hotel with real hospitality. If only it could be bottled and sold abroad that would be an end to the balance of payments deficit. The room was large and very clean we stayed in the Channel View a couple of doors down from the pub which is owned by the Landlord and landlady. Watch out for the English breakfast unbelievable! and such good value for money. We bid them a fond farewell and told them to come and stay in our railway carriages in Shropshire when they get the chance!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fussyoldodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

We stayed at the Kings Head for one night and it really is a great place to stay. It's right on the seafront in the heart of Deal and has a lovely old fashioned pub feel to it. Guests are made to feel more like friends than the product of a " Customer Experience"
The owner/landlord is a real character and adds a further touch of individualism so lacking in most hotels these days.
There is a fine collection of beers and lagers and the evening meal was typical pub food but very enjoyable and at a fair price. Also for the sports lovers, there was good coverage of sporting events in the bar area.

The room was warm and comfortable, so no complaints there either and the full English Breakfast the following morning was excellent.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who appreciates the welcome of a traditional inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Deal
0.0 mi away
Waterfront Hotel
Waterfront Hotel
#3 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 5 in Deal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dunkerley's Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Sutherland House
Sutherland House
#4 of 5 in Deal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.0 mi away
The White Cliffs Hotel
The White Cliffs Hotel
#1 of 1 in St Margaret's at Cliffe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Number One B&B
Number One B&B
#1 of 13 in Deal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King's Head Deal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King's Head Deal

Property: King's Head Deal
Address: 9 Beach Street, Deal CT14 7AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Deal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Deal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King's Head Deal 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your King's Head Deal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Head Deal Hotel Deal
King's Head Deal Kent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing